Team news: Seven championship debutants in Mayo starting 15

October 30, 2020

Galway's Jack Kirrane tackles Rory Brickenden of Mayo. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

James Horan has announced his starting 15 for Sunday's Connacht SFC quarter-final encounter with Leitrim in Carrick-on-Shannon (throw-in 1.15pm).

There are seven championship debutants in the line-up starting with Oisin Mullin, Rory Brickenden and Eoghan McLaughlin in defence. The other four are in attack where Bryan Walsh, Ryan O'Donoghue, Jordan Flynn and Tommy Conroy get the nod. 

Westport youngster Brickenden is the only one of the newcomers who didn't feature under Horan during the final rounds of the Allianz League. Meanwhile, ace forward Cillian O'Connor is named from the start despite picking up a quad injury last week.

Mayo (Connacht SFC v Leitrim): David Clarke; Oisin Mullin, Stephen Coen, Lee Keegan; Patrick Durcan, Rory Brickenden, Eoghan McLaughlin; Matthew Ruane, Conor Loftus; Bryan Walsh, Ryan O'Donoghue, Jordan Flynn; Tommy Conroy, Aidan O'Shea, Cillian O'Connor. 

Most Read Stories