Popular Posts from 97Cavans

The GAA And "Northern Ireland" - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Bon:  "If your looking for a blow by blow account of what happened, well this isn't the platform for it and I don't intend of writing an account of it just for you. If you don't believe me that's your own opinion and you are entitled to it, I'm sure its not an isolated incident of such."
Well that post is a little bit disappointing to be honest. Considering you started out with such a big sweeping statement, you've finished quite tamely there

97Cavans (National) - 28/05/2021 21:01:58

Knives Out For Managers - 4 Like(s)
Personally feel that Roscommon have underachieved for a while now. They had a golden generation but wasted it on poor management teams. I can only imagine where a Mickey Harte or a jack O'connor type would have brought Roscommon over the last 10 years

97Cavans (National) - 12/06/2022 11:02:48

Monaghan GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Congratulations to Conor McManus on a magnificent career. One of the best forwards to play the game

97Cavans (National) - 22/06/2024 21:51:00

Should Unvaccinated Fans Be Allowed Into Croke Park? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "My answer to the original question on this thread is yes unvaccinated should be allowed attend Croke Park and other events. It's someone personal choice if they take the covid vaccinations as these vaccines wether people want to admit it or not have being rushed through and haven't gone through the full process of trails and experimentation, I have talked to a medical profession and to a scientific researcher for advice who are not taking the vaccine either. When these vaccines are fully trailed and tested I'll get mine, until then call me what ye want I don't care. If these vaccines are the silver bullet for the virus, well then the vaccinated population have nothing to fear from the unvaccinated population."
They are clogging up our hospitals, taking precedence over cancer patients and others

97Cavans (National) - 29/08/2021 20:17:48

Dublin Senior Football Team - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "It's actually quite common for hospitals to choose who lives and who dies, believe it or not, or are you one of these people believe that everyone gets exactly the same attention in hospital, whatever their prognosis. Reminds me of this time last year, when people were aghast at the sight of body bags in morgues, because, well, of course there were no body bags in morgues before covid. Thankfully over the past year people have begun to see covid for what it is, an overhyped scare tactic, inflated by dodgy death diagnosis practices, and a grim focus on case numbers, the vast, vast, majority of which cause no harm. Like I said, I hope the galway lads are training too, don't wanna be left behind guys."
You should watch some documentaries. Italian hospitals wards were so overcrowded that they didnt have enough staff/time to treat their patients, meaning many died who could have been saved, if they had access to treatment. This meant that doctors and nurses were having to choose who to save based on age, family and other personal circumstances

97Cavans (National) - 05/04/2021 13:28:11

Kildare Vs Dublin - 3 Like(s)
https://youtu.be/1fM3Jj34-4E Davy Byrne, Rob McDaid, John Small, Jack McCaffrey, Eric Lowndes, Brian Fenton, Cormac Costello, Niall Scully, Conor McHugh, Emmet O'Conghaile, Paul Mannion, Ciaran Kilkenny (injured) and manager Dessie Farrell were all in the same under 21 team which beat Cavan in an all Ireland semi final by 1 point. If the same two teams played now, the Dubs would win by 51. If these two sets of players were evenly matched at age 21, why there is such a gap 5 years later would be an interesting study On the Kildare game, I actually thought Kildare played relatively well. I thought they got a lot right. They defended the d excellently and weren't drawn out easily. I thought they were just a bit rash and also unsure what they were doing at times. You would need a lot of practice at a defensive system like that before you would get it right. Having said that for the Dubs to kick 20 points against it, I thought that was still very impressive

97Cavans (National) - 06/08/2021 16:02:59

Cavan Championship Fixtures Attendance And Winners - 3 Like(s)
Castlerahan's general play has been fairly good in my opinion. But their final execution has been dreadful. Whether that is down to a lack of confidence, poor form, lack of hunger?, I watched the Ballinagh game back and thought Castlerahan looked very good in their overall play but they butchered chance after chance. Usually a team in decline struggles to create chances but Castlerahan are creating plenty. I'd fancy them to put that right this weekend, be more clinical, and win with a bit to spare. I believe Killygarry have been a senior club since the 90s and Castlerahan a similar timeframe. Whoever loses will have to be careful not to let standards drop and get back out of intermediate asap. Both Castlerahan and Killygarry have given tremendous enjoyment to the senior championship over the last 20 years.

97Cavans (Cavan) - 07/10/2021 16:29:17

2021 Déjà Vu - 3 Like(s)
These Asian countries must be laughing at Europe and particularly Ireland, a small island that cannot contain it at this stage when Asian countries have proven since last July how to effectively deal with the virus. Watching the Australian open tennis with fans in stadium and were here still debating whether zero covid strategies even work..

97Cavans (National) - 19/02/2021 17:52:48

Joe Canning Retiring - 3 Like(s)
A genius. The Ronnie O'Sullivan of GAA. Portumna will have plenty of new followers

97Cavans (National) - 30/07/2021 12:01:21

Dublin Senior Football Team - 3 Like(s)

Replying To oso:  "No jimbo it's not just irresponsible, it was breaking the rules and it was conceited and calculated at 7am. As a frontline Doctor all through all of this I am sick of listening to self serving GAA "personalities" trying to influence things and call the shots. What the likes of Oisin McConville for instance says about this is irrelevant, its self serving and he is totally irrelevant on this matter. Dessie Farrell is in a position of responsibility, he has seen what has gone before and the suspensions handed down to Down and Cork. The Dublin County board will also have known about this, Dessie didn't organise this on his own. Everyone involved should resign, end off. Its inexcusable. If myself of any of my professional colleagues behaved in such a manner we'd be the subject of a severe professional conduct investigate and medical defence unions would be involved. Guys let's get a perspective on this, the GAA is an amateur organisation and these guys are trying to dress themselves up as 'elite' athletes and expect to be treated differently as a result. If they wanted to excel at a sport and be considered 'elite' then they should have chosen a professional sport, not one where the opportunities available to them and the potential they can reach are ultimately determined by the post code they were born in. None of these guys are 'elite' so let's treat them like every other grass roots GAA player. The very people pedalling this nonsense and trying to excuse it are the parasites of the GAA. Ex players still trying to be relevant and make some form of living in monetary gains off the back of their playing career. There is no excuse and anything other than resignation from all involved is an embarassment!!"
Well said and of course just time time last year Italian nurses were literally choosing who to save and who to let die. A horrendous unimaginable situation, I'm not sure how they could ever be right again. I hate when people compare the dublin lads to young lads kicking a ball with friends on a green or park. It was an organised county session on a gaa pitch. Men and women all over the country have worked tirelessly to keep their club grounds safe and prevent gatherings. Fenton and co have just made their jobs a hell of a lot harder

97Cavans (National) - 05/04/2021 12:46:17

Dublin Senior Football Team - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "This was a bad idea first and foremost and shouldn't have happened. People are entitled to be angry but not hysterical because this is Dublin. Yes they are role models but they are also amateur sportsmen and are entitled to be treated the same as others who were in breach of guidelines. Nothing more and nothing less. Again today this is front page news. Do people genuinely think this warrants putting on the front pages of newspapers a couple of days consecutively?"
The market sets the game. People like to have something to give out about. However on this occasion,  I believe their giving out is somewhat justified. For members of the all Ireland champions to go against its own organisation's announcement from the day previous, this sort of backlash was inevitable and justified

97Cavans (National) - 02/04/2021 21:39:32

New Cavan Manager - 3 Like(s)
Surely it can't be Galligan, you'd imagine there'd be uproar if it was. The man still has so much to offer in goals. From the moment Graham stepped away, I thought the job was made for Mickey Harte. He's probably brought Louth as far as they can go and well before schedule. Having watched his punditry on BBC, he seems to have a soft spot for Cavan. Doesn't seem likely now anyway. Could never understand the negativity after the Down game. Lads that had no interest in Tailteann cup beforehand were now calling it the end of an era and all sorts of nonsense. The reality is the Tailteann cup was never a big deal other than securing Sam Maguire next year, that of which is still very much in our hands. For my money, the current Cavan job is a very attractive proposition. You have a core group all in their twenties and a number of promising young lads coming through. Also a number of high quality players around the county that need be asked in. An exciting season next year once we stay in division 2 and can play in Sam. Watching the likes of Westmeath and Monaghan competing at that level should give us inspiration that anything is possible.

97Cavans (Cavan) - 10/08/2023 15:11:59

Derry v Armagh - 2023 Ulster SFC Final - 2 Like(s)
Wow what a game. Pity that such a hard fought, enthralling contest would be decided by those watery, long drawn out penalties. But I suppose it would have been worse had it been decided by an advanced mark, which Grugan failed to convert. Who is making these changes to our game? What a performance from McGuigan. He is up there with the best in the country. In general the Derry lads seem like a sound bunch so I was happy to see them win it. Both teams should be able to relax a bit now and work their way through the next few weeks of shadowboxing. Armagh need to beat Westmeath at home and they need to be careful as Westmeath have some dangerous forwards on their day. Would like to see Derry get a crack at Kerry at some stage.

97Cavans (National) - 17/05/2023 12:51:15

Kerry V Galway - 2 Like(s)
Personally prefer Seanie Shea as a player. His performance in the 2019 drawn final was one of the best individual performances I have seen in any All Ireland final. Cliffords not bad either though

97Cavans (National) - 18/05/2021 13:36:02

Can Gaelic Football (Handball?) Be Saved? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Years ago I may have agreed with this but the way the game has evolved the more I've came to the conclusion that the more we focus on peanilising fouls the more we have encouraged possession football and encouraged teams to play blanket defense (instead of attempting tackles)."
Couldn't agree more with this. Years ago, there was more incentive to tackle as small amounts of pulling and dragging was let go. At the moment, there is not enough incentive to push out and tackle because it is almost impossible to turn someone over without fouling or getting side stepped. It is currently too easy to keep possession

97Cavans (National) - 17/04/2024 15:15:47

Houses In Order? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To dubarra:  "So tell us how this would happen within 10 years? I can't wait to hear how a county with such a small population is going to create super stars with money and very little available talent."
I think it has been brought up here before, but the Iceland football team is a success story which hasn't got the publicity it deserves. In the last 20 years they have put huge efforts into facilities, coaching, schools and have made a remarkable transformation, now consistently competing with the best nations in Europe who have over 100 times their population. At the end of the day you only need 20 odd good players to be a successful inter county team. The only way to solve the current problems in inter county football structure is underage, underage and more underage

97Cavans (National) - 12/03/2021 12:58:39

Your Best GAA Related Memory From 2020 - 2 Like(s)
https://youtu.be/GGfPOyYuKHo This video from the BBC Has there ever been a more dramatic six weeks for a countys gaelic games Relegated to division 3. Ray Galligans last minute 50 yard free to give us an extra time derby win. Coming from behind to beat Antrim, Coming from 10 behind to beat Down and then against all odds ulster champions, all in the space of six weeks. Magical stuff

97Cavans (National) - 06/02/2021 15:16:21

Can Gaelic Football (Handball?) Be Saved? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I remember in the 1980s being thought it's ok to tackle the man with one arm but if you put both arms around your man that was considered grabbing him and you'd get a free against you. Now you teach kids they can only tackle the ball. You also tell them if they tackle with the far arm referees will usually give a free against them so to use their near arm when tackling. I often wondered did the rules around tackling change or do referees just interpret the same rules differently from what they did in the past? (genuine question as referees definitely referee the tackle differently to the past but I never remember hearing about any rule changes around tackling in that time)."
I think there was a sudden craze around "consistency" in the late 2010s which was always going to be unachievable. There was an attempt to make things more black and white but the tackle in gaelic football is not black and white and never will be. It will always be subject to the referee's discretion. Personally I think there was more consistency when referees were allowing for minor pulling and dragging, and therefore giving less frees.

97Cavans (National) - 18/04/2024 11:12:15

The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches - 2 Like(s)
I dont think it's so much the decisions that are frustrating people, it's the manner of the decisions. No real leadership and no clarity from our government. The government are hiding behind NEPHET and nephet are hiding behind government. They are forgetting that it's the people that are central to this crisis and shouldn't be left along the sidelines and in the dark. We need real leadership, clarity and explanations about the decisions that are being made, and not on twitter or facebook or whatever else they use, they need to get themselves on the 6 1. I have to say I would have never supported SF but mary lou and pierce Doherty are the two best politicians in this country at the moment by a country mile.

97Cavans (National) - 21/08/2020 12:35:35

Senior Championship - 2 Like(s)
Gripping game. Ramor rode their luck at times. Gowna much the better team in the second half,  2 stonewall black cards, only one given. How did Pierson not throw it across to Madden for an open goal. I think Ramor will be somewhat concerned with how that second half transpired. Brian Cody always liked to change it up for a replay which I think is a good idea. One change I'd like to see is Brian O'Connell back to midfield. A huge attacking threat running from deep earlier in the championship and could be a game changer for Ramor. I could understand sacrificing him for McKiernan but Ramor have plenty to deal with Madden. I would say Gowna are becoming too predictable, they need to vary their attacks using more width. Black cards seem to be becoming more of a psychological advantage rather than the actual extra man itself. The opposing team gets a lift while the defending team panic dropping men back and trying to run down the clock. One extra man for ten minutes shouldn't really impact a game too much other than possibly for kickouts but there seems to be an awful panic when a black card is dished out. I thought the running up to the umpires at the end was hilarious, like something you would see in father Ted but nobody  complaining and no harm done. Great to have the replay.

97Cavans (Cavan) - 11/11/2021 13:40:13