Meath Vs Louth. Rd 3.

Replying To Selwyn:  "It's both a big blow and a potential red flag to be fair."
Huge red flag to be fair, if true. One of the few potential star players in the county.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 14/02/2024 13:54:15    2526040

Look leaving everything aside. Sigerson excuses , young team excuses (Monaghan have a younger team and Fermanagh have similar age profiles) , Flynn leaving, very worrying defensive system. Leave all that aside. If players and management can't get up their game and play with passion and pride v louth then we might aswell throw our hat at the whole year. Plenty have given the excuse last year that only for sending off we would have beaten louth. We will never know. But harte is gone I also think a few louth players are missing . So no more lamé excuses. Put in a display that shows we have some game plan and we can compete tactically. If we get beat on Sunday we most likely heading to division 3 and huge rebuilding would have to be done next year (under who I don't know ) but what it would mean is we have become a basket case In football

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2024 13:54:32    2526041

Yes if we lose sunday even the faithful and the lads on here who backed the manager at the beginning will start to lose hope.

Sean boylan when he took the Meath job back in 1983 he was only 43 years of age , he was a young man… we gave him time and it paid off , we gave Mick O Dowd 4 years , Andy McEntee 6 years , I think the ideology behind it give lads more time we will find a another Sean Boylan , people need to remember there is only one Sean Boylan and lighting doesn't strike twice unfortunately!

If we win Sunday I think we could get a bit of a bounce the way the fixtures are set up and I hope we do , the flip of all that we might not win a another game this year if we lose Sunday.

Louth will go to Navan this Sunday and they will want to win , Louth don't care about what kinda manger they have or if a few of there young lads where playing in the Sigerson cup , they don't care if there own fans think they can win all Ireland , they don't care and they will come to Navan with no excuses and will play football .

Do you all get me ? Let's play god dam football and win this game for god sake !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 14/02/2024 14:46:51    2526053

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't think so. Still injured and may be out for all league. I heard that in Armagh. How accurate or not. I do not know"
Oh. I didn't know it was due to injury. Just thought he was still taking time out but I wasn't sure.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 14/02/2024 15:27:45    2526061

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Yes if we lose sunday even the faithful and the lads on here who backed the manager at the beginning will start to lose hope.

Sean boylan when he took the Meath job back in 1983 he was only 43 years of age , he was a young man… we gave him time and it paid off , we gave Mick O Dowd 4 years , Andy McEntee 6 years , I think the ideology behind it give lads more time we will find a another Sean Boylan , people need to remember there is only one Sean Boylan and lighting doesn't strike twice unfortunately!

If we win Sunday I think we could get a bit of a bounce the way the fixtures are set up and I hope we do , the flip of all that we might not win a another game this year if we lose Sunday.

Louth will go to Navan this Sunday and they will want to win , Louth don't care about what kinda manger they have or if a few of there young lads where playing in the Sigerson cup , they don't care if there own fans think they can win all Ireland , they don't care and they will come to Navan with no excuses and will play football .

Do you all get me ? Let's play god dam football and win this game for god sake !"
100% agreed

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2024 16:08:19    2526068

Replying To winatallcost:  "Oh. I didn't know it was due to injury. Just thought he was still taking time out but I wasn't sure."
Again that was what was said to me when heading to loo in Armagh at ht as I had said pity that harnan isn't around. I have no idea how accurate it is. The guy said he's hurt and doubtful you will see him before championship

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2024 16:10:32    2526069

Replying To Crinigan:  "We have become a basket case.

Look at the Junior A relegation fiasco. Despite a relegation playoff being ran that involved a gripping final that went to extra time, county board have decided that no, Ultans won't after all be relegated. You couldn't make it up. Beyond a farce and puts into question the integrity of every relegation match in the future on the county club scene."
I seen that. Yeah things are going from bad to worse.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2024 16:44:45    2526075

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "I didn't mention Andy. This is COR's team, it was a clean slate for all players so whatever they done under Andy means very little now. Costello has credit in the bank under COR, Moriarty doesn't."
What rubbish is this, credit in the bank must be the new catch phrase these days. Moriarty is around the panel for over a year played the league and Tailteann cup, if o'Rourke hasn't seen enough of him at this stage then how is McBride anywhere near the panel as he hasn't played football since he was 17. Moriarty is a fine footballer and exactly what we need. It's a pity Flynn has left the panel but that's his choice,

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 14/02/2024 18:22:22    2526082

Replying To royaldunne:  "Look leaving everything aside. Sigerson excuses , young team excuses (Monaghan have a younger team and Fermanagh have similar age profiles) , Flynn leaving, very worrying defensive system. Leave all that aside. If players and management can't get up their game and play with passion and pride v louth then we might aswell throw our hat at the whole year. Plenty have given the excuse last year that only for sending off we would have beaten louth. We will never know. But harte is gone I also think a few louth players are missing . So no more lamé excuses. Put in a display that shows we have some game plan and we can compete tactically. If we get beat on Sunday we most likely heading to division 3 and huge rebuilding would have to be done next year (under who I don't know ) but what it would mean is we have become a basket case In football"
We have one of the youngest panels in the country, we are.going to be rebuilding still next year and the year after that. Despite what the doomsday merchants say, going down to div 3 wouldn't be the worse thing to happen this group, but we def need different management team, no matter what happens this year.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 14/02/2024 18:48:09    2526088

Replying To southmeathgael:  "We have one of the youngest panels in the country, we are.going to be rebuilding still next year and the year after that. Despite what the doomsday merchants say, going down to div 3 wouldn't be the worse thing to happen this group, but we def need different management team, no matter what happens this year."
I agree we need new management regardless. But I really do think div would be a disaster

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/02/2024 19:05:04    2526092

Very disappointing to hear of Flynn departure lads like him are in short supply. one of our brightest prospects hopefully it's just him going on travels or something

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 14/02/2024 21:56:16    2526119

There's no way of spinning going down to division 3 as a positive these young lads aren't going to commit to it if there's no potential upside for them going forward

Meathfor@life (Meath) - Posts: 68 - 14/02/2024 21:58:39    2526120

Very disappointing to hear Flynn has left the panel.I dont know the reason why if its management then this is a worry but if it's for personal reasons good luck to the lad and hopefully see him back in green again.On the Louth game;we could've won the match last year but for silly sending off and a very poor goal to give away.I hope we have learned from last year not leaving our whole half unmaned it was very poor game management on and off the field.We can beat Louth but I'm very concerned by how many frees we give away as Sam Mulroy will punish us for most of them.We have shown in patches we can play some good stuff so hopefully with the break most lads might be back up to speed.The sending off had a big impact last year louth pushed up on our kickouts and their goalkeeper was in midfield as well and they just broke the ball and won most breaks as they had extra men around.It was a gamble and we nearly caught them once or twice but it worked for them.its a big game win it and we might just see a bounce, lose it then we are in serious trouble.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 15/02/2024 09:29:13    2526152

Spoke to someone who would be in the know during the week about Jack Flynn and no obvious reason why he left. Doesn't appear to be any kind of falling out.

Must be due to personal reasons, could be taking a year out, going travelling etc.. Either way, big loss for Meath, he was definitely key during the TC last year

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 208 - 15/02/2024 10:09:27    2526156

Replying To hyperache:  "Spoke to someone who would be in the know during the week about Jack Flynn and no obvious reason why he left. Doesn't appear to be any kind of falling out.

Must be due to personal reasons, could be taking a year out, going travelling etc.. Either way, big loss for Meath, he was definitely key during the TC last year"

Jack is not an isolated case . Meath are becoming another county where the team fielded is in reality the real 3rd or 4th team. Not easy for County Board to resolve .

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 15/02/2024 12:35:32    2526185

Replying To Ashrules:  "Jack is not an isolated case . Meath are becoming another county where the team fielded is in reality the real 3rd or 4th team. Not easy for County Board to resolve ."
3rd or 4th team!! Will ye go way out of that. There is probably 4 or 5 players max not on the panel that would make the team better and even at that its debatable so there is certainly not 30 or more players. A nonsense post .

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 15/02/2024 12:56:54    2526188

Replying To Ashrules:  "
Jack is not an isolated case . Meath are becoming another county where the team fielded is in reality the real 3rd or 4th team. Not easy for County Board to resolve ."
Calling bullcrap on this one

Awaywin (Meath) - Posts: 100 - 15/02/2024 13:17:52    2526192

Replying To Meathfor@life:  "There's no way of spinning going down to division 3 as a positive these young lads aren't going to commit to it if there's no potential upside for them going forward"
Not a possitive, but certainly not the worst thing in the world either.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 891 - 15/02/2024 13:59:26    2526200

Replying To Ashrules:  "
Jack is not an isolated case . Meath are becoming another county where the team fielded is in reality the real 3rd or 4th team. Not easy for County Board to resolve ."
Just like with the anti Andy brigade on here who were spouting horse manure about best players not on panel. I can't agree with this statement. Apart from 3 nailed on starters (moriarty who is on panel. Flynn who just left and McGill who won't play under this set up). the best available is there. The only other one that comes to mind is Shane mcentee who could do a job at 6 considering our current situation in that position. But he himself has taken time away. We can criticise Colm's management and game management plenty but to say he hasn't the best of what is available is just not right imo.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2024 14:05:14    2526202

Replying To hyperache:  "Spoke to someone who would be in the know during the week about Jack Flynn and no obvious reason why he left. Doesn't appear to be any kind of falling out.

Must be due to personal reasons, could be taking a year out, going travelling etc.. Either way, big loss for Meath, he was definitely key during the TC last year"
Hopefully that's all as if it's similar to McGill then we would have a problem. My only sort of worry is why now ? Why not preseason? Why wait until just before 3rd league match of year ??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/02/2024 14:06:56    2526204