Meath Vs Louth. Rd 3.

Highest ranked team we beat since cork last year. First big win in over a year. So happy with that. However I watched game back last night and really louth should be kicking themselves better team all over field for 50 minutes. Then looked like they lost the plot. We were very nervous in first half which I presume is only natural considering the pressure they and in particular management were under. That has been eased now. Last 20 minutes when we started running at them (not the game plan up to then) we looked a lot more comfortable and assured. Motm for me was O'Connor after a couple of poor games. He has pace to burn and fought for everything campion had his best game for Meath since his breakout year. Keoghan was excellent, frayne hams to be the free taker, Costello goal shows he is wasted in ff line and totally out of position, walsh showed improvement even if made a couple of errors. O'Neil very solid, Brennan unfortunately is not ready yet and we need one of the hogans. He seems very uncomfortable with the fly goalie role and his kick outs were all over the place , the last two in particular nearly cost us the game. I have a great time for him but I think he just isn't there yet and we have 2 better keepers at this stage . We were cut open too easily at times too. So plenty to work on for next game. Yes you should never take any team for granted, but Kildare are in a very bad way, the management are on borrowed time . So even a performance below par should be enough to win with a bit to spare. One last positive. Coffee. Great player.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2024 10:49:05    2526895

A very important win yesterday the team showed a lot of bottle when the game look lost at 9 - 5 down but we look lost at times yesterday .
I have said before I hate this modern football its dire to watch but if that's what it takes to win we need to do it and hopefully someday they will change the rules .
When you hear Cieran Wheelan saying it was the best game of the weekend that says a lot about the state of gaa football .
On a plus the ref even though he got some decisions wrong let the game flow that added a bit of atmosphere to the game .
We have a young team and at times yesterday that was very evident especially in the first half we had players standing off you can't do that at senior football wheres you'll get away with it at other levels .
There was a vast improvement in the second half but we had one or two players I was surprised lasted the full game .
Brennan struggled yesterday but I'd give him more time but I think he adds very little when he comes out field I still don't get that anyway something I'd hope the gaa will look at and stop ..
Walsh was outstanding in the second half really gave everything but he has to stop getting blocked down happens to often to him .
We need to get a regular free taker and stick to him we have had 5 or 6 if not more lads kick frees in our first 3 league games going nowhere doing that .
Overall a good win but Louth were poor we'll have to play for the full 70 minutes next week because Kildare even how bad they are going won't fear coming to Navan .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 19/02/2024 11:14:06    2526902

One thing on the Gaa looking at the fly keeper? (I agree with you btw) . But It ain't gonna happen. They are loving it, it's adding uncertainty and a quick turnover and goal chances which creates drama. They will get rid of the advanced mark. But they will do nothing about the keeper coming out. We just may all get use to it and try to make it an advantage to us.
I also agree on free taker. One of the criticisms I levelled at mcentee was we hadn't 2 designated free takers. We seem to have gotten worse on this and now everyone seems to be given the chance. Colm has had enough time to get this sorted but we seem to have less of an idea now than when he came in. Not good enough.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2024 12:13:44    2526922

Where does one start? At halftime it didn't look great and I felt if we could more players forward quicker into and beyond the 'D' we still had a chance. Mind you it did cross my mind that it would only be through desperation that they would push up. After the first 8/10 minutes of the second half that we were lambs to the slaughter. Then through a bit of turn off by Louth and the aforementioned desperation and literally throwing caution to the wind and from chaos came a mis intended structure, suddenly the player in possession had support higher up the pitch and the scores arrived. Costello's goal was the clincher and was welcome but to get through for goals like that against the likes of Donegal or Cavan he will need players in support and he will have to use them but the finish was sublime. Also we need to keep Eoghan Frayne and Shane Walsh in the vicinity of the 'D' when in possession. Far too often with the wind in the first half one or other were in position with NO support and three or four Louth defender around them.
Kildare: Word is the the management are firmly in the last chance saloon and will see the trip to Navan as an opportunity for a bit of redemption. If we perform as we did in the first 40 minutes yesterday we will be beaten. Over to management now to build on the last 30 minutes of yesterday's game. Do that and we will be safe. If not the unthinkable beckons.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 19/02/2024 12:13:53    2526923

Replying To royaldunne:  "Lucky lucky lucky. First half we were dire. Again some strange subs. That been said fair play to the lads they dug in. And ground out a win. Think div 2 is now safe as Kildare are in total meltdown and we will beat them."
Kildare 5 point win confirmed

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 19/02/2024 13:07:34    2526946

An awful lot of happy heads praising our character and the great final 20 minutes we had against Louth.
My god the entire game was a shocker and Louth were just that bit more abysmal than us! any team that would let a lad run 40 yards in senior intercounty football and score a goal....... it was like watching an U12 match at times.
And the amount of unforced turnovers by both teams especially Louth.
We were 2 points ahead with a minute or 2 remaining and our keeper runs out and kicks a Hail Mary into the air! No idea how to run down a clock! Louth should have beaten us in the last 5 min!
Louth walked through us 5 times and if that was any other team it would have been 3 or 4 goals. Still no defensive system
God forbid if Donal Keoghan gets injured we may give up! Too reliant on one man!
On the very few positives i thought our tackling was decent on most parts of the pitch except full forward line. And apart from the goal I was impressed with Costello's work. He got back and tackled hard and got involved in everything. I thought he scraped MoM just over DK (not that you take it away from DK either!!)! Definitely better suited in the half forward line.
I know people like to celebrate individual wins but I fear for us in the remaining games. I even fear Kildare! People thing they are a shambles but how different are they to us?? For some reason they are just getting slated more in the press!

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 19/02/2024 13:08:29    2526947

Replying To JonnieG:  "An awful lot of happy heads praising our character and the great final 20 minutes we had against Louth.
My god the entire game was a shocker and Louth were just that bit more abysmal than us! any team that would let a lad run 40 yards in senior intercounty football and score a goal....... it was like watching an U12 match at times.
We were 2 points ahead with a minute or 2 remaining and our keeper runs out and kicks a Hail Mary into the air! No idea how to run down a clock! Louth should have beaten us in the last 5 min!
Louth walked through us 5 times and if that was any other team it would have been 3 or 4 goals. Still no defensive system
God forbid if Donal Keoghan gets injured we may give up! Too reliant on one man!
On the very few positives i thought our tackling was decent on most parts of the pitch except full forward line. And apart from the goal I was impressed with Costello's work. He got back and tackled hard and got involved in everything. I thought he scraped MoM just over DK (not that you take it away from DK either!!)! Definitely better suited in the half forward line.
I know people like to celebrate individual wins but I fear for us in the remaining games. I even fear Kildare! People thing they are a shambles but how different are they to us?? For some reason they are just getting slated more in the press!"
There is absolutely nothing wrong with people being happy for winning a game , what did you want a Dublin or Kerry like performance ? Think everyone is realistic here where we are and it's great to get them 2 points and hopefully avoid regelation.

Absolutely Kildare will be a very tough game , hopefully we will pick up the win or even a draw .

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 19/02/2024 13:31:21    2526960

Louth came to Navan riding high on their form to date in the league. They looked to have us in trouble with 10 minutes gone in the second half and a strong breeze to push them home. We have to be happy with the response from Meath in all fairness they dug in and fought their way back into the game and got the result. Louth did blow it and should have had a couple of goals but so should we Mc Bride spilled 2 balls while bearing down on goal another day he might have scored. Putting all the if's and maybes aside we won lets move on and take what we can get. Congratulations all.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 19/02/2024 13:49:48    2526963

People writing off Kildare are being very premature.

0 from 3 is a bad look, no doubt about it - but they have lost to two of the strongest teams in the division. They shipped a bad result to Armagh - but so did Meath!

When it comes down to it, they can still win a few games in this division and we are one of the teams they will fancy. We should be honest about that.

In saying that - the game is in Navan and Meath should be approaching it in a far more confident manner than Kildare. If they start well, get their hands on a lot of possession, hit 14/15 scores and play with the intensity they showed against Louth, it's difficult to see Kildare rising from their current malaise to beat them. It is another derby however and they take on a life of their own. If Kildare are to show some dog and fight for their season and indeed their management, it will start against Meath next up.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 589 - 19/02/2024 14:00:06    2526970

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "There is absolutely nothing wrong with people being happy for winning a game , what did you want a Dublin or Kerry like performance ? Think everyone is realistic here where we are and it's great to get them 2 points and hopefully avoid regelation.

Absolutely Kildare will be a very tough game , hopefully we will pick up the win or even a draw ."
Agree, it seem's to upset some posters when we get a win, saw no game over weekend that was any better, some great displays from Derry and Armagh but very one sided. Always about what might happen, if's and but's. Enjoy the deserved win and stop constant knocking, a win on Sunday should see us safe. Kildare in bad place and not helped by CB chairman throwing Glen Ryan under bus, end of season, in house review is time and place for this. It is still a 50/50 game, one we cannot or will not take for granted.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 19/02/2024 14:31:17    2526984

Replying To JonnieG:  "An awful lot of happy heads praising our character and the great final 20 minutes we had against Louth.
I know people like to celebrate individual wins but I fear for us in the remaining games. I even fear Kildare! People thing they are a shambles but how different are they to us?? For some reason they are just getting slated more in the press!"
I can remember you last year telling us meath have no chance of winning the tailtean Cup, in fact you informed us that there was 5 or 6 teams better then us, anyway we went on to win it.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 667 - 19/02/2024 17:36:49    2527063

Good result yesterday.

Brennan pulled off a couple of excellent saves to keep us in the game. His kickouts need some work but other than that I wouldn't be critical of him. O Neill bullied Mulroy which is a hard thing to do, he's probably one of the best forwards in the division. Campion and Keoghan also had solid games. McGowan, Frayne, Walsh, O Connor, Costello all showed brilliant for different periods in the game but they now need to start putting it together for longer. Subs made an impact.

We're a bit light with options in midfield with Gray injured and Flynn gone. McBride hasn't adjusted and Jones was poor yesterday. I was happy with midfield up until yesterday so it's something that needs to be fixed.
Frees are still a bit of a mixed bag, there's multiple people still taking them, I'd be happy with one from the left, right and 45s. Frayne doesn't take 45s with Summerhill so I don't expect him to take them with Meath. Think McGowan on 45s is the way to go then have someone from the left and right.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 19/02/2024 22:51:28    2527104

Replying To seadog54:  "Agree, it seem's to upset some posters when we get a win, saw no game over weekend that was any better, some great displays from Derry and Armagh but very one sided. Always about what might happen, if's and but's. Enjoy the deserved win and stop constant knocking, a win on Sunday should see us safe. Kildare in bad place and not helped by CB chairman throwing Glen Ryan under bus, end of season, in house review is time and place for this. It is still a 50/50 game, one we cannot or will not take for granted."
I get the feeling some of the posts saying Kildare game should be handy are just saying this so they can be critical of the team performance after the Kildare game no matter how the game goes.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1361 - 19/02/2024 23:09:28    2527110

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I get the feeling some of the posts saying Kildare game should be handy are just saying this so they can be critical of the team performance after the Kildare game no matter how the game goes."
Spot on, its been a pattern on here since COR took over.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 19/02/2024 23:37:13    2527113

Replying To seadog54:  "Spot on, its been a pattern on here since COR took over."
Its been a pattern long before COR took over, anyone who was anti McEntee did the same to him and the Anti O Dowd's were the same before that. Unfortunately we have a very fickle and divided fan base (North Meath and South Meath) with a couple of level headed honest Meath supporters sitting in between who can make a fair assessment based on where we are and the players we have.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 20/02/2024 09:38:48    2527141

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "I can remember you last year telling us meath have no chance of winning the tailtean Cup, in fact you informed us that there was 5 or 6 teams better then us, anyway we went on to win it."
I can remember all ye Tailteann Cup enthusiasts jumping up and down with glee when we won and saying onwards and upwards from that "great" day. And here we are blowing a sigh of relief after a shaky win over Louth in the 3rd game of the league and praying for a win against Kildare to avoid relegation!!! Perspective please!!!
if you want to have a look through any more of my posts you will see I was never a fan of the TC and didn't think it would be of any benefit to us. I think that's been proven so far this year. My goal for this year was fighting for promotion not relegation.
but if people are happy with one or two wins in the league then that's up to you. No doubt the same people who saw the TC win as an all Ireland win!!
I was expecting a lot more this year in terms of a properly coached team that are hard to break down and quick in attack. not there. And if it is an offence to want this Meath team to be making strides forward then Im guilty as charged!
And other posters here accusing fellow Meath supporters of wanting Meth to lose just really shows the intelligence of some people on this forum! What saddens me more is those people accept that this year will be a success if we "avoid relegation" . Please dont ever get into management and if you do, bring your skills to another county as it may help meath going forward! :)

JonnieG (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 20/02/2024 10:09:47    2527152

Replying To JonnieG:  "I can remember all ye Tailteann Cup enthusiasts jumping up and down with glee when we won and saying onwards and upwards from that "great" day. And here we are blowing a sigh of relief after a shaky win over Louth in the 3rd game of the league and praying for a win against Kildare to avoid relegation!!! Perspective please!!!
if you want to have a look through any more of my posts you will see I was never a fan of the TC and didn't think it would be of any benefit to us. I think that's been proven so far this year. My goal for this year was fighting for promotion not relegation.
but if people are happy with one or two wins in the league then that's up to you. No doubt the same people who saw the TC win as an all Ireland win!!
I was expecting a lot more this year in terms of a properly coached team that are hard to break down and quick in attack. not there. And if it is an offence to want this Meath team to be making strides forward then Im guilty as charged!
And other posters here accusing fellow Meath supporters of wanting Meth to lose just really shows the intelligence of some people on this forum! What saddens me more is those people accept that this year will be a success if we "avoid relegation" . Please dont ever get into management and if you do, bring your skills to another county as it may help meath going forward! :)"
I think it's still too early to make a judgement on this season yet, 4 more league games to go before we even get to Leinster and Sam.

We've taken 3 points from a possible 6 so far, not world beating stuff but not disastrous either.
This team is young, hard to know where we will go, last 20 minutes of last match was encouraging, mainly due to the fight we showed, but obviously if rest of league goes badly we'll look back at this game differently and wonder was it a case of Louth throwing it away.

I'd like to see us being promoted also but looking at the fact that we've been stuck in division 2 for most of the last 20 years shows for Meath getting to division 1 is always going to be difficult.

Criticism after the first 2 games was fair (although some of it ott) but harsh criticism of the Louth game where we had a comeback win can't really be taken seriously.

COR is our manager for at least the rest of the season, pointless of supporters to focus on constant criticism, give the management a chance to do well.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1361 - 20/02/2024 15:57:53    2527219

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I think it's still too early to make a judgement on this season yet, 4 more league games to go before we even get to Leinster and Sam.

We've taken 3 points from a possible 6 so far, not world beating stuff but not disastrous either.
This team is young, hard to know where we will go, last 20 minutes of last match was encouraging, mainly due to the fight we showed, but obviously if rest of league goes badly we'll look back at this game differently and wonder was it a case of Louth throwing it away.

I'd like to see us being promoted also but looking at the fact that we've been stuck in division 2 for most of the last 20 years shows for Meath getting to division 1 is always going to be difficult.

Criticism after the first 2 games was fair (although some of it ott) but harsh criticism of the Louth game where we had a comeback win can't really be taken seriously.

COR is our manager for at least the rest of the season, pointless of supporters to focus on constant criticism, give the management a chance to do well."
Would tend to agree with that. Yes give Colm achance to "do well". as you say. I suggest to do well means we have to improve. To improve in anything you need to know what needs to be worked on. Well i do know that is what training, and training sessions are all about ,ironing out weaknesses. I am not convinced that is happening. WHY?
I believe if we could concentrate on TRAINING and it objectives much more we would definately see improvement.
We seem to have paralysis by analysis of SYSTEMS of play. THAT IS CART BEFORE THE HORSE in many ways..Keep it simple...get the basis skills right to begin with byTRAINING in the real sense. Take the example why is CLIFFORD so good? Its because he is top notch at the basic skills and that includes attitude which means he is a team player as well He is the full package. The top 3 teams at present could say to the rest . PLAY ANY SYSTEM YE WISH. they will win because they are good enough in the key skills anyway. You need the basic skills right firstly before you can expect a SYSTEM to win for you. You do the building of the house before the painting. For me from here rests largely with improving all key skills that will facilitate a plan or SYSTEM that will demonstate we make the best use of available resourses . I do not want to hear the usual r ubbish about some half baked manager totally upproven at this level who might in time have a good go at it. We have a manager who i have supported to this point. Yes i am wondering what does he think of training sessions and how they are working towards improvement. i dont see training doing its job so far. My punch line is although i question and challenge i support Colm O Rourke 100% untill the agreed time is up.. I always said nobody would be made to measure for the role anyway. Colm openly admiited he would not have all the answers thats fair enough...WHO would from where we have been for years ??

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1228 - 20/02/2024 18:27:09    2527256

Replying To nobull456:  "Would tend to agree with that. Yes give Colm achance to "do well". as you say. I suggest to do well means we have to improve. To improve in anything you need to know what needs to be worked on. Well i do know that is what training, and training sessions are all about ,ironing out weaknesses. I am not convinced that is happening. WHY?
I believe if we could concentrate on TRAINING and it objectives much more we would definately see improvement.
We seem to have paralysis by analysis of SYSTEMS of play. THAT IS CART BEFORE THE HORSE in many ways..Keep it simple...get the basis skills right to begin with byTRAINING in the real sense. Take the example why is CLIFFORD so good? Its because he is top notch at the basic skills and that includes attitude which means he is a team player as well He is the full package. The top 3 teams at present could say to the rest . PLAY ANY SYSTEM YE WISH. they will win because they are good enough in the key skills anyway. You need the basic skills right firstly before you can expect a SYSTEM to win for you. You do the building of the house before the painting. For me from here rests largely with improving all key skills that will facilitate a plan or SYSTEM that will demonstate we make the best use of available resourses . I do not want to hear the usual r ubbish about some half baked manager totally upproven at this level who might in time have a good go at it. We have a manager who i have supported to this point. Yes i am wondering what does he think of training sessions and how they are working towards improvement. i dont see training doing its job so far. My punch line is although i question and challenge i support Colm O Rourke 100% untill the agreed time is up.. I always said nobody would be made to measure for the role anyway. Colm openly admiited he would not have all the answers thats fair enough...WHO would from where we have been for years ??"
I'm not sure I know what you mean, between clubs and development squads the players should be coming to CORs squad with the basic skills in place.
For example the county board are giving workshops to clubs on developing 2 sided youth players.
I think Clifford would have to came to the Kerry senior squad with all his basic football skills in place, with the Kerry senior squad he gets other aspects added to like high level S&C/ team play/ dieticians etc.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1361 - 21/02/2024 08:45:31    2527317

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I'm not sure I know what you mean, between clubs and development squads the players should be coming to CORs squad with the basic skills in place.
For example the county board are giving workshops to clubs on developing 2 sided youth players.
I think Clifford would have to came to the Kerry senior squad with all his basic football skills in place, with the Kerry senior squad he gets other aspects added to like high level S&C/ team play/ dieticians etc."
Where when are these workshops happening??

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 21/02/2024 09:20:46    2527321