HS hurling team of the week

January 27, 2020

Hurls at the ready before the Allianz HL Division 1 clash between Clare and Carlow.

Eight counties have representatves on our first hurling team of the week for 2020…


1. Barry Hennessy (Limerick)

The Limerick netminder had to be at his best to deny Jake Morris a goal in the 17th minute at Semple Stadium.

2. Darren Morrissey (Galway)

Morrissey and his defensive colleagues restricted Westmeath to just two points from play in Salthill.

3. Damien Cahalane (Cork)

Cahalane was positioned in the half-back line against Waterford and roamed forward to register three points.

4. Ciaran Wallace (Kilkenny)

Wallace and the Cats issued a statement of intent with a 12-point demolition of Dublin on home turf.

5. Iarlaith Daly (Waterford)

One of four debutants in the Deise’s starting 15, Daly rewarded Liam Cahill’s faith in him with a solid display.

6. Paddy Deegan (Kilkenny)

Dublin captain Danny Sutcliffe won’t recall being marked by Deegan too kindly.

7. Barry Nash (Limerick)

Nash battled gamely throughout the first-half and his efforts were rewarded with that Lazarus-like comeback after the break.

8. Tony Kelly (Clare)

The former Hurler of the Year enjoyed himself against Carlow, pick-pocketing the Barrowsiders to the tune of 0-12 (five from play).

9. Tadhg Haran (Galway)

The hard-working midfielder sent over six points as Galway eased to a 17-point success over 14-man Westmeath.

10. John McGrath (Tipperary)

McGrath made the score sheet with three points but was powerless to stem Limerick’s second-half tide.

11. Jason Forde (Tipperary)

The Silvermines star was his team’s go-to-man in the opening 35 minutes at Semple Stadium and finished the contest with a double digit haul of 0-10.

12. David Dempsey (Limerick)

Dempsey kept the Premier County’s defence honest throughout and contributed 0-3 to his side’s winning tally of 2-14.

13. Patrick Curran (Waterford)

Waterford supporters will be hoping that Curran can continue the rich vein of form which saw him score 1-3 against Cork.

14. Conor McDonald (Wexford)

Wexford made light work of Laois in O’Moore Park and McDonald was in the thick of the action throughout, scoring 1-3.

15. Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

The accurate full-forward took the scoring honours for the Deise with an impressive 0-11 (four from play).



Most Read Stories