Kildare Forum

Popular Posts from if_in_doubt

Meath V Dublin - 19 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Poster on here having digs at someone about bringing family into posts. Just to clear up my post, go to NFL Div2 dated 13th June, page9, regarding someone seeing end of Kildare v Meath match. I think it's explains all. Now if my post mentions family tell me where."
The same poster was backed into a corner to apologise for accusing another poster of having multiple usernames and not being who they said they were only a few months ago. Wouldn't take any notice of it at this stage as there's definitely a bit of a boy who cried wolf about it when it comes to these accusations.

if_in_doubt (National) - 08/07/2021 11:27:52

Kildare V Meath - 11 Like(s)
How come Biggy wasn't playing?

if_in_doubt (National) - 17/06/2017 21:00:14

Dubs V Mayo - 9 Like(s)
Spare a thought for the poor Croke Park cleaners who'll have to clean the dressing rooms themselves this year.

if_in_doubt (National) - 14/08/2021 22:43:51

The pinnacle of cute Kerry h***r*sm - 8 Like(s)

Replying To TheHermit:  "To take one prominent example, DCU's sports academy was kitted out at mine and other tax payers expense for the benefit of Dublin GAA inter-county teams. Unlike Dublin, Kerry is not receiving bucket loads of handouts from Croke Park, the Irish Sports Council or 10-20 major sponsors every year. We have to fundraise to build our facilities, like our new centre of excellence or this sports academy in the IT in Tralee. So really I can't understand the issue with coming across an optional invite to a dinner of a legendary figure in the GAA to benefit a project in his native county!! If you paid taxes in the Republic (I'm unsure if you do or not as I see you are from Fermanagh), you would have funded a sports academy to benefit the Dublin GAA. But your concerned about seeing an advertisement giving you the option of supporting something for another county or not? Regardless, let's just cue up the usual Kerry bashing ..."
What are your thoughts on the €7,500,000 awarded to IT Tralee for the same academy that Kerry GAA are developing and contributing to? The facilities in DCU are open to all elite level athletes studying in the college and have close links with Sport Ireland and the Institute of Sport in Abbotsown (ie it's not just DCU students that use them and certainly not just Dublin GAA), all sports scholarship students also get to use these same facilities. Considering IT Tralee received significant funding in last years sports capital grants (the only "other sports capital allocation" made in 2017), I'm sure you'll either retract your statement above about Kerry not receiving bucket loads in handouts from the sports council or you'll be just as upset that my taxes are funding a sports academy to benefit Kerry GAA as you were over your own taxes funding one that benefited Dublin. That's €7,500,000 on top of the €1,000,000 provided by both the GAA itself and the Munster Council. Hawkfield cost the Kildare board just under €4,000,000 as far as I'm aware and the Garvaghey Centre cost Tyrone close to £7,000,000 so it'll be interesting to see how impressive the facilities in IT Tralee are once it's complete.

if_in_doubt (National) - 17/01/2018 14:10:09

All Ireland Final Referee Named - 6 Like(s)
I heard he once refereed a match in Parnell Park. Dublin weren't playing but suspicious nonetheless. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts:9906 - 31/08/2016 Dublin playing a match in Parnell Park would have been even more suspicious...

if_in_doubt (National) - 31/08/2016 16:17:06

MONEY - 6 Like(s)
Top story on main page; Players Missing Work Over Online Abuse. Top thread on main forum; Prove to us you lay bricks 12 hours a day or spend all day on a farm or you'll be abused. Great stuff all round lads...

if_in_doubt (National) - 24/09/2019 13:05:11

Armagh Vs Galway - 6 Like(s)
Not shown on the tv footage but if that Galway player connected with the right hook he deserves an All Star...

if_in_doubt (National) - 26/06/2022 19:57:55

If you could have three wishes from the GAA? - 6 Like(s)
Anna Geary Sinead Goldrick Ashling Thompson

if_in_doubt (National) - 21/08/2016 12:31:29

Female Coaches within the Intercounty Scene. - 6 Like(s)
Surly if they won't let females mange miners, how can females have any hope of manging adults? Dee (Laois) - Posts:303 - 19/10/2017 17:17:30 Well Thatcher set a bad precedent there in fairness...

if_in_doubt (National) - 19/10/2017 21:41:06

Kildare V Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To kildare73:  "I think we have your thoughts on it by now Jimbo. Time to let it go. You plainly don't agree with the stance we took but don't really want to come out and say it. We fought for the decision, are proud of the outcome, we own it whatever happens. Mayo were favourites before any of it, still are. But the victory Kildare had this week won't be forgotten regardless. I'm sure there will be plenty of keyboard warriors hovering over their laptops on Saturday evening to trot out their prepared script telling us how wrong we were to insist on Newbridge should we loose. Not all victories are won on football pitches though. Might do a couple on here no harm to remember that."
I've seen and heard plenty of people say that Kildare might have won the battle but Mayo will win the war when they beat us on Saturday. Personally I'd say it's the other way round. Chances are Mayo would be beating us if the game was played in Cian O'Neills back garden. For years fans of all counties have been giving out about the GAA and some of the decisions they make. Messing around with age grades, keeping the top tier of hurling a closed shop, poor fixture planning, favouring some counties over others, inconsistencies in the rule book, the Sky deal, ticket prices and much, much more. But how many county boards or fans stood up to them? Or tried to make their voices heard in standing up for what they believed in? Kildare; the county board, team management and the fans did just that. Hopefully others see that you don't always have to toe the line and that there are times when smaller counties can stand up and be counted. That's the war that's there to be fought. The match on Saturday is just a small battle. Yet no doubt certain columnists are already getting ready to stick the boot into us in Sunday's papers. Each of them sticking to same HQ approved script. Kildare; bad. Counties who bend over and do what they're told; good.

if_in_doubt (National) - 28/06/2018 19:40:56

Should the GAA consider setting up a radio station - 5 Like(s)
Radio GAA GAA

if_in_doubt (National) - 10/11/2016 22:36:01

Dublin v Kildare - 5 Like(s)
After reading that it's probably not worth our while turning up. And as for your last comment - how patronising can you get! jimski (Kildare) - Posts:294 - 08/07/2017 Ah won't it be nice for us to have a day out in the city and off the farm anyways? Sure there'll be plenty of time for us to foot turf later in the summer once the football is all over with...

if_in_doubt (National) - 08/07/2017 14:12:29

Kildare V Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To PK57:  "As others have said, i do expect Kildare to fulfill the fixture in Croke Park, and if they do, they are making a show of themselves, and in particular Cian O'Neill."
Depends if it's the senior team or 15 lads called down from the Hogan Stand by O'Neill 5 minutes before throw in though no? I'd happily take any punishment that comes our way for failing to fulfil this fixture; no competitive games next year, demotion to the league, whatever. I've a feeling holding firm on this will get fans behind the players and management more than any run to the Super 8's would have done.

if_in_doubt (National) - 26/06/2018 11:52:05

Dublin v Kildare - 4 Like(s)
Has anybody blamed our warm up for our poor performance yet? It was very hot yesterday so it was.

if_in_doubt (National) - 17/07/2017 12:30:57

Non-Gaa Forum - 4 Like(s)
To be honest I don't see why there's a need to run down the standard of the women's team or to compare them to any men's team. They've qualified for their first ever World Cup. There's maybe 2 genuinely world class players in our squad, along with girls playing here in Ireland training maybe 3 times a week as amateurs mixed in with a few professionals / semi-professionals from other leagues. There was over 2,000 people at a watch party yesterday on the sports campus. There's 1000's of people travelling around Australia to support them. There's plenty of people bemoaning the lack of merchandise or flags, banners, bunting available to buy in shops. As a lot of the players have said themselves, they're trying to inspire the next generation and to give them something to aspire to. They're certainly going the right way about it I feel. None of these girls were afforded anywhere near the same level of coaching boys the same age would have had growing up and there's little to no infrastructure there to support them compared to what male players get at underage level here in Ireland. Compare any female sports to their male equivalent and the standard will look poor. Take track and field events or swimming for example, the top female athletes are doing well to get within 90% of male performance levels at the very top of the sport. An underage boys team would beat the women's team currently at the World Cup. So what? Any decent intercounty minor football or hurling team would hammer a senior intercounty camogie or ladies football team as well. Yet we don't have people going out of their way to run down the likes of Cork, Kilkenny, Galway, Meath or Dublin come the camogie or ladies football finals. An underage boy's rugby team would absolutely murder our senior women's 15s as well just like any decent amateur male boxed would batter Kelly Harrington. Don't like the sports? Fair enough. Don't want to watch them? No bother. But why men feel the need to run down a team competing in their first World Cup, and seem to be trying to outdo each other in how vocal they are about not liking, or caring about it just seems completely baffling to me.

if_in_doubt (National) - 21/07/2023 21:52:45

Kildare V Mayo - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Paddy power now has odds of Kildare mayo in newbridge at 1/5 so hopefully there is something in that and the game is changed back to where it was supposed to be played"
8/1 for Mayo to tog out in Croker while Kildare tog out in Newbridge. County Board should lump on and use the winning to do up Conleths. Everyone's a winner.

if_in_doubt (National) - 26/06/2018 22:14:34

Kildare V Mayo - 4 Like(s)
Fair play to O'Neill and the County Board. Excellent statement. Best of luck to Mayo in round 4, they could probably do with the week off too. #newbridgeornowhere

if_in_doubt (National) - 25/06/2018 19:09:54

Poor state of football in rural Ireland - 4 Like(s)
Don't see why Kildare and Meath should be lumped in with rural Ireland. Newbridge, Naas and Navan are well within the commuter belt at this stage and most of north Kildare and south-east Meath is Dublin as it is anyways. So thanks to Kildare, Meath and Dublin (I'd nearly include Wicklow and Louth as well due the proximity of Bray, Greystones and Drogheda to the big city lights) football in urban Ireland is in flying form. What's going wrong with the rest of ye? Seriously though Kildare and Meath are already lost at this stage - there's even disco's on a weeknight in Maynooth. Won't somebody please think of the children? Admittedly being close to the capital has its advantages. Although with the lure of the dark side and all the trappings the life of an urban socialite offers, it's understandable that many young heads are swayed away from the GAA, mass and fishing and whatnot. Yes we'll leave the fishing to some of the rural folk alright… Romantic Ireland's dead and gone, well within the Pale anyways. It's up to the you the non-corrupted to save yourselves from what us unfortunate few have become. Listen to your elders; the publicans, the ones who believe in drink driving and the gods of Zeus and Thor (or whichever one controls the weather). Save yourselves, beware such evils as foreign sports, social lives, the rhododendrons and advanced learning, give up all distractions to focus solely on GAA so that rural Ireland can rise once more.

if_in_doubt (National) - 20/03/2017 12:26:55

Leinster Football Semi Finals 2022 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bdbuddah:  "It's kind of funny hearing Kildare talking about how easy they won the league match against us last year, ignoring the fact that their goalie had to pull off a point blank save right at the end which would have tied up the match."
Goalkeeper involved in pulling off save shocker...

if_in_doubt (National) - 08/05/2022 10:41:39

The Mayo Hype Machine Is Back Boys And Girls. - 4 Like(s)
Aidan O'Shea must have obviously stopped signing autographs and posing for photo's with kids for Bernard Flynn to be giving Mayo a chance. You'd hope for his own sake that at least his family take what he says seriously...

if_in_doubt (National) - 05/02/2019 21:45:54