National League

Replying To royal11:  "Conor Gray was Meath's standout player against Dublin this week in the Leinster Development league. He might have done enough to put himself back in contention. Costello should be available for selection too."
I'd be very reluctant to break up the current midfield partnership when they are doing so well by moving Flynn to wing forward and I don't gray is mobile enough to play there so.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 28/02/2025 09:29:47    2593631

Replying To Tobefair80:  "That is a pity, nice forward but obviously isn't willing to or cannot commit to the commitment required."
I agree. I'd have liked to see could he make the step up after seeing some of his performances last year for MH.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 1049 - 28/02/2025 10:15:57    2593643

Strange to be nervy about playing a team coming off four straight losses but Westmeath have been within a score or two in all games, save the Monaghan match. And this is their chance to keep their survival hopes alive. Plus they'll never lie down playing Meath at home.
If we hit the levels of last week we'll see it through though. Promotion in our hands,

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 28/02/2025 12:06:14    2593672

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I'd be very reluctant to break up the current midfield partnership when they are doing so well by moving Flynn to wing forward and I don't gray is mobile enough to play there so."
So who would you be starting in place of Ronan Jones out of interest? Assuming costello will still be out. Daithi or Mcbride? Personally I'd be making room for Gray by moving menton or flynn to wing forward. It's an interesting selection call.

Sheridan2010louth (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 28/02/2025 12:13:59    2593675

Replying To Sheridan2010louth:  "So who would you be starting in place of Ronan Jones out of interest? Assuming costello will still be out. Daithi or Mcbride? Personally I'd be making room for Gray by moving menton or flynn to wing forward. It's an interesting selection call."
I definitely would not be bringing Gray into the equation

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1500 - 28/02/2025 12:47:38    2593683

Replying To Proudroyal:  "Well Oille,as the old saying goes we have to take it one game at a time.Westmeath would love to put one over on Meath and certainly wouldn't be taking them for granted.If we improve in every game like we have been doing then we should beat them and set up a bumper game v Monaghan on the 16th.Louth not firing on all cylinders but still should be a tasty game to finish the league off."
It was a big improvement from Louth from the previous weekend. Sam Mulroy was on fire last weekend with scoring ten points. The only worry is the injuries are mounting up for the Wee County including our All Star Craig Lennon. Hopefully he will be back for the Meath match.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 986 - 01/03/2025 09:15:50    2593867

I see Sean Coffey is named as starter(thought he had a broken bone in the hand). Is this some sort of dummy team again?
Hopefully Dathi McGown is shooting the lights out with the 2 pointers in training. Never really did it for me as a midfielder, never worked hard enough, but the new game could suit him if he has a consistant conversion rate.

Kingroyal (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 02/03/2025 09:17:52    2594061

Replying To Kingroyal:  "I see Sean Coffey is named as starter(thought he had a broken bone in the hand). Is this some sort of dummy team again?
Hopefully Dathi McGown is shooting the lights out with the 2 pointers in training. Never really did it for me as a midfielder, never worked hard enough, but the new game could suit him if he has a consistant conversion rate."
Old school, loving it :0)

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1813 - 02/03/2025 16:53:41    2594156

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I'd be very reluctant to break up the current midfield partnership when they are doing so well by moving Flynn to wing forward and I don't gray is mobile enough to play there so."
It's not an area we have been winning. Great to have mention back , maybe look out for a guy with stamina and skill to partner him. Shane Carthy after playing with summer hill becomes eligible. If fit worth a look at.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 560 - 02/03/2025 23:59:33    2594307

Was at the match yesterday and I want to chat about Eoghan Frayne. He is the best shooter in our team. If one player in the Meath team had to take a shot to save my life it's 100% him. Here's the but, he's not very mobile, he's not particularly fast either. He struggled to get into the game for me bar the moments when he shot. Is his lack of pace/power going to stop him from really reaching the heights?

Coylesrighthand (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 03/03/2025 09:08:22    2594328

Replying To Coylesrighthand:  "Was at the match yesterday and I want to chat about Eoghan Frayne. He is the best shooter in our team. If one player in the Meath team had to take a shot to save my life it's 100% him. Here's the but, he's not very mobile, he's not particularly fast either. He struggled to get into the game for me bar the moments when he shot. Is his lack of pace/power going to stop him from really reaching the heights?"
This isn't news to anyone. He has a place . He is so accurate you juist need to get him in good shooting positions and he will continue to be a big asset. I think the new rules will suit him also.

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 131 - 03/03/2025 10:19:40    2594355

Replying To Ashrules:  "It's not an area we have been winning. Great to have mention back , maybe look out for a guy with stamina and skill to partner him. Shane Carthy after playing with summer hill becomes eligible. If fit worth a look at."
Beaten well yesterday in midfield, missed Jones and Coffey under breaking ball. Flynn can have moments of brilliance at times but the mistakes yesterday should have had him hooked off I think he's lucky gray and McBride aren't 100%.

Royal.1 (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 03/03/2025 11:03:58    2594376

Permuations (bearing in mind it's head-to-head record in two-way tie, points difference if 3 or more teams tied):

If we beat Monaghan: Then we just need to avoid defeat to Louth to be promoted. OR we can even lose to Louth if Roscommon beat Cavan and Westmeath (because Monaghan couldn't get past us on head-to-head). OR we could still get promoted on score different in three-way tie (if Roscommon unexpectedly lose)

If we lose to Monaghan: Then need to beat Louth AND rely on Roscommon losing (they play Cavan then Westmeath) AND that we come out top-two in score difference.

Draw with Monaghan: Then it's a straight shootout on last day. We would need to make up the 5-point gap score difference gap on Monaghan on the final day (they play Down).

So, in short, it's completely in our hands if we beat Monaghan. Trust the lads will be working hard on midfield and breaking ball between now and then - hopefully plenty of lessons learned yesterday. The FRC could throw a curveball at things today too.

MeathAbroad (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 03/03/2025 11:30:58    2594382

A good win for Meath over the weekend, there was a great atmosphere in mullingar. Frayne and Morris are having great league campaigns and Rafferty and Duke have been great finds. I see Niall Devlin had a fine game for Nom over the weekend, keeping a clean sheet, definitely worth a look in, also looked promising for dcu. But credit for how Meath are doing this year must go to the great Colm O'Rourke for his work with this Meath team and the st Pats team over the last few years for developing these players. One thing i missed this weekend was the regional gurus opinion, would be great to hear from that account again.

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 03/03/2025 11:42:33    2594386

A good win for Meath over the weekend, there was a great atmosphere in mullingar. Frayne and Morris are having great league campaigns and Rafferty and Duke have been great finds. I see Niall Devlin had a fine game for Nom over the weekend, keeping a clean sheet, definitely worth a look in, also looked promising for dcu. But credit for how Meath are doing this year must go to the great Colm O'Rourke for his work with this Meath team and the st Pats team over the last few years for developing these players. One thing i missed this weekend was the regional gurus opinion, would be great to hear from that account again.

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 03/03/2025 11:51:00    2594389

A marvellous day for Meath football yesterday, getting a win over a fine Westmeath outfit. It's nice to see the determination and never-say-die attitude that Colm instilled in the lads over the last couple of years - fair play to RB for keeping this ethos going in the dressing room. I'm not sure how others feel, but it would be great to see a few more big men from the north of the county included in the 26 going forward.

In the absence of Jones, we could do with a bit more size and ignorance. I feel like we could have played a few more long balls yesterday - no harm in lumping a few into the square when things aren't working with the handpassing. Would there be merit in playing Gray at full forward and giving this a go? Would also be good to see the lads utilise the drop kick from the full back line to get the ball away further.

RegionalsGuru (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 03/03/2025 12:12:25    2594396

Replying To Royal.1:  "Beaten well yesterday in midfield, missed Jones and Coffey under breaking ball. Flynn can have moments of brilliance at times but the mistakes yesterday should have had him hooked off I think he's lucky gray and McBride aren't 100%."
Have to agree Flynn was poor yesterday but we weren't competing for the breaking ball Westmeath won 90% of the dirty ball around the middle.
Looked lost at times yesterday wasn't a good performance but they showed great bottle to get a win when it didn't look possible

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 287 - 03/03/2025 12:16:48    2594400

Replying To RegionalsGuru:  "A marvellous day for Meath football yesterday, getting a win over a fine Westmeath outfit. It's nice to see the determination and never-say-die attitude that Colm instilled in the lads over the last couple of years - fair play to RB for keeping this ethos going in the dressing room. I'm not sure how others feel, but it would be great to see a few more big men from the north of the county included in the 26 going forward.

In the absence of Jones, we could do with a bit more size and ignorance. I feel like we could have played a few more long balls yesterday - no harm in lumping a few into the square when things aren't working with the handpassing. Would there be merit in playing Gray at full forward and giving this a go? Would also be good to see the lads utilise the drop kick from the full back line to get the ball away further."
I tend to agree with this statement on Gray, a man with massive size and stature could terrify any man woman or child at full forward with his great hands. He could be like Donaghy rising up to the clouds to gather the ball in full forward and banty could be like james O'Donoghue, than i'd really start to think Meath are back. As for the breaking ball issue that crept up yesterday, a player like alan callaghan from the tones. He's a North Meath man so he'd take no bs and would claim clean possession from kickouts and is a great man for a score so if RB is reading, I believe he is the problem solver.

Meathboyos86 (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 03/03/2025 12:57:58    2594416

Great win when playing bad, Robbie Brennan is doing great work & it is some improvement on last year.
However, I don't understand stand why Brennan is no negative on the new rules when they suit Meath.
I would still see areas Robbie could improve on, there were some players who were not playing well yesterday and I particularly didn't like that he left one of his own club player's on the field who was playing poorly and on top of that, he left him on after getting a yellow card card.
And then in interviews afterwards he was one of the few players Robbie specifically named & praised that player for a big catch late on (which he did catch). I can understand him wanting to praise players who are playing poorly to give them confidence but he needs to put a greater balance on loyalty to county over club to be a great manager.
I always thought yesterday was going to be a banana skin & woul be confident of beating Monaghan.

madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 90 - 03/03/2025 13:15:44    2594421

Replying To Royal.1:  "Beaten well yesterday in midfield, missed Jones and Coffey under breaking ball. Flynn can have moments of brilliance at times but the mistakes yesterday should have had him hooked off I think he's lucky gray and McBride aren't 100%."
Jones was a huge loss but it was more on breaking ball that we lost out at midfield. Wouldn't say it was purely Flynn and Menton that struggled while not at their best they still had their moments. Also referee blew for fouls when each looked like they marked cleanly. Flynn kicked a few wide and lost a ball in defence but still did alot of good at times. He will be a hugely influential figure going forward and will learn from yesterday. I am more concerned with the breaking ball and half backline where I'm not sure if guys came in as replacements from previous day did themselves justice. I am also concerned with panel depth when a few of main guys are out injured. It must be said that Meath looked flat and lethargic and was possibly the case of the load catching up with some guys, mentally just as much as physically.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 609 - 03/03/2025 13:35:23    2594427