Advertisement

National League 2019

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "Encouraging first half performance and starting selection from team and management yesterday. Clarke and Faulkner were solid in the full back line, and McVeety held the middle well at cb and then also attacked well at times too.

It's a pity if he has to be sacrificed as a forward but if he can hold the middle at cb better than anyone else we have then it is probably worth losing him in the forwards.

I have already said Faulkner should be tried there and think he could do the job but perhaps him and Clarke are the only two full backs we have capable of keeping Div 1 standard inside forwards quiet and yesterday's line up was the right decision.

Madden playing well also is encouraging.

Martin Reilly one of our best forwards as usual but I think at times we slow ourselves up by giving him the ball too much. i.de Him stopping dead and looking for it and being handed a handy ball by a player who could drive on himself and Martin run with him for an overlap..

More Gaels lads getting runs than deserve it for me. Not including Paul Graham who did very well yesterday I thought.

We could also do with a bit more certainty with our inside & scoring forwards. The likes of Kevin Tierney, Jack Brady, Niall Clerkin have been in and out of the team and panel now for a few years now without any consistency, and there is probably plenty more coming and going, Ado Cole another, who appears to be gone again now this year.

Ray Galligan top class these days in almost every dept. but for me he still needs to hit more of the do or die frees that can give us the momentum swing in a game. Missed a longish but scoreable one at 12-12 yesterday I think it was, that could have been a hell of a lift for us if he had hit it.

Still appears there is a bit of a mental block for us to kick on and win these close games against the big teams it seems. Hopefully we can do so against struggling Tyrone, Roscommon and others to scrape safety. But the likelihood is we will down unfortunately..

But in summary, an improvement on last week by team and management I think and if that continues each week I'll be happy enough."
I think a full back line of Padraig falkner and Killian Clarke and Killian brady is as good of full back line as we ever had, add in Raymond Galligan in goals and we are solid there, I know it would be hard to lose Dara from the forwards but he was excellent at CB yesterday , you need . When we get gearoid and Gerry smith back and Moynagh and caoimhin reilly we will have a stronger bench, I taught Tomas galligan was good in midfield yesterday, I think it will be him and gearoid as midfield partners.Hopfully Dara McVeety and Ciaran Brady are fit for next Saturday night.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 04/02/2019 11:57:46    2162441

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Ye were moaning last year about Gaels lads not commiting now that they are your saying they not good enough?
Who's better that are not on the panel?"
I think you have me confused with someone else. I don't recall complaining about them not been on the panel.

Not here to here run down the Gaels, the lads that are on the panel are good footballers too. Just a lot of them have the same strengths and weaknesses I would say and a bit variety on the bench would do no harm. I have put a few alternatives in some of my team selections for the first two games.

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 04/02/2019 12:45:22    2162469

Replying To blueman1903:  "I think a full back line of Padraig falkner and Killian Clarke and Killian brady is as good of full back line as we ever had, add in Raymond Galligan in goals and we are solid there, I know it would be hard to lose Dara from the forwards but he was excellent at CB yesterday , you need . When we get gearoid and Gerry smith back and Moynagh and caoimhin reilly we will have a stronger bench, I taught Tomas galligan was good in midfield yesterday, I think it will be him and gearoid as midfield partners.Hopfully Dara McVeety and Ciaran Brady are fit for next Saturday night."
I would leave McKiernan in the half forward line and let him drop out to midfield maybe for the odd kick out. I think he's more dangerous in the half forward line than at midfield. Thomas Galligan and Graham performed well yesterday.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 04/02/2019 13:39:08    2162495

Replying To BreffniGuide:  "Cavan football on its knees!? We're in Division 1 for the second time in 3 years. You reckon you know Cavan football yet you complain about the manager not calling in players like a midfielder who has barely played a club game in two years!
Do us a favor and head back to your beloved Cork. They're down in Division 2 while we're on our knees! You call the game today disgusting yet it was an entertaining game with nearly 30 scores between both teams. Even the Kerry supporters leaving were complimenting us on a good game."
The Kerry supporters were complimenting us surely but they still won the match. It would have been a different tune from them if they had lost.

We are lacking a few players who could kill the game with a goal or two when we were on top of Kerry. We give away too many frees also. It was still better than the Terry days.

I have a feeling that we will stay up. Tyrone and Monaghan are going to go down.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 04/02/2019 13:46:22    2162500

Folks,

The game in May is the one that matters. All games in between should be a stepping stone to that game. If we win in May then things start to open up for us. I was glad to hear that the team are showing improvement.

How was the pitch? Has it improved as a result of the work carried out in 2018?

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 04/02/2019 15:32:09    2162537

Replying To kildare blue:  "Folks,

The game in May is the one that matters. All games in between should be a stepping stone to that game. If we win in May then things start to open up for us. I was glad to hear that the team are showing improvement.

How was the pitch? Has it improved as a result of the work carried out in 2018?"
Off course it has we have a pitch second to none.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 04/02/2019 16:19:42    2162553

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Off course it has we have a pitch second to none."
It was bad enough for long enough mind you. Prunty had to sort it

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 04/02/2019 17:28:20    2162568

Anyone else find it odd that two of our most influential players in the first half had to go off injured in the second?

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 04/02/2019 17:35:59    2162569

Replying To theDagger1986:  "It was bad enough for long enough mind you. Prunty had to sort it"
Great to see someone looking after it that's knows what they are at.

theham (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 04/02/2019 17:42:05    2162572

Replying To theham:  "Great to see someone looking after it that's knows what they are at."
Yes it is and deserves the praise as well. Congratulations to those that maintain it.

Lol.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 04/02/2019 21:54:23    2162642

Replying To ramor101:  "Anyone else find it odd that two of our most influential players in the first half had to go off injured in the second?"
Kerry done a lot of cynical fouling on Ciaran Brady I thought that went unpunished. Nothing pretty about the way they play, everyone behind ball at times and they get hailed as saints

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 04/02/2019 21:57:31    2162644

Replying To theDagger1986:  "Kerry done a lot of cynical fouling on Ciaran Brady I thought that went unpunished. Nothing pretty about the way they play, everyone behind ball at times and they get hailed as saints"
Ah come on, when Kerry do that stuff it's called good game management and cuteness, when it's inflicted on them it's an insult to their footballing purity. You should know that by now!

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 04/02/2019 22:07:04    2162647

any word when our injured players are due back? Geroid, caoimhin, Gerry smith?

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 05/02/2019 10:11:49    2162694

Lets be realistic here, about 25% of that Kerry team yesterday will make their first 15 come championship because they have better players to come in. whereas, 75% of the Cavan Team will be on the first 15 and arguably, the other 25% coming in will be no better than what was there on Sunday. You just knew that Kerry could up a gear at any time or bring on a sub that could change the game and thats what they did. One of the pivotal moments was the Kerry black card, but we failed to take advantage, and Kerry notched up 3/4 points during that spell. They also spent 6/7 minutes of that 10 minute sin bin killing time by lying down on the ground injured.

So lower your expectations and enjoy the league, whether we win, lose or draw, enjoy the experience of playing the big teams in Division One. Majority of the big teams use the league to bed in new players, try out new things, whereas the smaller ones are using it to prepare for championship, and come the business end of the championship, its likely that Cavan wont be in it. Now, having said that, all is not lost, if this team can get its act together and put in a 70 minute performance like the first half Kerry performance, I genuinely think they could challenge for an Ulster Final. Monaghan can be hit or miss, Tyrone are beatable, and depending on how Donegal get on this year, and Ulster Final is not out of reach.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 05/02/2019 14:55:26    2162768

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Lets be realistic here, about 25% of that Kerry team yesterday will make their first 15 come championship because they have better players to come in. whereas, 75% of the Cavan Team will be on the first 15 and arguably, the other 25% coming in will be no better than what was there on Sunday. You just knew that Kerry could up a gear at any time or bring on a sub that could change the game and thats what they did. One of the pivotal moments was the Kerry black card, but we failed to take advantage, and Kerry notched up 3/4 points during that spell. They also spent 6/7 minutes of that 10 minute sin bin killing time by lying down on the ground injured.

So lower your expectations and enjoy the league, whether we win, lose or draw, enjoy the experience of playing the big teams in Division One. Majority of the big teams use the league to bed in new players, try out new things, whereas the smaller ones are using it to prepare for championship, and come the business end of the championship, its likely that Cavan wont be in it. Now, having said that, all is not lost, if this team can get its act together and put in a 70 minute performance like the first half Kerry performance, I genuinely think they could challenge for an Ulster Final. Monaghan can be hit or miss, Tyrone are beatable, and depending on how Donegal get on this year, and Ulster Final is not out of reach."
I'd say there would be more than 4 of that Kerry team come championship,

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 05/02/2019 15:17:38    2162777

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Lets be realistic here, about 25% of that Kerry team yesterday will make their first 15 come championship because they have better players to come in. whereas, 75% of the Cavan Team will be on the first 15 and arguably, the other 25% coming in will be no better than what was there on Sunday. You just knew that Kerry could up a gear at any time or bring on a sub that could change the game and thats what they did. One of the pivotal moments was the Kerry black card, but we failed to take advantage, and Kerry notched up 3/4 points during that spell. They also spent 6/7 minutes of that 10 minute sin bin killing time by lying down on the ground injured.

So lower your expectations and enjoy the league, whether we win, lose or draw, enjoy the experience of playing the big teams in Division One. Majority of the big teams use the league to bed in new players, try out new things, whereas the smaller ones are using it to prepare for championship, and come the business end of the championship, its likely that Cavan wont be in it. Now, having said that, all is not lost, if this team can get its act together and put in a 70 minute performance like the first half Kerry performance, I genuinely think they could challenge for an Ulster Final. Monaghan can be hit or miss, Tyrone are beatable, and depending on how Donegal get on this year, and Ulster Final is not out of reach."
No better than what was there already? I really think gearoid mckiernan is probably and was our best player last year by a long shot!!

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 05/02/2019 15:58:55    2162787

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Yes it is and deserves the praise as well. Congratulations to those that maintain it.

Lol."
Great pitch, grand New Jersey's but all of these things don't make a great team unfortunately.
Apart from Gearoid , Mc Vitty and Martin Reilly what quality players do we have and would any of them make the Dublin team

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 05/02/2019 22:30:18    2162867

Replying To Virginia:  "Great pitch, grand New Jersey's but all of these things don't make a great team unfortunately.
Apart from Gearoid , Mc Vitty and Martin Reilly what quality players do we have and would any of them make the Dublin team"
Why do you want our players to make the Dublin team? We must be the hardest county for a player to commit to play for !! Because if you can't get on the Dublin team you are no good? Maybe they should all quit? Because us cavan fans can not be happy to be in div 1! We should be hammering Dublin and Kerry and galway mayo and all them teams after all we have a new manager there a couple of months now .

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 05/02/2019 23:27:17    2162882

Replying To Virginia:  "Great pitch, grand New Jersey's but all of these things don't make a great team unfortunately.
Apart from Gearoid , Mc Vitty and Martin Reilly what quality players do we have and would any of them make the Dublin team"
Don't start that crap.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 892 - 06/02/2019 06:29:28    2162896

We have no players who would make the dublin squad

EastCavan (Cavan) - Posts: 183 - 06/02/2019 12:59:25    2162963