Cavan Vs Meath. Rd 5.

Happy enough with the point, could have gone either way at the end. Defence now playing as a unit which was biggest concern. Main plus is the attitude and workrate across the team. Plenty to work on with forward's, in truth SW needed them score's as much,if not more than Meath, confidence seems to let him down at vital moments, has been an ongoing problem for him over the years. A good talent that need's work to get best out of himself. At this stage not overly worried about the missed chances, expect this too will improve with work. So well done to all, better day's ahead if improvement continues.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 03/03/2024 17:11:23    2529466

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "A Jekyll and Hyde performance of sorts.

Defence continues to improve and I would say if the way Keoghan, O Neill and O Halloren are going they will be on par with Lavin, McGill and Gallagher of 2019.

Campion continues to improve and could be an answer to Skrynes woes at center back.

Jones faded badly in the third quarter and Dixon didn't have the impact like the last two games. McGowan played well in patches but needs to deliver consistency.

Costello, Walsh and Franye need to go to a pitch by themselves and work on their shooting because that was terrible. There's no point putting in a defensive display like that only to leave about 2-6 out there. The hard work was done getting into space and giving themselves the opportunity for a score but the poor execution is a worry."
Agreed 100% shooting and freetaking has to be given priority at last at training sessions. I think i may have remarked that before ha ha ! readymade top forwards Giles and Bray in house resourses and knew how to score
Nevertheless, a lot of positives especially in defence .Keoghan again proving his class ,Adam O Neill nailing no 3 shirt ,and Brennan No 1 shirt. Encouraging to see the faster rate of transition also. Midfield it would be Costello and Jones for now for me. It would be a real bonus to have Grey back fit.
All in all some proof of learning as we go . Colm included,and it looks he will be nailed on manager after year 2 .....if he wants it ! As they say a lot done ,and a lot more to do.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 03/03/2024 17:37:37    2529479

Cork game moved to Saturday now I see.We have no pressure now on the last 2 games as as far as I can make out we are safe so hopefully we can play with a bit more freedom.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 03/03/2024 17:56:19    2529490

Yes, mathematically impossible to be relegated now given that Fermanagh and Louth have yet to play each other. In fairness 5 points has usually been enough in the past to retain div 2 status and we had that before this weekends draw.

On another note I believe Kildare are now officially relegated after this weekends results.

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 03/03/2024 19:06:43    2529521

Replying To royaldunne:  "For me this COULD BE a defining game. Win and we have cork at home and should we win that then an all out crack at Donegal for promotion. I'll be honest win lose or draw that game should it come to pass would sign improvement and a successful enough year.
Flip side we get beat and lose to cork then we could be dragged back into relegation territory depending on louth and Fermanagh results. A nightmare scenario.
Now likelihood is neither situation might happen leaving us where we are. That would be same as you have been for past near on 20years."
Has there ever been a more deluded individual than yourself on this forum??? Just asking for a friend.....Meath lose, and it's daggers at dawn for the manager. Meath win a game and it's promotion to Division 1 on the cards... I mean, come on, you have to be the biggest spoofer of all time? or else the biggest wind up merchant? Which is it?

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 277 - 03/03/2024 19:11:35    2529522

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Has there ever been a more deluded individual than yourself on this forum??? Just asking for a friend.....Meath lose, and it's daggers at dawn for the manager. Meath win a game and it's promotion to Division 1 on the cards... I mean, come on, you have to be the biggest spoofer of all time? or else the biggest wind up merchant? Which is it?"
Fair question

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 03/03/2024 20:04:36    2529543

Replying To cabbage:  "Yes, mathematically impossible to be relegated now given that Fermanagh and Louth have yet to play each other. In fairness 5 points has usually been enough in the past to retain div 2 status and we had that before this weekends draw.

On another note I believe Kildare are now officially relegated after this weekends results."
You're right about us being 100% safe but Kildare aren't relegated just yet. If they somehow beat Donegal, and then beat Louth they'd finish on 4 points. They'd also need a few other results to go their way (Cork to gain at least 1 more point, Fermanagh to lose to both Louth and Cavan), and this would leave Kildare on 4 points, above Fermanagh on 3 points and above Louth on head to head.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1648 - 03/03/2024 20:08:43    2529544

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Fair question"
So again was I wrong in my assessment??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/03/2024 21:24:59    2529572

Replying To cabbage:  "Yes, mathematically impossible to be relegated now given that Fermanagh and Louth have yet to play each other. In fairness 5 points has usually been enough in the past to retain div 2 status and we had that before this weekends draw.

On another note I believe Kildare are now officially relegated after this weekends results."
Well - I think in fairness that is a good achievement! 2 games remaining and safe in Division 2! I think we should be able to beat Cork in Navan although likely to be a tough game as they battle to stay up! The game against Donegal was always going to be a hard one - it will be interesting to see how we fair up there!

I think this reinforces the belief that we are a top 12 team - the thing is to build on that! Experience is critical for this group of lads and I think the more consistency shown in selecting the team and panel the better it will be for them all. I have to say O'Neill at full back has really grown into that role and I look forward to seeing how he does in the championship!

Still opportunity for improvement and I think the next two games will be important in this regard.

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 481 - 04/03/2024 09:51:12    2529625

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Cork can end up on 6 points along with us, both fermanagh and louth can't as they play eachother in week 6 (assuming both lose to Armagh and donegal today of course). So it'll be kildare and either fermanagh or louth...... unless kildare beat cork today, in which case it'll be cork that get dragged back into it, not us."
Yeah you're right I didn't see the Louth/Fermanagh fixture next so Div2 is secured for 2025, great that we can go into the last 2 games without any pressure and can have a good rattle at Cork & Donegal. Would like to see Kinsella, Dixon, McDonnell & Moriarty get more game time to have a solid 18-20 players going into the championship

LowerHogan (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 04/03/2024 10:44:51    2529641

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Well - I think in fairness that is a good achievement! 2 games remaining and safe in Division 2! I think we should be able to beat Cork in Navan although likely to be a tough game as they battle to stay up! The game against Donegal was always going to be a hard one - it will be interesting to see how we fair up there!

I think this reinforces the belief that we are a top 12 team - the thing is to build on that! Experience is critical for this group of lads and I think the more consistency shown in selecting the team and panel the better it will be for them all. I have to say O'Neill at full back has really grown into that role and I look forward to seeing how he does in the championship!

Still opportunity for improvement and I think the next two games will be important in this regard."
The real test now will be to see how competitive we are with Dublin. It was pointed out to me yesterday on Twitter that we have drew with two team who last year were in tc. So I do think the cork game will bring us on immensely they were quite good last year and are fighting for survival this. So this should show us where we are. . The higher we finish in the league the better. As I said and indeed others did too. I would like to get into all ire series on merit and not need tc card. While promotion HAS to always be the goal there were two team who really are miles ahead of the rest in div this year and indeed last year. What's coming down next year looks a lot easier.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/03/2024 12:11:32    2529686

Replying To royaldunne:  "The real test now will be to see how competitive we are with Dublin. It was pointed out to me yesterday on Twitter that we have drew with two team who last year were in tc. So I do think the cork game will bring us on immensely they were quite good last year and are fighting for survival this. So this should show us where we are. . The higher we finish in the league the better. As I said and indeed others did too. I would like to get into all ire series on merit and not need tc card. While promotion HAS to always be the goal there were two team who really are miles ahead of the rest in div this year and indeed last year. What's coming down next year looks a lot easier."
After we beat Louth you said the game against Kildare would be the test of this Meath team. Then it was the Cavan game would be the real test and now Dublin are the real test. Such waffle, always trying the find fault with the management and team. A couple of weeks ago the anti Colm agenda was fueled by comments like Meath will be relegated and Antrim will be coming up instead of us under Andy. How has that worked out?

49erroyal (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 04/03/2024 12:38:26    2529701

Replying To 49erroyal:  "After we beat Louth you said the game against Kildare would be the test of this Meath team. Then it was the Cavan game would be the real test and now Dublin are the real test. Such waffle, always trying the find fault with the management and team. A couple of weeks ago the anti Colm agenda was fueled by comments like Meath will be relegated and Antrim will be coming up instead of us under Andy. How has that worked out?"
Well first off that's lies. I never said anything about Andy coming up. So more delusional talk. But yes louth game was a serious test after Armagh. But they were pretty bad. Kildare again more lies as I never said they'd be a test as I repeatedly stated they were a basket case and we would beat them by 5/6 points without any bother. Cavan definitely were a step up from what we were playing and we could and should have beat them. Has my opinion changed on Colm ? Not one bit and unless we do something spectacular in championship I feel the review will also take that view.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/03/2024 12:48:07    2529705

it's great we have division 2 status secured , a win against cork and a good performance against Donegal would see out the league in a positive note , fair play to them i didn't really expect this from the management team based on last season , but slowly things are going in the right direction.

meath1987 (Meath) - Posts: 127 - 04/03/2024 12:51:30    2529707

Replying To meath1987:  "it's great we have division 2 status secured , a win against cork and a good performance against Donegal would see out the league in a positive note , fair play to them i didn't really expect this from the management team based on last season , but slowly things are going in the right direction."
I'd agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/03/2024 13:03:13    2529711

Replying To meath1987:  "it's great we have division 2 status secured , a win against cork and a good performance against Donegal would see out the league in a positive note , fair play to them i didn't really expect this from the management team based on last season , but slowly things are going in the right direction."
Yes.......the real test now is to continue the progress Always good to compare yourself against the best say Dublin. and use as a tool to learn, but not to use as an anti Colm o Rourke agenda However amusement value should not be overlooked. Like what will be tried next and offered as logic with no attempt to be constructive?
Nothing wrong with constructive critisizm,

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 04/03/2024 13:51:39    2529726

Replying To 49erroyal:  "After we beat Louth you said the game against Kildare would be the test of this Meath team. Then it was the Cavan game would be the real test and now Dublin are the real test. Such waffle, always trying the find fault with the management and team. A couple of weeks ago the anti Colm agenda was fueled by comments like Meath will be relegated and Antrim will be coming up instead of us under Andy. How has that worked out?"
Everything you say is true,however, your wasting you'r time, no sense or logic in his posting and is better off ignored. That poster will not be happy until COR is gone, Meath football be dammed just so he can gloat and tell us how smart he is.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 04/03/2024 13:54:43    2529728

Replying To seadog54:  "Everything you say is true,however, your wasting you'r time, no sense or logic in his posting and is better off ignored. That poster will not be happy until COR is gone, Meath football be dammed just so he can gloat and tell us how smart he is."
Nope again no one including you can shred one piece of evidence that I said Kildare would be a test. Actually you are the same boyo who said I was downplaying Kildare making them out worse than they are so if we got beat or only won by a couple of points I could gloat. So which is it ??
My opinion on Colm has never changed. I support the team the manager is irrelevant. Yea we will only improve to where we should be when someone else with proper coaches etc takes over. But this temporary solution is fine for the rest of the year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/03/2024 16:24:49    2529774

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nope again no one including you can shred one piece of evidence that I said Kildare would be a test. Actually you are the same boyo who said I was downplaying Kildare making them out worse than they are so if we got beat or only won by a couple of points I could gloat. So which is it ??
My opinion on Colm has never changed. I support the team the manager is irrelevant. Yea we will only improve to where we should be when someone else with proper coaches etc takes over. But this temporary solution is fine for the rest of the year."
So tell everyone here what your expectations were/are for this team throughout league and championship and outline where those expectations haven't been met? Perhaps you can then explain how the previous management were able to exceed on expectations where this management team haven't? What does this management team need to achieve for the coming year for progress to be deemed real? What have they not done up to now bearing in mind safety is secured with 2 games to go and Donegal and Armagh are far more capable teams than any other in Div. 2. Remember realistic needs to be referred to every now and again in your response. Is the keeper or Darragh Campion meeting your expectations now bearing in mind these were two of the sticking points with you a few weeks ago. Just for info. Campion and Brennan have been selected respectively on national teams of the week.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 04/03/2024 16:40:41    2529777

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Has there ever been a more deluded individual than yourself on this forum??? Just asking for a friend.....Meath lose, and it's daggers at dawn for the manager. Meath win a game and it's promotion to Division 1 on the cards... I mean, come on, you have to be the biggest spoofer of all time? or else the biggest wind up merchant? Which is it?"
Bravo sir

Bravo

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 04/03/2024 19:09:36    2529812