Meath 20'S

Any news on Meath 20 set up & panel apart from management . Anyone new coming through that maybe could go on to play senior level intercount

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/02/2022 12:27:52    2397918

Haven't heard anything and not sure are these guys all on the panel but I'll throw a team out there. There are 3 Wolfe Tones guys here that weren't prominent at county minor but I think are still young enough to play under 20's but maybe somebody else can confirm. They are playing Dublin in the league on the 19th I think so we'll find out more then. I'll throw out a team that I wold be excited to see.

1. Billy Hogan

2. Liam Kelly
3. Adam O'Neill
4. Ben Donnelly

5. Ciaran Caulfield
6. Aaron Chinchilla
7. Adam McDonnell

8. Josh Carolan
9. Conor Gray

10. Sean Emmanuel
11. Niall Finnerty
12. Oisin Martyn

13. David Bell
14. Eoghan Frayne
15. Diarmuid Moriarty

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 02/02/2022 13:30:22    2397947

Replying To Bear10:  "Any news on Meath 20 set up & panel apart from management . Anyone new coming through that maybe could go on to play senior level intercount"
yea..loads...in about 2025/2026...christ lads....do we not realise how hard the transition is To Quality senior Inter County?

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 02/02/2022 13:41:41    2397950

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Haven't heard anything and not sure are these guys all on the panel but I'll throw a team out there. There are 3 Wolfe Tones guys here that weren't prominent at county minor but I think are still young enough to play under 20's but maybe somebody else can confirm. They are playing Dublin in the league on the 19th I think so we'll find out more then. I'll throw out a team that I wold be excited to see.

1. Billy Hogan

2. Liam Kelly
3. Adam O'Neill
4. Ben Donnelly

5. Ciaran Caulfield
6. Aaron Chinchilla
7. Adam McDonnell

8. Josh Carolan
9. Conor Gray

10. Sean Emmanuel
11. Niall Finnerty
12. Oisin Martyn

13. David Bell
14. Eoghan Frayne
15. Diarmuid Moriarty"
Looks impressive side , I think that young Moriarty lad going to be good along with O Neill from tones . Emmanuel would be a midfielder I would imagine . What club is Josh Carolan from ?

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/02/2022 15:34:13    2397980

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "yea..loads...in about 2025/2026...christ lads....do we not realise how hard the transition is To Quality senior Inter County?"
We do , but we always having to be looking to the future & hoping 2 or 3 might make senior IC

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 02/02/2022 15:36:22    2397981

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "yea..loads...in about 2025/2026...christ lads....do we not realise how hard the transition is To Quality senior Inter County?"
Agreed patience is required. Unless you're an absolute freak talent or coming into a really talented senior team you won't be pulling up trees. Offaly won the all Ireland under 20's last year and I think only 3 of those players are starting now and they lost to Clare by 9 at the weekend. The step up to being a top county senior players is a massive one. But one step at a time. We failed the 2017&18 Leinster 17's winning teams with awful circumstances regarding late managerial appointments at under 20's in 2020&21. We are being given a chance to redeem it by looking after the 2020&21 Leinster minor winners. Let's not squander it. If you can bring top talents through a great set up all the way to under 20 then you've a much better chance at making them good seniors even if it takes a further 2-3 years for them to fully find their feet.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 02/02/2022 15:53:04    2397984

Replying To Bear10:  "Looks impressive side , I think that young Moriarty lad going to be good along with O Neill from tones . Emmanuel would be a midfielder I would imagine . What club is Josh Carolan from ?"
Josh Carolan is Simonstown

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 02/02/2022 17:34:19    2398008

Replying To Bear10:  "Looks impressive side , I think that young Moriarty lad going to be good along with O Neill from tones . Emmanuel would be a midfielder I would imagine . What club is Josh Carolan from ?"
Carolan is Simonstown has started senior for them the past 2 seasons. Emmanuel played at 11 at his own age of minor. And he would be playing 2 years above his age so I think he'd have a bit bit more freedom and less pressure to be a primary kickout option as a wing forward so that's why I had him there

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 02/02/2022 18:42:40    2398020

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Carolan is Simonstown has started senior for them the past 2 seasons. Emmanuel played at 11 at his own age of minor. And he would be playing 2 years above his age so I think he'd have a bit bit more freedom and less pressure to be a primary kickout option as a wing forward so that's why I had him there"
Good stuff re Carolan . Is he a midfielder for Simonstown ? Saw Emmanuel play under 20 for his club , big & strong and agile ( must be ( 6-3) no problem throwing him into the middle Looking forward to see how Frayne gets on

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 03/02/2022 11:00:52    2398069

Replying To Bear10:  "Good stuff re Carolan . Is he a midfielder for Simonstown ? Saw Emmanuel play under 20 for his club , big & strong and agile ( must be ( 6-3) no problem throwing him into the middle Looking forward to see how Frayne gets on"
He'd have been midfield underage upwards. Think his first year at senior he was playing corner back, played half forward during 21 i think.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/02/2022 11:42:52    2398088

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Haven't heard anything and not sure are these guys all on the panel but I'll throw a team out there. There are 3 Wolfe Tones guys here that weren't prominent at county minor but I think are still young enough to play under 20's but maybe somebody else can confirm. They are playing Dublin in the league on the 19th I think so we'll find out more then. I'll throw out a team that I wold be excited to see.

1. Billy Hogan

2. Liam Kelly
3. Adam O'Neill
4. Ben Donnelly

5. Ciaran Caulfield
6. Aaron Chinchilla
7. Adam McDonnell

8. Josh Carolan
9. Conor Gray

10. Sean Emmanuel
11. Niall Finnerty
12. Oisin Martyn

13. David Bell
14. Eoghan Frayne
15. Diarmuid Moriarty"
Any Ballinabrackey lads involved? Best team in the club competition last year and thought they had several players underage again.

summerof09 (Meath) - Posts: 315 - 03/02/2022 12:04:52    2398091

Replying To summerof09:  "Any Ballinabrackey lads involved? Best team in the club competition last year and thought they had several players underage again."
Dean Pluck will probably be on the panel. He's unlucky but I think Billy Hogan is a superb keeper. Barry Thompson is probably on it and could see game time and I'd say Mark Coffey and Conor Ennis are on the panel. If everybody who can play has committed there should be good depth on this panel.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 03/02/2022 13:57:49    2398127

Replying To summerof09:  "Any Ballinabrackey lads involved? Best team in the club competition last year and thought they had several players underage again."
Ye they must have a few players capable as reached final of Divison 1

But surprised to see nobody on from some large town teams like Dunboyne , Ashbourne , Kells or O Mahoneys

Some other senior clubs also , Moynalvey , Na Fianna and Seneschalstown have no reps

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 03/02/2022 14:03:37    2398128

Replying To Bear10:  "Ye they must have a few players capable as reached final of Divison 1

But surprised to see nobody on from some large town teams like Dunboyne , Ashbourne , Kells or O Mahoneys

Some other senior clubs also , Moynalvey , Na Fianna and Seneschalstown have no reps"
Dont get enuf modern training in kells lol

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 03/02/2022 19:31:52    2398216

1. Billy Hogan

2. Liam Kelly
3. Adam O'Neill
4. Ben Donnelly

5. Ciaran Caulfield
6. Aaron Chinchilla
7. Adam McDonnell

8. Josh Carolan
9. Conor Gray

10. Sean Emmanuel
11. Niall Finnerty
12. Oisin Martyn

13. David Bell
14. Eoghan Frayne
15. Diarmuid Moriarty"
It's tough trying to figure out what management might be thinking as they are seeing them all the time but if I was to hazard a guess, I would say the seven players you have numbered 1,5,7,9,13,14 & 15 would be probables,(I would be confident enough putting a fiver on them in PP to make the team), four others possibles and four others doubtful (one of those four I never even heard of but maybe I just missed seeing him).
But at that age some players are only coming good and as we all know some people don't shine till senior, so to all that don't make it, don't give up.
I would imagine it must be hard in a week like this after the seniors doing so bad in Galway for John McCarthy and his management to motivate these U20's to give the massive commitment it takes at that level.
I didn't put numbers on the possibles or the doubtful as it is not fair (some on the under 20 panel are still juveniles).
It will be interesting to see how they get on as it appears as of now the John will have a full hand and that Andy Won't be taking any of them, not like last year.
Because of expectations (maybe unrealistic) there will be a bit of pressure on John, Sean Kelly & Colm Coyle to get a decent run in Leinster based on recent Minor successes.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 03/02/2022 19:49:07    2398219

If you're good enough, you're old enough. Not suggesting we fast track them all but the likes of Eoghan Frayne, Sean Emmanuel are more than good enough to be involved somewhere in the senior panel. David Clifford made his Kerry debut at what 19? I know he's a freak, but I'd be far more open to bringing through some youth rather than persisting with the same old players

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 208 - 03/02/2022 21:33:28    2398237

Didn't Dunshaughlin win the final?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 03/02/2022 21:44:26    2398239

Replying To Meathball:  "It's tough trying to figure out what management might be thinking as they are seeing them all the time but if I was to hazard a guess, I would say the seven players you have numbered 1,5,7,9,13,14 & 15 would be probables,(I would be confident enough putting a fiver on them in PP to make the team), four others possibles and four others doubtful (one of those four I never even heard of but maybe I just missed seeing him).
But at that age some players are only coming good and as we all know some people don't shine till senior, so to all that don't make it, don't give up.
I would imagine it must be hard in a week like this after the seniors doing so bad in Galway for John McCarthy and his management to motivate these U20's to give the massive commitment it takes at that level.
I didn't put numbers on the possibles or the doubtful as it is not fair (some on the under 20 panel are still juveniles).
It will be interesting to see how they get on as it appears as of now the John will have a full hand and that Andy Won't be taking any of them, not like last year.
Because of expectations (maybe unrealistic) there will be a bit of pressure on John, Sean Kelly & Colm Coyle to get a decent run in Leinster based on recent Minor successes."
Everybody I named on that list started for Meath minor teams with the exceptions of Adam O'Neill and Oisin Martyn who both won a Keegan cup last year so hardly no names. The draw is made. We've a quarter final I think at home to Wexford or Longford on the 14th April. And then if we win that it'd be most likely Dublin in Parnell Park. I've never seen us win in Parnell park at any level so it'll tough but I think on paper we've a better team than Dublin. Also great that there's been no noise about the 20's. Just a great coach and a very good manager appointed early and going to work. Let's hope this is the year we can crack this age

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 04/02/2022 11:15:21    2398283

Replying To hyperache:  "If you're good enough, you're old enough. Not suggesting we fast track them all but the likes of Eoghan Frayne, Sean Emmanuel are more than good enough to be involved somewhere in the senior panel. David Clifford made his Kerry debut at what 19? I know he's a freak, but I'd be far more open to bringing through some youth rather than persisting with the same old players"
stick with your analysis of Clifford as a "freak"...same with Ciaran Kilkenny and many other singular examples across the various counties... My point was made in reference to a slew of u20s, so i agree totally with you...that there may be 2, or 3 of those successful underage squads who are "freaks" ......but first we have to identify which ones...then see is it in their best interests to introduce them into the Senior panel
take for example Shane Walsh....anyone who knows of this kid...knows the workload that this kid has been under since he was lacing boots......so...he finished minor/20...and straight into Senior...this kid hasn't stopped...bar injury...since he was 14/15.....AND...his history was showing that he was starting to struggle with niggles....before he came into senior....teh whole thing is uncordinated id argue....there is & has been no vision of a long term player profile, linking into a Squad profile..since SB did it in the 1980s/1990s . ....and that was because Sean had great instinct for these things ...but also , cared about players . ...for various reasons ...i haven't seen a manger since Eamonn O Brien...who has cared more about Players , Squad & Meath , than himself

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 04/02/2022 14:45:01    2398310

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Everybody I named on that list started for Meath minor teams with the exceptions of Adam O'Neill and Oisin Martyn who both won a Keegan cup last year so hardly no names. The draw is made. We've a quarter final I think at home to Wexford or Longford on the 14th April. And then if we win that it'd be most likely Dublin in Parnell Park. I've never seen us win in Parnell park at any level so it'll tough but I think on paper we've a better team than Dublin. Also great that there's been no noise about the 20's. Just a great coach and a very good manager appointed early and going to work. Let's hope this is the year we can crack this age"
I think both O'Neill and Martin are overage this year

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 04/02/2022 21:23:17    2398360