Six Camogie All-Star awards for All-Ireland champions Kilkenny

March 06, 2021

Kilkenny's Denise Gaule celebrates after scoring a goal against Galway. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

All-Ireland Senior champions Kilkenny dominate the 2020 Camogie All-Stars team sponsored by Liberty Insurance, taking six places on this year’s selection announced by Killian Whelan during a maiden virtual event on Saturday March 6th.

All-Ireland runners-up Galway received two awards, with Tipperary and Cork receiving three awards each and Waterford completing the line-up with one award.

Amongst the winners for the champions were full-back Claire Phelan, left half-back Davina Tobin, midfield Grace Walsh, left half-forward Denise Gaule, full-forward Miriam Walsh and left corner-forward Anne Dalton.

All-Ireland runners-up Galway are represented with right corner-back Shauna Healy and right corner-forward Orlaith McGrath.

Tipperary players Áine Slattery (goalkeeper), Mary Ryan (left corner-back) and Karen Kennedy (centre half-back) receive their first All-Stars Awards and are joined on the All-Stars selection by Cork trio Hannah Looney (right half-back), Chloe Sigerson (midfield) and Orla Cronin (centre half-forward).

Waterford captain and right half-forward Niamh Rockett completes this year’s winning selection.

Kilkenny manager Brian Dowling was named as Manager of the Year for the first time after guiding his team to All-Ireland glory in December.

Kilkenny’s Denise Gaule also collected the Camogie Association/WGPA Senior Players’ Player of the Year award following on from her match winning performance in the All-Ireland Senior decider.  Niamh Mallon of Down was the recipient of the Intermediate accolade whilst Armagh’s Ciara Donnelly was chosen as the Junior Players’ Player of the Year. All three were selected after voting by intercounty players through the WGPA with the awards sponsored by Liberty Insurance.

All-Ireland Intermediate champions Down lead the 2020 Soaring Stars Awards, represented by six players; defenders Dearbhla Magee and Fionnuala Carr, midfielder Paula O’Hagan and forwards Sara-Louise Graffan, Niamh Mallon and Sorcha McCartan.

Intermediate runners-up Antrim are represented by three players; defenders Chloe Drain and Niamh Donnelly along with forward Maeve Kelly.

Represented from the All-Ireland Intermediate Semi-Finalists are goalkeeper Aideen Lowry and defender Clodagh Tynan from Laois, while Meath defender Claire Coffey also receives an award.

All-Ireland Premier Junior Champions Armagh receive two Soaring Stars awards to forwards Leanne Donnelly and Ciara Donnelly while the remaining position is taken by Nancy Murray Cup champion Roisin O’ Keeffe from Cavan.

Speaking at the event Camogie Association President Kathleen Woods said:

“I would like to welcome everyone to this evening’s Camogie All-Stars presentation. This event is down to the commitment of you, our players. It is down to the commitment of Liberty Insurance our sponsors who stood firmly with us throughout 2020. It is down to the commitment of county managers and county boards to comply with all the protocols and procedures that were necessary. To all of you, thank you.

“You, our All-Star nominees played the Championships behind closed doors in empty stadia and it didn’t curtail you’re your passion and commitment. Thank you also to the WGPA for their input in the Players’ Player of the Year awards.

“Congratulations to all of tonight’s nominees and winners. Let us now look forward to the 2021 Championships”.

Speaking on behalf of Liberty Insurance, Stuart Trotter said:

“On behalf of Liberty Insurance, we would like to congratulate each, and every player and manager nominated. We are delighted to once again sponsor these awards which recognise and celebrate the achievements of this year’s outstanding Camogie players 

“In addition to the All-Stars Awards it is important to recognise the outstanding individual performances throughout this year’s Championship as acknowledged by their peers in the Camogie Association/WGPA Players’ Player of the Year award.

“There have also been many outstanding efforts off the field this year as managers faced a championship season like no other with so many challenges at play. I have no doubt that every manager would have been a worthy winner of the Manager of the Year award this year. Congratulations to all our winners and nominees”.

2020 Camogie All-Stars - Áine Slattery (Tipperary); Shauna Healy (Galway), Claire Phelan (Kilkenny), Mary Ryan (Tipperary); Hannah Looney (Cork), Karen Kennedy (Tipperary), Davina Tobin (Kilkenny); Chloe Sigerson (Cork), Grace Walsh (Kilkenny); Niamh Rockett (Waterford), Orla Cronin (Cork), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny); Orlaith McGrath (Galway), Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny).

2020 Soaring Stars - Aedin Lowry (Laois); Claire Coffey (Meath), Dearbhla Magee (Down), Chloe Drain (Antrim); Niamh Donnelly (Antrim), Fionnuala Carr (Down), Clodagh Tynan (Laois); Róisín O’Keeffe (Cavan), Paula O’Hagan (Down); Leanne Donnelly (Armagh), Sara-Louise Graffin (Down), Maeve Kelly (Antrim); Niamh Mallon (Down), Ciara Donnelly (Armagh), Sorcha McCartan (Down).

Senior Players’ Player of the Year - Denise Gaule (Kilkenny)

Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year - Niamh Mallon (Down)

Junior Players’ Player of the Year - Ciara Donnelly (Armagh)

Manager of the Year - Brian Dowling (Kilkenny)

Most Read Stories