Clubs Competitions Schedule 2024

Football Cups commence w/e 16th February, Finals 2nd April.

TownJohnT (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 31/01/2024 17:16:41    2523556

Hurling League Rd1 19th April, Finals 4th July.
Football League Rd1 14th March, Finals 29th July.

TownJohnT (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 31/01/2024 17:19:42    2523557

Hurling Championship starts on 11th July.
Football Championship starts 8th August.

TownJohnT (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 31/01/2024 17:21:49    2523558

Replying To Rickoshay:  "The cups are not knock out so likely there will be 3 games. Problem is hurling league not starting until April. Also there are football league fixtures in between the 1st and 2nd round of the hurling championship. This traditionally a football county is some muck to throw out when we haven't been competitive at football for over 20 years."
Is it not better to play hurling matches when the pitch are drier and harder (even more so than football). And is Hurling championship not every 2 weeks? What's the issue with having football league in the weekend between that?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1465 - 31/01/2024 17:38:00    2523567

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Is it not better to play hurling matches when the pitch are drier and harder (even more so than football). And is Hurling championship not every 2 weeks? What's the issue with having football league in the weekend between that?"
The Football League is every weekend (odd Thursday match and some spill over space during the week). Not sure what fixtures planner, others were looking at.

TownJohnT (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 01/02/2024 08:20:31    2523613

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Is it not better to play hurling matches when the pitch are drier and harder (even more so than football). And is Hurling championship not every 2 weeks? What's the issue with having football league in the weekend between that?"
Hurling is 3 weeks in a row before football championship commences. The football league semi finals and finals are fixed in between the 1st and 2nd round of the hurling championship. The dual player is finished.

Rickoshay (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 01/02/2024 17:19:59    2523723

Replying To Rickoshay:  "Hurling is 3 weeks in a row before football championship commences. The football league semi finals and finals are fixed in between the 1st and 2nd round of the hurling championship. The dual player is finished."
They know exactly what they are doing fixing those games at these times, the number of dual players will continue to drop if this is let continue. But its clear that is the policy now.
The reform of the hurling championships which was sold as helping the standard of hurling was recently outed also as just a way of getting rid of weeknds for hurling and among other things free up more weeknds for football ,as if there is not enough already , thankfully most hurling clubs have now seen through this for what it is.
This is a football county and always will be , but constant hurdles for lads wanting to play small ball also is have the desired effect.

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 02/02/2024 09:34:43    2523792

Replying To hurlit:  "They know exactly what they are doing fixing those games at these times, the number of dual players will continue to drop if this is let continue. But its clear that is the policy now.
The reform of the hurling championships which was sold as helping the standard of hurling was recently outed also as just a way of getting rid of weeknds for hurling and among other things free up more weeknds for football ,as if there is not enough already , thankfully most hurling clubs have now seen through this for what it is.
This is a football county and always will be , but constant hurdles for lads wanting to play small ball also is have the desired effect."
I assume you are not saying we need to clear football out of june and july to allow a massive long hurling group stage, with nothing else allowed to be played. If ye want to keep it as 12 senior hurling teams in Meath and groups of 6, even though its not working, fair enough but are you telling us we have to stop football being played to allow that?

Football did their reforms over a few years. I honestly dont get why both codes shouldnt be the same strucutres tbh

Goldback (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 02/02/2024 12:23:34    2523833

Replying To Goldback:  "I assume you are not saying we need to clear football out of june and july to allow a massive long hurling group stage, with nothing else allowed to be played. If ye want to keep it as 12 senior hurling teams in Meath and groups of 6, even though its not working, fair enough but are you telling us we have to stop football being played to allow that?

Football did their reforms over a few years. I honestly dont get why both codes shouldnt be the same strucutres tbh"
No thats not what im saying at all.
Hurling championship needs reform and the clubs were on board with that as all can see there is a issue , but there is more to it than that.
If you want both codes to have same structures are you suggesting hurling league goes to 12 rounds like football?

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 02/02/2024 13:38:28    2523855

Replying To hurlit:  "No thats not what im saying at all.
Hurling championship needs reform and the clubs were on board with that as all can see there is a issue , but there is more to it than that.
If you want both codes to have same structures are you suggesting hurling league goes to 12 rounds like football?"
Why not? Same league, same championship. Everyone the same number of league and championship games

Problem with having loads of championship games is that it turns it into a round of challenges and nothing else allowed around it

Goldback (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 02/02/2024 14:05:34    2523860

Replying To hurlit:  "No thats not what im saying at all.
If you want both codes to have same structures are you suggesting hurling league goes to 12 rounds like football?"
I've said it before and I'll say it again here now, Football Leagues need to come down to 10 team, with only 9 rounds of games. If they want, do a semi final with 2nd v 3rd playing 1st in the league final. But this way football leagues are done by mid June att he absolute latest, give clubs 4-6 weeks prep for championship and organize challenge games if they wish, and also cuts the clash with Hurling in July

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 02/02/2024 14:23:38    2523864

Replying To ratlag:  "I've said it before and I'll say it again here now, Football Leagues need to come down to 10 team, with only 9 rounds of games. If they want, do a semi final with 2nd v 3rd playing 1st in the league final. But this way football leagues are done by mid June att he absolute latest, give clubs 4-6 weeks prep for championship and organize challenge games if they wish, and also cuts the clash with Hurling in July"
There is league Semi finals this year.

Also do clubs really want 4/6 weeks from the last league game to the first championship game ? 3 Weeks from last league game to first championship game is ideal IMO. The middle of june to end of July some of the best weather to be playing football and you want to have no competitive football ? They did that last year and most players and managers didn't like it.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 02/02/2024 14:47:58    2523868

Replying To Blackspot09:  "There is league Semi finals this year.

Also do clubs really want 4/6 weeks from the last league game to the first championship game ? 3 Weeks from last league game to first championship game is ideal IMO. The middle of june to end of July some of the best weather to be playing football and you want to have no competitive football ? They did that last year and most players and managers didn't like it."
Then start the football later in the year and give kore time off after xmas. The idea here is so that Dual players aren't being flogged and teams have plenty of time to organize challenge games etc if they want so they won't exactly be sitting idle. Most teams would be glad of a 3-4 week break from league finals until championship to re-organize, train as a group and get set for the first round. Obviously not everyone will agree with me, the same was as not everyone agrees with the current format/structure. The funny thing is that the lower leagues are cut down to about 10 teams so why should those players be treated any different to the Div 1A-2B teams?

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 02/02/2024 15:15:01    2523875

Replying To ratlag:  "Then start the football later in the year and give kore time off after xmas. The idea here is so that Dual players aren't being flogged and teams have plenty of time to organize challenge games etc if they want so they won't exactly be sitting idle. Most teams would be glad of a 3-4 week break from league finals until championship to re-organize, train as a group and get set for the first round. Obviously not everyone will agree with me, the same was as not everyone agrees with the current format/structure. The funny thing is that the lower leagues are cut down to about 10 teams so why should those players be treated any different to the Div 1A-2B teams?"
More time off over Xmas ??

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 02/02/2024 16:04:39    2523883

Well done to the fixtures committee on including the days of the week in the schedule this year. Hopefully it'll stay like that as it gives lads more clarity. Last couple of years they ( I know it was a different committee) switched it after a couple of weeks to all midweek which was a mess for dual clubs.

royal11 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 02/02/2024 17:34:47    2523903

Anyone else think the fixtures planned for 2pm on.a Saturday is a total shambles

Ba7 (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 09/02/2024 10:14:24    2525199

Replying To Ba7:  "Anyone else think the fixtures planned for 2pm on.a Saturday is a total shambles"
Better than 7pm on a Tuesday after bank holiday weekends.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 09/02/2024 10:45:08    2525204

Replying To Ba7:  "Anyone else think the fixtures planned for 2pm on.a Saturday is a total shambles"
No matter what time they fixed games for you will have people giving out. It's an impossible job to please everyone. What time would you suggest ?

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 09/02/2024 10:50:14    2525207

Replying To Blackspot09:  "No matter what time they fixed games for you will have people giving out. It's an impossible job to please everyone. What time would you suggest ?"
Do you not think Saturday at 2pm that lads would be working Saturday eve or Sunday morning would be more practible

Ba7 (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 09/02/2024 12:00:23    2525219

I think using the word shambles is a bit far fetched. You have to remember that some clubs requested this and one of the big blockers for fixtures is refs but don't think this is at play next week. if you think its a shambles then id love to see your proposal. I look forward to seeing it posted and if you don't then don't be so critical. If there was a stag I'm sure lads wouldn't have an issue of heading off at 2pm.

199710 (Meath) - Posts: 120 - 09/02/2024 12:38:06    2525224