Cavan Seniors 2026

Replying To TheBlackDeath:  "Right, Dublin in Breffni it is. They're a shadow of the all-conquering team from a few years ago but will surely still have too much for us and put us out of our misery. They'll also probably have good support from all the Jackeens that have migrated to Cavan in recent years. Every time I'm back home in Cavan town it's full of people in Dublin kit!

While there are some positives to take from the Lake County Clásico v Westmeath, they were deserved winners in the end. We fought hard to get back into it and did so well in the first half of extra time before getting steamrolled at the end of the game. A lack of confidence from winning only two games all season?

There was some good heart and character on display. Sheu is getting better every game, Paddy Lynch was sharper, Meade full of running. Conor Casey-what an impact with some lovely scores. That's one thing with a rookie, opposition haven't lots of analysis and tape on them so maybe give them more space to do damage. Let's hope he gets a start v the Dubs and go for it. They're also at a low point so maybe we could catch them, but unlikely!"
Paddy lynch was sharper??? Really
We need a centre back and to be brave going forward with pace but dublin there for the taking

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 337 - 03/06/2026 20:37:47    2677748

Replying To tom84:  "Paddy lynch was sharper??? Really
We need a centre back and to be brave going forward with pace but dublin there for the taking"
I cannot believe this is still going.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 03/06/2026 23:04:35    2677756

There was more ball kicked into Paddy under the old rules when there was 2 or 3 around him. Now he's one on one and nothing.

The Monaghan game was unbelievable. He was about 6 inches above Dylan Byrne and only one ball kicked into him which resulted in a point. Paddy will take most defenders to the cleaners if he's given the ball

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 04/06/2026 17:58:58    2677963

Replying To 97Cavans:  "There was more ball kicked into Paddy under the old rules when there was 2 or 3 around him. Now he's one on one and nothing.

The Monaghan game was unbelievable. He was about 6 inches above Dylan Byrne and only one ball kicked into him which resulted in a point. Paddy will take most defenders to the cleaners if he's given the ball"
He can be lax at times too. Not all about being handed the ball on a plate. A very talanted player and hopefully stays injury free.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2937 - 07/06/2026 14:44:32    2678503

Serious opportunity for cavan to beat dublin this weekend there in poor shape and don't travel well when the last time cavan bet dublin at county level ?

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 159 - 08/06/2026 22:15:03    2678751

This game on Sunday is hopefully going be exciting. Its a great chance for Cavan to have a go at a Division 1 team. A home tie is key. Hoping for a big championship crowd, and a real strong belief against Dublin. Cavan haven't even been mentioned in last weeks. A lot of talk of poor Ger Brennen, and several teammates defending his 'treatment'. Gaa + and RTÉ not showing the game. Hoping Cavan are just concentrating on their own game and building momentum. Yes Westmeath was a defeat, but the team performed brilliaintly. Several new players emerged, and showed fight. Dublin may still have quality forwards, but the midfield if O'Cofaigh Byrne is out is weak, the defence lacking in pace and the keepers lacking belief. Cavan need to run at Dublin. McMorrow at centre back is strong, Cavan need to keep ball away from him. Things can change quickyly. Only today it was confirmed Dublin McGinnis new full forward out. If Cavan can show belief, and confidence, the game could be close. An Cabhán abú

Cavan67 (Cavan) - Posts: 37 - 10/06/2026 19:39:20    2678919

Replying To Cavan67:  "This game on Sunday is hopefully going be exciting. Its a great chance for Cavan to have a go at a Division 1 team. A home tie is key. Hoping for a big championship crowd, and a real strong belief against Dublin. Cavan haven't even been mentioned in last weeks. A lot of talk of poor Ger Brennen, and several teammates defending his 'treatment'. Gaa + and RTÉ not showing the game. Hoping Cavan are just concentrating on their own game and building momentum. Yes Westmeath was a defeat, but the team performed brilliaintly. Several new players emerged, and showed fight. Dublin may still have quality forwards, but the midfield if O'Cofaigh Byrne is out is weak, the defence lacking in pace and the keepers lacking belief. Cavan need to run at Dublin. McMorrow at centre back is strong, Cavan need to keep ball away from him. Things can change quickyly. Only today it was confirmed Dublin McGinnis new full forward out. If Cavan can show belief, and confidence, the game could be close. An Cabhán abú"
Westmeath were coming off a week on the lash. It was aood fighting performance but tired for the last 10 minute's. Some of the 2 pointers by casey were 1/10 shots. Oisin Brady is named on the panel which is a plus but casey is out and crowe are out. Need big games from the experienced players
Still lots of quality in the Dublin forwards. Basquel back on panel. Cavan well beaten by.kildare last weekend.
C

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2937 - 12/06/2026 20:45:34    2679179

I would also worry what will happen tomorrow considering all the players that are missing. Yet still, Shehu, Lovett, Liam Brady and Casey were probably our best players the last day, where three of them have little to no intercounty experience. Which again shows that we have no problem producing good footballers in Cavan

A solid start will be important tomorrow. Will need to perform alot better than we did in Mullingar to have a chance. Having so few midfielders on the panel seems crazy. But we live in hope

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 13/06/2026 12:23:33    2679227

Good luck tomorrow lads. Don't mess up a stonker of an accumulator for me... pints all round in Cootehill tomorrow evening if ye pull it off.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1353 - 13/06/2026 22:51:11    2679404

Replying To 97Cavans:  "I would also worry what will happen tomorrow considering all the players that are missing. Yet still, Shehu, Lovett, Liam Brady and Casey were probably our best players the last day, where three of them have little to no intercounty experience. Which again shows that we have no problem producing good footballers in Cavan

A solid start will be important tomorrow. Will need to perform alot better than we did in Mullingar to have a chance. Having so few midfielders on the panel seems crazy. But we live in hope"
While Casey was good the last day he still cost us by not working hard enough and teaching back. Would have had him all year especially over Donoghue and R. Brady.

Cavan can definitely put it up to Dublin but I feel we have no one to match Con O Callaghan, Costello, and then you still have Kilkenny, Howard, P Small and Scully who have a serious skill set, so it will be a big ask especially when looking at tomorrows potential line out.

Regaa (Cavan) - Posts: 7 - 13/06/2026 22:59:32    2679409

Replying To 97Cavans:  "I would also worry what will happen tomorrow considering all the players that are missing. Yet still, Shehu, Lovett, Liam Brady and Casey were probably our best players the last day, where three of them have little to no intercounty experience. Which again shows that we have no problem producing good footballers in Cavan

A solid start will be important tomorrow. Will need to perform alot better than we did in Mullingar to have a chance. Having so few midfielders on the panel seems crazy. But we live in hope"
....and and hope and hope and hope and NO hope.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1112 - 14/06/2026 00:53:13    2679428