Cavan Seniors 2025

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "I suppose Div. 1 of the National League is where we are, after giving ye a trimming on our way to the Div 2 title. 10 out of 11 years in Div 1, playing with the big boys. All Ireland quarter finalists 8 times and semi finalists 2 times in the past 12 years is slightly ahead of your achievements in the same period. Having said that ye did dig yourselves out of Div. 4 which was admirable. You did of course win All Irelands back in the days that few alive remember. With the stars ye have, I will put your lowly position down to the awful managers that have commandeered your teams."
Semi final this, quarter final that. YOU'VE WON NOTHING IN A DECADE!!

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 07/07/2025 21:59:47    2624264

Replying To veterngaa:  "You actually believe yourself ? I had to read that a few teams. You think Cavan are ahead of Monaghan?"
Still waiting for you to explain to me how 5 times is somehow more than 5 times.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5303 - 08/07/2025 05:32:33    2624283

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "I suppose Div. 1 of the National League is where we are, after giving ye a trimming on our way to the Div 2 title. 10 out of 11 years in Div 1, playing with the big boys. All Ireland quarter finalists 8 times and semi finalists 2 times in the past 12 years is slightly ahead of your achievements in the same period. Having said that ye did dig yourselves out of Div. 4 which was admirable. You did of course win All Irelands back in the days that few alive remember. With the stars ye have, I will put your lowly position down to the awful managers that have commandeered your teams."
Congratulations. You take the league more seriously than any other team in the country.

Sure just ignore our Championship meetings where we are 3 from 3 this decade.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5303 - 08/07/2025 05:50:55    2624284

Replying To veterngaa:  "You actually believe yourself ? I had to read that a few teams. You think Cavan are ahead of Monaghan?"
The nosy neighbours are back.

The 'victimhood' at our young lads getting their own back after their Donegal collapse didn't last long.

Muskrat was very sensitive then.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 536 - 08/07/2025 10:31:20    2624316

Replying To opa01:  "The nosy neighbours are back.

The 'victimhood' at our young lads getting their own back after their Donegal collapse didn't last long.

Muskrat was very sensitive then."
If I were from Cavan I wouldnt be talking about collapses against Donegal, and on home turf too. Whether you like it or not Div. 1 is playing regularly with the big boys. Getting to championship quarters and semis is also. Regulars in Div. 2, 3, 4 and playing Tall Tin Cup is not.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 698 - 08/07/2025 12:24:55    2624356

Fair play to Ray Galligan. Gave a near 14 years playing as a forward and a goalkeeper, and 2 as manager. Some dedication to Cavan GAA. Some great victories. You can see his passion. Can leave with head held high. An bród air

Cavan67 (Cavan) - Posts: 30 - 08/07/2025 13:57:23    2624385

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "If I were from Cavan I wouldnt be talking about collapses against Donegal, and on home turf too. Whether you like it or not Div. 1 is playing regularly with the big boys. Getting to championship quarters and semis is also. Regulars in Div. 2, 3, 4 and playing Tall Tin Cup is not."
HeHe - we don't feel the need to invade other forums to talk up our 'achievements'.

Talk about inferiority complex.

Notice you don't mention Finals or actually winning.

Obsession can play havoc with your blood pressure.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 536 - 08/07/2025 14:29:13    2624394

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Semi final this, quarter final that. YOU'VE WON NOTHING IN A DECADE!!"
What really makes me laugh is:

We've won 2 Ulster titles in the past 30 years, and that's considered a barren spell in Cavan GAA terms.

Monaghan have also won 2 in the same time
And they call it a golden era!!!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5303 - 08/07/2025 15:28:03    2624411

Replying To Cavan67:  "Fair play to Ray Galligan. Gave a near 14 years playing as a forward and a goalkeeper, and 2 as manager. Some dedication to Cavan GAA. Some great victories. You can see his passion. Can leave with head held high. An bród air"
He has been a great servant and represents the county very well in general. You could see he'd walk through a wall for Cavan and who can forget what winning that ulster sfc clearly meant to him, but he's not leaving with his head held high imo. We were publicly shamed and embarrassed in championship both years on his tenure. That's just not acceptable. We're way too content with mediocrity and moral victories and ah sure we only list by a point or two. That's the sort of ould guff that keeps us permanently at a psychological disadvantage against the Tyrones of this world at all age groups.

RighteousMelody (Cavan) - Posts: 19 - 08/07/2025 16:00:12    2624420

Replying To cavanman47:  "What really makes me laugh is:

We've won 2 Ulster titles in the past 30 years, and that's considered a barren spell in Cavan GAA terms.

Monaghan have also won 2 in the same time
And they call it a golden era!!!"
Ye also have only 2 in the past 55 years.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 698 - 08/07/2025 16:48:51    2624435

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Ye also have only 2 in the past 55 years."
Why 55?

Why not 80?

Why not 90?

Why not 100?

Or 5 or 10 or 20 or 30?

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 536 - 08/07/2025 17:38:25    2624449

Replying To opa01:  "Why 55?

Why not 80?

Why not 90?

Why not 100?

Or 5 or 10 or 20 or 30?"
Actually we have 5 lad.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 698 - 08/07/2025 19:10:09    2624475

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Ye also have only 2 in the past 55 years."
That is a bizarre reply. Are you a Cavan man pretending to be from Monaghan, like TomS/Vetern pretending to be from Cavan, with the intention of embarrassing them? You quip that Cavan have only won two Ulster titles in 50 years. You're not Tyrone or Donegal with multiple titles yourself! Before 2013, Monaghan's last Ulster was 1988. That's 37 years ago!!!!!!! Are you for real? You've therefore won 2 titles in the last 35 years.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 08/07/2025 19:20:59    2624476