Hope all are doing well, been watching from a distance and holding my powder and allowing the team a bit of space and time. I think how's a fair time to comment and not just because the team lost on Sunday versus a very good Monaghan team on Sunday. Monaghan are a perennial top 8 team and are too good for division 2. That's the level we need to be aiming towards. Getting to division 1 and being able to compete and not get wiped out every game. Andy McEntee himself said that, we need 20+ players of a standard, and we just don't have them right now. And losing can become habit just as easily as winning.
Also a few misconceptions floating about that we'll go up if all four top teams win on Sunday. That's incorrect, In that case score difference is the deciding factor. Only when two teams are tied does head to head count. And Louth will be hard beaten. Don't look beyond that game and winning it first and foremost.
Robbie and his team have set the team up well but I don't think they'd win a game in division 1 right now so it would be for the best right now for us to play another year in division two and develop the squad and the depth to compete at division 1 level. Let's see how we get on during the Sam Maguire before we can say there's been huge progress. If we can win a game in the qualifiers I'd take that. Carlow should be a win but Offaly won't be easily beaten. Hopefully home advantage can count and we can build some momentum. We're still nowhere close to competing against Dublin, but hopefully we can start rebuilding some pride against them. The dubs themselves would love a stronger Meath challenge. Depending on how the draw goes from there one or two wins would be nice in Sam. Maybe even a home preliminary game after the group stages…
On the new management there's more clarity and definition within the team. There's more scores going on the board, there's a defined game plan in place and skill levels seem to be better and there's better fitness and decision making however there's plenty that's not improved too. And the last two games have shown there's still a ways to go for this whole set up.
Goalkeeper still remains a huge question mark and kick outs on Sunday kept coming back towards Billy for 15 to 20 minutes. Any top team will put you away and you'll not recover if you're doing that. That's not to say it's all his fault, but there were a lot of floaty balls put up and Monaghan devoured us on the break.
FB and CHB are an issue and I'm not sure what's happening with Adam O'Neill that he's not starting in one of those jersies. Coffey is a wing back and a very good one at that but he's not a guy to hold the centre like you'd want of a CHB. Rafferty at FB I'm still undecided about, but willing to give him the benefit of the doubt. There was too much space up the middle and Monaghan were getting shots off very easily from in front of the posts. That's something no team can allow to happen. Sean Ryan and Harkin who were late replacements aren't the biggest of guys and the half back line had no balance to it. With Coffey O'Neill and Caulfield I think that's more balanced
Midfield I'm not sure Menton has it anymore to get up and down and having rewatched the Monaghan game he just marked space at times rather than applying pressure and taking on men coming through or tracking them very hard once they'd gotten past him. I'd imagine Grey once fully fit and Flynn will be the midfield partnership. Menton for me would be a great guy to bring in with 20 minutes to help you close out a match.
Forward line. You can see what they're trying to do with this sector in terms of 3 huge guys across the 45 in duke kinlough + 1 (Jones, McGowan or whomever) in the half forward line with the shooters in the full forward line. Think what it lacks is a little bit of pace and power which Costello provides when he's playing. You need guys that are fast and can take ball at pace and leave defenders on their ***** for speed. Scoring rate is way up and that's what win games. For years 15 scores was a good day for us even in the league and we're regularly hitting 20 scores now. Hopefully that'll continue into the summer months.
I think robbie is developing a panel of 26 + and plenty of guys are getting game time and that's what's needed at the next level. That's where we need to be aiming towards is can we break into the top 10 bunch of teams and stay there. The Roscommon result was our biggest in 10+ years I'd say but we need to show that it's not a once off. Louth will be a huge test the next day and I'd say possibly our hardest and most physically draining game of the year. It's likely both teams final outing before the championship and there'll be no quarter given or asked on the day.
Quick final note, think a few people here owe Colm O'Rourke an apology. He was lambasted from pilar to post last year about guys who weren't involved McGill, McEntee's, menton, Harnan, Moriarty, Harkin and others.. and for the most part those guys haven't been involved under Robbie. Meath needs to move on and whether it's by choice from the lads themselves or Robbie has had a look and said thanks but no thanks, let's all get in the boat and get behind these lads playing for Meath. There's no point talking about who's not there and why they're not there. There's 35+ lads involved with Robbie giving it there everything and they deserve the respect of all and not have us talking about x,y and a who aren't there.
Good luck to Robbie and the team for the rest of the year. Green shots hopefully starting to bloom.
brian (Meath) - Posts: 1977 - 18/03/2025 12:21:46
From what I saw on Sunday we still don't know how to tackle and when beaten just give up.just look at the effort by a number of lads for the goal and a couple of the points. Just terrible attitude, we brought in men from Monaghan and Tyrone to sort this out and for all to see nothing has changed in the tackle department. We need to address this immediately. To concede 1:29 that's a hurling score and very worrying to me
latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 548 - 18/03/2025 13:05:37
Replying To latouche25: "From what I saw on Sunday we still don't know how to tackle and when beaten just give up.just look at the effort by a number of lads for the goal and a couple of the points. Just terrible attitude, we brought in men from Monaghan and Tyrone to sort this out and for all to see nothing has changed in the tackle department. We need to address this immediately. To concede 1:29 that's a hurling score and very worrying to me" A must-win match in front of a packed house, the lads obviously wanted it and have shown a great attitude all through the campaign (look at the way they kept at it against Westmeath) so I think it's harsh to question their attitude. Against Roscommon the tackling was unreal, some great turnovers, dogged defending and kept things tight, or as tight as is possible under the new rules. So I think the lads do have that capability and Sunday was a system breakdown rather than an attitude problem. Agree that the scores conceded is very worrying. 1-20 in a single half, even in old money that's 1-15 and would be game over. Think that can come though. It's still just the sixth competitive match under this management. Beyond working on breaking ball, kickout strategy, closing down distance shots and stopping deep runners, a simple thing they can do this week is having the nous to slow things down and break momentum. When Meath went 5 points down, before the goal or the glut of two pointers, there should have been a single for someone to go down, to regroup, maybe make a switch. That's I'll pin on management and players, it's a basic thing to do when overrun. But everything else I think they require patience and understanding.
MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 145 - 18/03/2025 14:40:03
I think the defeat to Monaghan could be damaging as it's really stopped the momentum. It was worrying because we all knew before the game how big it was at home but we just couldn't get to grips and slow it down when Monaghan got on top with the wind, that's just inexperience.
It's a massive challenge mentally to go to Louth and put in a performance after a tough loss so it's going to be difficult. Really need the injured players back but sounds like it'll be some stage in Championship before they're back. Costello is so key, he has a great head on him and he would've kicked a few scores when needed against Monaghan. Need Jones back and would be great to get a few of the big men back around the middle of the field like Conor Gray and McGowan as we looked best with the physical presence on the new long kick outs.
NYRoyal (USA) - Posts: 34 - 18/03/2025 15:03:01
Replying To latouche25: "From what I saw on Sunday we still don't know how to tackle and when beaten just give up.just look at the effort by a number of lads for the goal and a couple of the points. Just terrible attitude, we brought in men from Monaghan and Tyrone to sort this out and for all to see nothing has changed in the tackle department. We need to address this immediately. To concede 1:29 that's a hurling score and very worrying to me" Agree,
How many times there wasn't a single hand laid on a Monaghan man and allowed them to easily kick two pointers.
The annoying part of most of the Monaghan 2 pointers was if there was any bit of pressure applied to them they wouldn't be attempting the kick. McCarrons first frok outside the boot for example. Had too much space to shoot.
Royal.1 (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 18/03/2025 19:58:54
Replying To latouche25: "From what I saw on Sunday we still don't know how to tackle and when beaten just give up.just look at the effort by a number of lads for the goal and a couple of the points. Just terrible attitude, we brought in men from Monaghan and Tyrone to sort this out and for all to see nothing has changed in the tackle department. We need to address this immediately. To concede 1:29 that's a hurling score and very worrying to me" I wasn't at game ,but if have train county players how to tackle that's a bad situation. Surely they should know how to tackle at this stage. Or maybe with new rules players are more exposed to one on ones, as before its was more blanket defense.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1266 - 19/03/2025 13:38:25
Dust settled after what turned into a great outing for Monaghan in Pairc Tailteann. Super crowd and atmosphere on Sunday, and it felt like an old-school expectant Meath crowd. Its always an enjoyable fixture, I'd say it feels more like a derby for Monaghan than Meath- ye always have bigger fish to fry! But the rapport between the supporters is always first class.
Agree with the observation that Meath's tackling was the main thing letting them down. Monaghan were certainly surprised at the freedom afforded in the second quarter. It should take more to earn a 2 point score than what Jack McCarron had to do, albeit his strikes were sweet. That lack of pressure made it comfortable for Monaghan. That said, I was looking closely at the team (minus subs???) the night before for mention of Ronan Jones and Costello- my hunch is they would have turned the screw much tighter on Monaghan with the second half breeze. Jack Flynn was luck on a couple of occasions not to be heading for the sideline- late more than malicious.
Sunday will be be some craic in Inniskeen. My call is a Meath win, and results to go their way elsewhere for a promotion slot. A lot of talk in both counties that promotion is not a priority. Nonsense, Div 1 is the place to be so great to have 4 teams going all out on Sunday.
Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1169 - 19/03/2025 16:03:16
Replying To latouche25: "From what I saw on Sunday we still don't know how to tackle and when beaten just give up.just look at the effort by a number of lads for the goal and a couple of the points. Just terrible attitude, we brought in men from Monaghan and Tyrone to sort this out and for all to see nothing has changed in the tackle department. We need to address this immediately. To concede 1:29 that's a hurling score and very worrying to me" Yes.......you wonder why a couple of .players are half hearted wearing the jersey.Tacking poor and standing back rather than winning back possession .the last 2 matches Why???? I expect those fitting the "crime" here have been spoken to. I reckon 4 players in particular in last match should consider if they want to continue .Looking back those players are easily identified. Injured players returning should help to ease the situation. Its a pity as overall progress is good over the 6 matches with a dip in progress over the last 2 games. I agree when you say address this immediately
nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1273 - 19/03/2025 16:16:28
Anyone heading for Inniskeen Sunday? Serious tailbacks trying to get into it last year, only live about 20mins from it but took about an hour and a half to get into the pitch, I'd advise hitting the road early!
LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 19/03/2025 16:54:19
Replying To Eddie the Exile: "Dust settled after what turned into a great outing for Monaghan in Pairc Tailteann. Super crowd and atmosphere on Sunday, and it felt like an old-school expectant Meath crowd. Its always an enjoyable fixture, I'd say it feels more like a derby for Monaghan than Meath- ye always have bigger fish to fry! But the rapport between the supporters is always first class.
Agree with the observation that Meath's tackling was the main thing letting them down. Monaghan were certainly surprised at the freedom afforded in the second quarter. It should take more to earn a 2 point score than what Jack McCarron had to do, albeit his strikes were sweet. That lack of pressure made it comfortable for Monaghan. That said, I was looking closely at the team (minus subs???) the night before for mention of Ronan Jones and Costello- my hunch is they would have turned the screw much tighter on Monaghan with the second half breeze. Jack Flynn was luck on a couple of occasions not to be heading for the sideline- late more than malicious.
Sunday will be be some craic in Inniskeen. My call is a Meath win, and results to go their way elsewhere for a promotion slot. A lot of talk in both counties that promotion is not a priority. Nonsense, Div 1 is the place to be so great to have 4 teams going all out on Sunday." My thinking on it is Meath will be promoted on Sunday IF they go for the victory. I expect Rossies to beat Westmeath and while Cavan are formidable in Breffni with Cork needing victory to participate for Sam it adds intrigue to the tie. Who knows when we will get a better chance for Div 1, while the teams relegated this year will be odds on to return to div 1 it is not easy to gain promotion. While the 2nd quarter on Sunday-showed we are not yet ready to compete against the elite we should have no fears if that happens. It would be good to get another crack at Monaghan in league final if results go that way I would prefer another year in division 2 but should we get promotion we lots of time to prepare, build the panel further and improve on S&P as we were out manoeuvered by Monaghan. Overall football has become exciting again and it's great to see the improvement in our performances. Roll on Sunday.
Royalred (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 19/03/2025 17:09:07
Replying To nobull456: "Yes.......you wonder why a couple of .players are half hearted wearing the jersey.Tacking poor and standing back rather than winning back possession .the last 2 matches Why???? I expect those fitting the "crime" here have been spoken to. I reckon 4 players in particular in last match should consider if they want to continue .Looking back those players are easily identified. Injured players returning should help to ease the situation. Its a pity as overall progress is good over the 6 matches with a dip in progress over the last 2 games. I agree when you say address this immediately" Players need to get it in their heads now that it is man for man. Forget about turning your back protecting the goals, the threat is the free man closest to you. Some of these lads could do with watching football 20 years ago and forget about the crap the last 10 years. Its every man for himself now so take responsibility or forget it. We need men to win one on one battles all over the field in ball winning ability, tackling and blocking. If they don't cut the mustard, it should be next man in, simple as. No waiting around taking easy option or hoping next man covers. We probably have about 10-12 players pulling their weight. We need 15 at any given time plus 5/6 on the line chomping at the bit for action. Panel looks thin on quality so hoping the conveyer of last years 20's plus a few this year are ready to be parachuted in asap and up to task!
winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 619 - 19/03/2025 21:52:00
If Cavan lose while Meath and Roscommon both win leaving Meath and Roscommon in joint second place. Is it still the case that who goes forward is decided on a head to head basis Also I felt Some players would be picked for Meath regardless of their own form or if their own clubs and their rival clubs had much better players. Certainly under the previous 2 managers. Business, family, and politics. Usual bull. Hope the new guy rises above it.
Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 565 - 20/03/2025 14:31:24
Replying To Ashrules: "If Cavan lose while Meath and Roscommon both win leaving Meath and Roscommon in joint second place. Is it still the case that who goes forward is decided on a head to head basis Also I felt Some players would be picked for Meath regardless of their own form or if their own clubs and their rival clubs had much better players. Certainly under the previous 2 managers. Business, family, and politics. Usual bull. Hope the new guy rises above it." First part of your post is correct … I'd Meath and Roscommon are tied … then it's head to head…if Cavan are also on equal points then it's points difference.
Second part is as usual your diatribe of rubbish talk about this and that guy not being picked. When put to the pin of your collar you can't and don't name the guys not involved… Andy, Colm and Robbie have picked the best available to them.. and yes sometimes guys haven't gotten picked and some have made themselves unavailable for a multitude of reasons be it college, work or travelling. There's 35+ lads training multiple times a week and development panels in the background that are having players elevated off them if they're showing form. Wasn't Sean Emmanuel on the enchilada weekend for the first time.. Conor Duke and Jack kinlough we're on them last year and now starting with Robbie. Stop trying to be divisive when you've no clue as to what's going on within the current set up
I dare you to name 5 players in the county that haven't been given an opportunity cos I'll guarantee you won't be able too between senior, development panels and under 20 level in the last five years. You'd swear we'd a david Clifford in the wings of only Andy, Colm and robbie were looking at things through your eyes,,,
brian (Meath) - Posts: 1977 - 21/03/2025 11:15:59
Replying To brian: "First part of your post is correct … I'd Meath and Roscommon are tied … then it's head to head…if Cavan are also on equal points then it's points difference.
Second part is as usual your diatribe of rubbish talk about this and that guy not being picked. When put to the pin of your collar you can't and don't name the guys not involved… Andy, Colm and Robbie have picked the best available to them.. and yes sometimes guys haven't gotten picked and some have made themselves unavailable for a multitude of reasons be it college, work or travelling. There's 35+ lads training multiple times a week and development panels in the background that are having players elevated off them if they're showing form. Wasn't Sean Emmanuel on the enchilada weekend for the first time.. Conor Duke and Jack kinlough we're on them last year and now starting with Robbie. Stop trying to be divisive when you've no clue as to what's going on within the current set up
I dare you to name 5 players in the county that haven't been given an opportunity cos I'll guarantee you won't be able too between senior, development panels and under 20 level in the last five years. You'd swear we'd a david Clifford in the wings of only Andy, Colm and robbie were looking at things through your eyes,,," We also need Monaghan to win or draw as if they lose they will be on 10 points as will Roscommon and ourselves if we both manage to win our games.If we were to go up on Sunday we would be playing 5 weeks in a row which is crazy and not sure we have the squad depth to do that.I agree with you,cant think of anyone who should be on the team that hasn't got a chance (could be wrong though.
Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 327 - 21/03/2025 12:04:15
Replying To Proudroyal: "We also need Monaghan to win or draw as if they lose they will be on 10 points as will Roscommon and ourselves if we both manage to win our games.If we were to go up on Sunday we would be playing 5 weeks in a row which is crazy and not sure we have the squad depth to do that.I agree with you,cant think of anyone who should be on the team that hasn't got a chance (could be wrong though." Sorry meant to say potentially we would be out five weeks in a row if we beat Carlow in championship.
Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 327 - 21/03/2025 12:18:57
Overall, this has been a very promising league campaign. We were favourites to go down along with Westmeath at the start of the league but have managed four wins from six games. We've only had two wins in each of the last three seasons of the league since the return to normality after Covid. While Sunday's loss was disappointing (and another one on Sunday would be even moreso), we've shown a massive amount of progress under the new management team to be pretty much guaranteed an All Ireland spot and also have a realistic shout at promotion going into the last game. That is more than I thought would be possible in year 1.
While I think it would way too much for us in division 1 next year, I still would take promotion to see how Robbie sets us up for it.
Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1378 - 21/03/2025 14:47:52
Replying To Royalred: "My thinking on it is Meath will be promoted on Sunday IF they go for the victory. I expect Rossies to beat Westmeath and while Cavan are formidable in Breffni with Cork needing victory to participate for Sam it adds intrigue to the tie. Who knows when we will get a better chance for Div 1, while the teams relegated this year will be odds on to return to div 1 it is not easy to gain promotion. While the 2nd quarter on Sunday-showed we are not yet ready to compete against the elite we should have no fears if that happens. It would be good to get another crack at Monaghan in league final if results go that way I would prefer another year in division 2 but should we get promotion we lots of time to prepare, build the panel further and improve on S&P as we were out manoeuvered by Monaghan. Overall football has become exciting again and it's great to see the improvement in our performances. Roll on Sunday." If we play like we have in the last 2 games we won't beat Louth . We have a lot of big men and I believe we will struggle against nippy mobile teams like we have against westmeath and Monaghan. In pituitary our midfield area without Jones helping out lacks pace we have really struggled in this area the last two games im not sure Menton and Flynn are the answer . Maybe when Jones and Costello are back it might give us more pace and bite around the middle but without them I think we will continue to struggle in that area . Anyone know is Grey carrying an injury .
mmc (Meath) - Posts: 292 - 22/03/2025 08:29:17
Replying To mmc: "If we play like we have in the last 2 games we won't beat Louth . We have a lot of big men and I believe we will struggle against nippy mobile teams like we have against westmeath and Monaghan. In pituitary our midfield area without Jones helping out lacks pace we have really struggled in this area the last two games im not sure Menton and Flynn are the answer . Maybe when Jones and Costello are back it might give us more pace and bite around the middle but without them I think we will continue to struggle in that area . Anyone know is Grey carrying an injury ." San Mulroy out for Louth, he's the top scorer in division 2 , Craig Lennon has been a huge loss too, an all star last year. I think meath could not play well and win and that's not being arrogant, Louth just seem to be a real mess at the moment, they will be hoping monaghan can do them a favour and beat Down.
Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 22/03/2025 11:26:05
Replying To Ratoath Royal: "Overall, this has been a very promising league campaign. We were favourites to go down along with Westmeath at the start of the league but have managed four wins from six games. We've only had two wins in each of the last three seasons of the league since the return to normality after Covid. While Sunday's loss was disappointing (and another one on Sunday would be even moreso), we've shown a massive amount of progress under the new management team to be pretty much guaranteed an All Ireland spot and also have a realistic shout at promotion going into the last game. That is more than I thought would be possible in year 1.
While I think it would way too much for us in division 1 next year, I still would take promotion to see how Robbie sets us up for it." Could not agree more
thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1086 - 22/03/2025 14:12:34
What's the scenario tomorrow?. I think if 2 teams finish level on points it will come down to who won the game between the 2 teams.
Say Meath/ Roscommon/ Cavan finish level on points would Meath be promoted based on beating both Roscommon and Cavan?.
bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1413 - 22/03/2025 17:03:36