He's excellent in both roles - but I think we need him close to goals. We have others who can run at teams but over the last 2 seasons he's been our biggest threat in close to goal. I agree about not moving Clarke. Leave him in midfield. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5193 - 26/03/2018 09:35:19 2088120 Link 0 |
Well, I will put my hands up and say I got this one very wrong. Humble pie has never tasted so good though. Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 26/03/2018 10:03:37 2088145 Link 0 |
C Clarke is a wing half back with freedom to come forward no where else.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/03/2018 10:07:40 2088148 Link 0 |
Great result yesterday but unlike the last promotion from div 2 Cavan know that they got up by playing averagely at times. When this subject was started last September a lot of people were wondering would cavan even stay up in the division but i'll allow myself to self indulge for a moment and remember asking why shouldn't they be favourites for promotion.!!! theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 26/03/2018 10:08:52 2088152 Link 0 |
Great result , fair play to all involved. A win next Sunday would be massive confidence wise. Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 26/03/2018 11:44:55 2088210 Link 0 |
5 years ago, yes. He hasn't played there for club or county in years and has seriously bulked up. He needs to form part of the spine of the team. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5193 - 26/03/2018 11:52:40 2088216 Link 0 |
Promotion was our aim too- this is just a nice bonus. But I do think we need the win more than Ros do. Win or lose, ye will beat leitrim or NY (Who I fancy to beat leitrim). If we lose, particularly if we lose heavily, then we could be in trouble going up to Ballybofey! cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5193 - 26/03/2018 11:57:09 2088220 Link 0 |
With the poor end to last year and the close season defections it did not bode well. Great credit due to management and especially players for the culture that has led to such a spirited performance as yesterdays. The team wanted this so much and want to play for Cavan, to see a Cavan team come out on the right side of such a titanic struggle despite being second best at times was very pleasing and would make you proud. breffni47 (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 26/03/2018 12:00:23 2088225 Link 0 |
Clarke is not a midfielder. Centre Back or full back is where he should be. Ciaran Brady is a wing back, his natural game is to attack, and we are left too wide open at CB when he goes forward. Crash Bang Wallop (None) - Posts: 268 - 26/03/2018 12:15:33 2088232 Link 1 |
It was only when Clarke went midfield we started competing. In case you missed it the first quarter he was full back and we were cleaned at midfield. I'd be more worried about gearoid going missing the whole game at midfield
fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 26/03/2018 14:28:30 2088298 Link 0 |
We could do with getting Buchanan back in there
breffni47 (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 26/03/2018 15:36:04 2088339 Link 0 |
5 years ago, yes. He hasn't played there for club or county in years and has seriously bulked up. He needs to form part of the spine of the team. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 2911 - 26/03/2018 11:52:40 2088216 Yes he played very well in that position for the amalgamation as did Clerkin great to see both of them in at senior level . Has it been that long since they won the minor title against the gaels. My man of the match that day was Clerkin with Clarke a close second they both stood out then and have brought it to the next level. The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/03/2018 16:58:38 2088376 Link 0 |
He played wing back for our Seniors in the 2013 championship (although I think he wore number 2). Was very good all year and particularly excellent against Kerry in the quarter final.
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5193 - 26/03/2018 19:20:41 2088438 Link 0 |
Fair play to Mattie. The football isn't as good as it was the last time we got promoted but it did the job and hopefully we will put up better performances as the summer progresses. Sometimes you need to ride your luck. Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 26/03/2018 20:06:14 2088459 Link 0 |
Great to be promoted again . Over all our performance wasnt up to scratch . I hope tomas galligan recovers i think we need a midfielder badly, and mcveety to center back . I would love to see gps results from yesterday bradley was everywere played very well , when holla went to wing back he played well . I taught subs were strange . cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 26/03/2018 20:47:51 2088482 Link 0 |
In fairness with an extra man for most of the second half it was easier to move player's about which did put a different perspective on the game's outcome. Depends how Roscommon reacted to promotion along with Cavan for it will show next Sunday who celebrated the least. ?? Be nice to get a bit of senior silverware and it will give the lads some bragging rights going forward. Biggest game we have is against Donegal in the first round of the championship and to be honest I would be happy to lose against Roscommon and beat Donegal in the first round of Ulster. I think Tyrone will be hard to beat on their present form so what ever the outcome next Sunday let's not take our eye of whats ahead. Clare did well getting 7 points well done to them. The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 26/03/2018 21:21:04 2088500 Link 0 |
Brilliant result on Sunday. Well done Cavan. I couldn't care less about the "League" final. We should be given the cup for finishing Top. Galway should be League winners. It's a bloomin' league. That's how it's supposed to work. Donegal are a great team and are extremely unlucky to be relegated. They went toe-to-toe with the best teams in the country and pushed them all the way. They could have easily beaten Kerry in the first game and it looked like they were very unlucky yesterday too. They have improved vastly from last year and are my tip for Ulster 2018. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 27/03/2018 00:13:45 2088558 Link 0 |
I agree with your point, but Ros finished ahead of us on head to head.
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5193 - 27/03/2018 08:01:42 2088575 Link 2 |
Good idea, I agree. Give us the trophy any league table will show you we finished top under the rules of the league. OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1770 - 27/03/2018 09:45:57 2088599 Link 0 |
Good idea, I agree. Give us the trophy any league table will show you we finished top under the rules of the league. OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1017 - 27/03/2018 09:45:57 2088599 Just wondering how Roscommon are top of the table with +21 and Cavan have +23 is there another way of calculating how one finishes ahead of the other when they both have the same points ?? 11 Having said that the league is the league there is one cup and it was alway's the two top teams play each other to have bragging rights with their name on the Cup. To be honest promotion was good enough for me and there is a huge year next year having to play most of the top teams in the country. Staying in division 1 will be a huge ask but let's get this year over first before we start to worry about it. Best of luck Sunday bring back the silverware for your true supporters. The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 27/03/2018 11:38:17 2088640 Link 0 |