Banty for Cavan??

Interesting reading some of the opinions here. Seems that people are a lot more realistic about where we are at in terms of attracting big name managers.

Banty has at least got some inter-county experience however he wouldn't be my first choice. What we need is an organiser who can win the dressing room quickly and get the team moving in the right direction - forwards! Lets not forget, we were not that far off Tyrone and look what they did to Roscommon. We still have some excellent players and we should dare to dream big! If we can draft in a couple of the younger lads who have shown good potential then we will be more than competitive.

I see this next appointment as the most important one since McHugh in 1995!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 16/07/2018 12:50:15    2122657

Replying To theweanling:  "I remember Banty being mentioned for the job to years ago and the response by everyone was pretty much the same NO WAY!!!!!! Look my opinion is that it should be an inside manager, simple as. but the attitude and response towards the suggestion of Banty pretty much sums up cavans false elitist attitude. this county has won nothing at senior level in 21 year and nothing for another 27 years before that!!!! one solitary quarter final is our best finish in 17 years of qualifiers. Banty took Monaghan to two quarter finals and a whisker away from beating kerry!!! put a base in place to which Monaghan then went on and won two ulsters and consistent top 8 finishes. what have Meath done since he left btw? and what have cavan done , nothing!!!!!! the attitude needs to change in cavan, accept where we are (there is talent there) but its no good without the right attitude. so before dismissing Banty as pure folly remember the real problem in cavan lies within."
Good post. I'd mostly agree with you. Banty done very well with Monaghan. He did not have the luxury of a McManus up front. That Kerry team are lauded by many as one of the best teams of all time. Ulster was very very strong at the time he was around too. To win Ulster meant you were a real AI contender. There seems to be lots of Monaghan posters peeking on here. I wonder would any of then give their take on Banty?
Look, Banty would be far from my first choice but talk is easy and the CB have a difficult choice to make. It's all right saying gamble on inexperience but I wouldn't blame the decision maker for playing it safe. If that's the route they take then there's a hell of a lot worse than Banty. Personally I'd prefer to keep it local. And on that note regarding attitudes in Cavan, yes we can be snobby in ways but we have a serious inferiority complex in others always looking for solutions from elsewhere. There is absolutely no reason why a Cavan man should not be in charge or why we cannot change our football fortunes in-house. That attitude could do with change too.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/07/2018 13:18:42    2122677

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Good post. I'd mostly agree with you. Banty done very well with Monaghan. He did not have the luxury of a McManus up front. That Kerry team are lauded by many as one of the best teams of all time. Ulster was very very strong at the time he was around too. To win Ulster meant you were a real AI contender. There seems to be lots of Monaghan posters peeking on here. I wonder would any of then give their take on Banty?
Look, Banty would be far from my first choice but talk is easy and the CB have a difficult choice to make. It's all right saying gamble on inexperience but I wouldn't blame the decision maker for playing it safe. If that's the route they take then there's a hell of a lot worse than Banty. Personally I'd prefer to keep it local. And on that note regarding attitudes in Cavan, yes we can be snobby in ways but we have a serious inferiority complex in others always looking for solutions from elsewhere. There is absolutely no reason why a Cavan man should not be in charge or why we cannot change our football fortunes in-house. That attitude could do with change too."
And on that note regarding attitudes in Cavan, yes we can be snobby in ways but we have a serious inferiority complex in others always looking for solutions from elsewhere
i totally agree with that statement, it was evident against Donegal earlier in the year, cavan do seem to be stuck in the middle somewhere, i do wonder are some or most of the cavan players waiting for things to just happen though

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 16/07/2018 14:53:13    2122759

Banty is a great motivator but beyond that I'm not so sure. He's done great things with the minors this year along with Damien Freeman and David McCague winning our first Ulster in ages.

It's a tricky one. As a Scotstown man I really hated losing Mattie to you lot and actually thought he'd work wonders with ye - shows what I know.

I think Banty is easy to ridicule but I think he can get serious results for you but you'd need someone to carry the team from that level to the next level where ye should be at.
You don't have a bad team - I've never gone into a game against ye confident - get some of those u21s back in and interested (this is where Banty can work) then you have just as good a team as us and should be in Div 1 and Super 8s most years.

bigfrankt (Monaghan) - Posts: 123 - 16/07/2018 15:13:19    2122764

Replying To theweanling:  "And on that note regarding attitudes in Cavan, yes we can be snobby in ways but we have a serious inferiority complex in others always looking for solutions from elsewhere
i totally agree with that statement, it was evident against Donegal earlier in the year, cavan do seem to be stuck in the middle somewhere, i do wonder are some or most of the cavan players waiting for things to just happen though"
I certainly haven't seen too many leaders on the pitch over the last few years. There have been flashes here and there but no one to consistently lead the fight when things get tough. Givney looked the best bet in that regard.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/07/2018 15:15:39    2122766

Replying To cavanman47:  "quality of players
facilities
in Ulster

I think we tick all three."
Where's the quality of players? the reason why we've nothing since 1997 is the lack of quality of players, the reason McGleenan is gone and why we're on the lookout for a new manager is the lack of quality, the reason why the Gaels have dominated Cavan Football and why they're unbeaten in the league in 2017 & 2018 is the lack of quality players in other clubs to compete with them...go to any club championship game in August and you'll see what I'm talking about.

If Banty puts himself forward for the job, its not the quality of players available to him, its the fact that he lives 40 minutes up the road.

Cavan Supporters need to get their heads out of the sand, we arent a big Footballing County, we arent attractive to big managers, we are as competitive as the likes of Tipperary, Clare, Down, Derry, we wont get managers like Horan and McGuinness, theyre not interested in small Counties like us.

As for Poacher from Carlow, are you having a laugh, we had one defensive manager who set the County back 10 years with his style of football. The best forwards in the County were destroyed because of him. Remind me again, how Carlow did in the Championship.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 16/07/2018 16:08:17    2122796

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Where's the quality of players? the reason why we've nothing since 1997 is the lack of quality of players, the reason McGleenan is gone and why we're on the lookout for a new manager is the lack of quality, the reason why the Gaels have dominated Cavan Football and why they're unbeaten in the league in 2017 & 2018 is the lack of quality players in other clubs to compete with them...go to any club championship game in August and you'll see what I'm talking about.

If Banty puts himself forward for the job, its not the quality of players available to him, its the fact that he lives 40 minutes up the road.

Cavan Supporters need to get their heads out of the sand, we arent a big Footballing County, we arent attractive to big managers, we are as competitive as the likes of Tipperary, Clare, Down, Derry, we wont get managers like Horan and McGuinness, theyre not interested in small Counties like us.

As for Poacher from Carlow, are you having a laugh, we had one defensive manager who set the County back 10 years with his style of football. The best forwards in the County were destroyed because of him. Remind me again, how Carlow did in the Championship."
If we dont have the players how did we win 4 Ulster u21 titles in a row and appear in 5 finals in a row up against teams that now have many players from that era playing big parts for them at senior level. Paddy McBrearty for example I think played 3 years in those years and never won one.

What you wrote is auld negative rubbish. We might have too many clubs and that might not be helping things but we do have players out there. The problem is currently they will not commit to the cause and we need a man who will inspire them to commit.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 16/07/2018 17:01:48    2122818

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Where's the quality of players? the reason why we've nothing since 1997 is the lack of quality of players, the reason McGleenan is gone and why we're on the lookout for a new manager is the lack of quality, the reason why the Gaels have dominated Cavan Football and why they're unbeaten in the league in 2017 & 2018 is the lack of quality players in other clubs to compete with them...go to any club championship game in August and you'll see what I'm talking about.

As for Poacher from Carlow, are you having a laugh, we had one defensive manager who set the County back 10 years with his style of football. The best forwards in the County were destroyed because of him. Remind me again, how Carlow did in the Championship."
Set the county back 10 years eh? Must have been driving a DeLorean.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/07/2018 17:51:35    2122834

There is serious internal dysfunction with the way football is run in the county, and I would like to see root and branch reform i.e. clubs merging together for the good of Cavan football. Apparently the underage structure is in serious decline, someone mentioned the Gaels were struggling with numbers at underage if I'm not mistaken? If this is how things are at our big clubs, then how to the likes of Corlough or Maghera manage?

Anyway, I digress. The point is that although we have problems, our biggest problem right now is our best players not committing, as Fredflint said they were good enough to win back to back Ulster titles at u21 level, twice, so to not have them there is seriously hampering us.

Get as many of our best players back as possible. Get the right man in charge and suddenly the "work committments" excuses will soon evaporate.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 16/07/2018 18:06:05    2122839

He wasn't the right candidate 2 years ago and he's not the right candidate now. He took the weight out of Wexfords pockets and will do the same again with similar results in the field of were foolish enough to look his way

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 16/07/2018 20:12:08    2122878

He wasn't the right candidate 2 years ago and he's not the right candidate now. He took the weight out of Wexfords pockets and will do the same again with similar results in the field of were foolish enough to look his way

ballygowanwater (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 16/07/2018 20:13:27    2122880

Relegated to Division 3 with Meath. Hammered in the Championship with Wexford. People are going on what he done with Monaghan . That's a while ago now. Football has changed a bit since then.

I doubt he would be interested anyway after being overlooked for it previously in a 2 horse race.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 16/07/2018 20:22:37    2122885

Replying To fredflint:  "If we dont have the players how did we win 4 Ulster u21 titles in a row and appear in 5 finals in a row up against teams that now have many players from that era playing big parts for them at senior level. Paddy McBrearty for example I think played 3 years in those years and never won one.

What you wrote is auld negative rubbish. We might have too many clubs and that might not be helping things but we do have players out there. The problem is currently they will not commit to the cause and we need a man who will inspire them to commit."
Name the so called quality players that would be up there with the likes of McManus, Murphy, McBrearty. There's not one Cavan player that would get in or around any of the top teams in Ireland.
Cavan have some very good lads, committed and hardworking, but its not a coincidence why Seanie J has been Cavan' best footballer for the 10 yrs and still at 33 yrs of age can still get his place on the team and is still one of the best forwards in the County. Its not a coincidence either that there's not one senior club in Cavan can match the Gaels.
Like I said, the club championship starts in August, pick any player that you think is quality. In any case, how can you expect to do anything at senior intercounty level when you dont have a competitive club structure and when some of your team are playing junior and intermediate football.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 17/07/2018 13:36:01    2123121

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Name the so called quality players that would be up there with the likes of McManus, Murphy, McBrearty. There's not one Cavan player that would get in or around any of the top teams in Ireland.
Cavan have some very good lads, committed and hardworking, but its not a coincidence why Seanie J has been Cavan' best footballer for the 10 yrs and still at 33 yrs of age can still get his place on the team and is still one of the best forwards in the County. Its not a coincidence either that there's not one senior club in Cavan can match the Gaels.
Like I said, the club championship starts in August, pick any player that you think is quality. In any case, how can you expect to do anything at senior intercounty level when you dont have a competitive club structure and when some of your team are playing junior and intermediate football."
Seanie best player for the ten years? Well he played with another county for a chunk of that and hasn't done anything of note in a big championship game since coming back.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 17/07/2018 15:39:48    2123190

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Name the so called quality players that would be up there with the likes of McManus, Murphy, McBrearty. There's not one Cavan player that would get in or around any of the top teams in Ireland.
Like I said, the club championship starts in August, pick any player that you think is quality. In any case, how can you expect to do anything at senior intercounty level when you dont have a competitive club structure and when some of your team are playing junior and intermediate football."
I don't know what you be games you be looking at!! He wasn't the best player against Roscommon or donegal or Wicklow or down or Tyrone???

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 17/07/2018 16:03:47    2123205

Mackey is Cavan's best player since McCabe, anyone suggesting otherwise is deluded.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 17/07/2018 16:14:28    2123207

Replying To blueman1903:  "I don't know what you be games you be looking at!! He wasn't the best player against Roscommon or donegal or Wicklow or down or Tyrone???"
Donegal when?

Big championship game. Not backdoor game. Name one since he came back.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 17/07/2018 16:48:46    2123222

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Donegal when?

Big championship game. Not backdoor game. Name one since he came back."
I'm agreeing with you read back.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 17/07/2018 17:36:47    2123240

Replying To blueman1903:  "I'm agreeing with you read back."
I'm saying he wasn't the best player in years for cavan and I don't know how anyone can say other wise.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 17/07/2018 18:10:42    2123245

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Mackey is Cavan's best player since McCabe, anyone suggesting otherwise is deluded."
overall Martin Reilly have been a good servant to the county and is my number one by a long shot. Good respectful man towards the management as well. No 1 by a very long shot.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 17/07/2018 21:14:32    2123308