Cavan Seniors 2025

Replying To 97Cavans:  "I see Paul Faloon is refereeing on Sunday, the same man who reffed the Louth and Cork league games. So plenty of physicality, pulling, dragging etc will be let go. Hopefully Cavan can take advantage of this"
Cavan will get nowhere by pulling and dragging.. It will all depend on how we defend and if the latter end of the league and the game with Tyrone I'd say we could be in for a torrid afternoon and mark my words Mayo are no great shakes…. struggled for a long time with Leitrim

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3920 - 15/05/2025 17:53:24    2609878

See we have no McKiernan or The Miller listed on the team sheet that was released. This puts us at a serious disadvantage around midfield with not much midfield backup on the bench. Probably going to be a tough afternoon around the middle unless we unearth some new tactic. Great to see lynch making progress and on the bench at least

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 562 - 16/05/2025 15:58:27    2610074

Cavan look a more experienced team, but midfield a big worry. Cavan look to have a strong defence. Great to have several players back from injury, espiceally Paddy Lynch, and Oisín Brady. Mayo have a strong and experienced strength around the middle. Were very close in Connacht again, but if Cavan can compete, they have to believe in who they are. Mayo certainly blew Cavan away in this game last year easily. Hopefully the team will have learnt a lot from Omagh. O'Rourke's kicks out and delivery will have to be on the money. Play to Breffini's strengths by letting the ball do the work, and taking Mayo on in defence. Believe! If Cavan can apply pressure, things could open up. An Cabhán Abú

Cavan67 (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 16/05/2025 17:41:40    2610093

Replying To ponger:  "See we have no McKiernan or The Miller listed on the team sheet that was released. This puts us at a serious disadvantage around midfield with not much midfield backup on the bench. Probably going to be a tough afternoon around the middle unless we unearth some new tactic. Great to see lynch making progress and on the bench at least"
You should know at this stage that county team sheets released to the public mean nothing….. As for McKiernan I couldn't see him having a big impact as it's going to be a roasting hot day… It will be a day for young legs

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3920 - 16/05/2025 17:41:54    2610094

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You should know at this stage that county team sheets released to the public mean nothing….. As for McKiernan I couldn't see him having a big impact as it's going to be a roasting hot day… It will be a day for young legs"
Ye that could be a problem that's an aging and waining team

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 77 - 16/05/2025 21:12:59    2610122

4 changes to the original line up… as I correctly pointed out never trust those posted teams…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3920 - 18/05/2025 14:36:18    2610585

Congratulations Cavan. Hope ye go far in the rest of the championship.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8004 - 18/05/2025 16:13:25    2610608

Well done Cavan, well deserved...
Mayo are muck but ye were absolutely well deserved

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 269 - 18/05/2025 16:19:39    2610612

Brilliant result …. Great chance of making the knockout stage now

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3920 - 18/05/2025 16:20:19    2610614

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Congratulations Cavan. Hope ye go far in the rest of the championship."
Fair play.

Don't think Mayo are out of it yet as Donegal could be through before playing ye.

Huge win for us tho. If it puts us through then I'd probably rank it as our biggest championship win outside of Ulster in my lifetime.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5251 - 18/05/2025 16:34:44    2610621

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "All those 4 would beat cavan."
Hmmm

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5251 - 18/05/2025 16:38:34    2610624

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Brilliant result …. Great chance of making the knockout stage now"
I thought all these game were pointless so it can't be a brilliant result if none of the games matter...

In all seriousness fair play to cavan some win and might even make the quarters now

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 118 - 18/05/2025 16:59:18    2610647

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Congratulations Cavan. Hope ye go far in the rest of the championship."
Mayo will be as far as they go

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 756 - 18/05/2025 17:21:08    2610654

Brilliant win. Delighted for players and manangement. Listened to the game on Northern Sound. The team just worked hard, defended well and took control in the 2nd half. An Cabhán Abú

Cavan67 (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 18/05/2025 17:55:57    2610666

Replying To veterngaa:  "Mayo will be as far as they go"
You have posted petty comments before but this one doesn't paint you in a good light, to say the least.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 180 - 18/05/2025 18:36:34    2610702

Replying To Farneyblueandwhite:  "Ye that could be a problem that's an aging and waining team"
Liam Brady early 20s
Cian Reilly early 20s
Brian o Connell late 20s
Niall Carolan early 20s
Evan Crowe is 19
Ryan Donahoe early 20s
Sean Mcevoy early 20s
Cormac Reilly early 20s
Paddy Lynch mid 20s
Oisin Brady early 20s
Cian Madden early 20s
James Smith early 20s
Luke Fortune early 20s

Bar James Smith, the rest all played centrally today.
Cavan have a young core. Monaghan have as many or more ageing players. Even Dara Mcvitty, Padraig Faulkner and Ciaran Brady are only just over 30. Your bitterness is embarrassing and based on factual inaccuracies.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 180 - 18/05/2025 18:46:03    2610707

Replying To cavanman47:  "Hmmm"
Mayo wasn't one of those 4!!!!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1732 - 18/05/2025 19:53:23    2610731

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You should know at this stage that county team sheets released to the public mean nothing….. As for McKiernan I couldn't see him having a big impact as it's going to be a roasting hot day… It will be a day for young legs"
Did you follow the fools to castlebar, If you didn't then you missed one of the best displays in years from a cavan team.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 562 - 18/05/2025 21:25:26    2610769

Home and Hoarse, Fair play to the lads they give it all today, reminds me of another really hot day in celtic park against Derry few years ago qere the Cavan lads give it all

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 310 - 18/05/2025 22:12:38    2610792

Replying To ponger:  "Did you follow the fools to castlebar, If you didn't then you missed one of the best displays in years from a cavan team."
I didn't go but it doesn't take from the fact it was a great result…. Only a fool pays into any championship game that's not a knockout…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3920 - 18/05/2025 22:46:08    2610805