Hard luck to all yesterday. Disappointing but by no means a disaster. Was a tough battle. We are starting to get tested a lot more in the last couple of games which is no bad thing and there are plenty of areas for us to work on and plenty of scope for the players to improve. Consistency is an issue with us too so hopefully with more experience the younger lads will thrive. You can often learn more in defeat so if we regroup properly and come back more determined and cuter there's no reason why we can't beat Tipp at home. Would be great to get another crack at Roscommon before we go to Ballybofey. Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 19/03/2018 11:58:58 2085748 Link 0 |
The way the games fell in the group we had the 2 best teams in the last 2 games so it was likely it was always going to be decided on the last day. Huge difference in standard of div 2 to division 1 & while it would be extremely disappointing not to secure promotion given the position we put ourselves in if we are not able to beat either of the 2 best teams we have no business back in division 1. Am still confident that we can beat tipp especially if we get an extra week recovery. Home advantage & revenge for last year together with what should be a big vocal home support can also make a difference
bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 19/03/2018 12:07:18 2085753 Link 1 |
To progress we need to be in division one and play the top teams. In our own hands now. Not good to see us falling away in the last 10 minutes of the game. Game was lost in those ten minutes!!!!!! Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 19/03/2018 12:44:15 2085775 Link 0 |
The game yesterday is a better measure of where we are at relative to 2 years ago. We have work to do to beat Tipp otherwise we have no business in Dub 1 and will then be 2 years with no progress. Big questions to be asked now. shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/03/2018 17:17:06 2085898 Link 0 |
The way the games fell in the group we had the 2 best teams in the last 2 games so it was likely it was always going to be decided on the last day. Huge difference in standard of div 2 to division 1 & while it would be extremely disappointing not to secure promotion given the position we put ourselves in if we are not able to beat either of the 2 best teams we have no business back in division 1. Am still confident that we can beat tipp especially if we get an extra week recovery. Home advantage & revenge for last year together with what should be a big vocal home support can also make a difference bond (Longford) - Posts: 150 - 19/03/2018 12:07:18 Bond revenge for what this Tip match was lost by one bad decision on the side line yes on the side line. Mossy Corr was by far the best Cavan player on the pitch he scored 2 points and was lording the middle of the park. Substituted for what reason I will never understand for he was playing with passion and heart, from that moment on Tip ran riot up the middle and the result was not because of what the players did but what management did plain and simple. I make no apology for saying this either. The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/03/2018 19:47:56 2085969 Link 0 |
What penalty decision was McGleenan giving out about not getting in his interview does anyone know? Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/03/2018 20:17:27 2085988 Link 0 |
Presume it was the Faulkner incident when Mackey's shot dropped short into the area. It was shown on tg4 tonight. Wasn't a penalty. What was a disgraceful decision though was the point that was allowed to stand after a roscommon player had clearly bodychecked the Cavan defender, leaving the shooter free. Black card was shown but the point given. Very strange call at a key moment.
GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 19/03/2018 20:52:44 2086017 Link 0 |
Yeah that was wrong as it showed tonight ref seen it so either let it go no free no card or free put and card. Don't know how he booked him and let play continue. Taught he had bad day at the office but for both team was very hard on us first half and hard on Cavan second half
Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 19/03/2018 21:09:25 2086026 Link 0 |
Wasn't the losing of the game for us tho. We were in control early on completely disappeared in midfield late in the 1st half. Then we went ahead in the 2nd and never kicked on. Roscommon will beat Cork and go up. It makes our game with Tipp a winner takes all game regardless of their result v down. As said above, if we can't beat Tipp we have no business in division 1 - league tables don't lie after 7 games. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5193 - 19/03/2018 21:36:57 2086033 Link 0 |
Revenge quite obviously for losing at home to them last year. You may blame management for substituting a player maybe you are right & maybe you are wrong. The fact of the matter is that they beat us comprehensively in the end with their best player Quinlivan only featuring for the last 10 mins. Far to easy for people to criticize management here. As lion hearted as mossy was I don't think his substitution was the only reason we let a six point lead slip & lost by 4
bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 19/03/2018 21:51:27 2086037 Link 0 |
Revenge quite obviously for losing at home to them last year. You may blame management for substituting a player maybe you are right & maybe you are wrong. The fact of the matter is that they beat us comprehensively in the end with their best player Quinlivan only featuring for the last 10 mins. Far to easy for people to criticize management here. As lion hearted as mossy was I don't think his substitution was the only reason we let a six point lead slip & lost by 4 bond (Longford) - Posts: 151 - 19/03/2018 21:51:27 2086037 It was the turning point in the match if you were at it you know I am stating facts. I will not blame the manager for if you were at that match he had no input into any changes made FACTS this is my opinion anyway. The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/03/2018 22:45:15 2086055 Link 0 |
Sean please explain how a manager had no input to changes been made???? That's his job ... he has the final say ...
kupa (Monaghan) - Posts: 281 - 20/03/2018 09:47:38 2086110 Link 0 |
So do we know yet when the Tipp match will take place? ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 20/03/2018 10:06:14 2086126 Link 0 |
Yes I was at the game & I haven't a clue who made the substitution but surely no change was made without the managers approval????
bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 20/03/2018 10:41:05 2086150 Link 0 |
The fact of the matter is we are not good enough yet to play Div 1 football so another year in Div 2 would do us no harm at all. Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 20/03/2018 11:37:16 2086184 Link 0 |
So do we know yet when the Tipp match will take place? ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 20/03/2018 12:15:16 2086203 Link 0 |
We beat Tipp without playing well at all. |So going into the game thinking you have no chance against them is a terrible attitude. And dispite what you think i reckon we are better than them and will beat them again should we face them
Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 20/03/2018 12:16:28 2086204 Link 0 |
Ild be shocked if ye did not beat them to be honest. There good in semple, not so good outside it. If ye stop them scoring goals I cant see Cavan losing. OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1770 - 20/03/2018 12:51:17 2086216 Link 0 |
Some nonsense by inaroundthehouse as usual. If you come in the top 2 you deserve and are good enough for Div 1. Thats the whole idea of a league. Even if we went up and came down again, it is better for the players and GAA community in Cavan as a whole to be playing the best teams, inviting the dubs to town getting a win in Castlebar. Only a fool would turn the opportunity down. fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1485 - 20/03/2018 13:53:43 2086236 Link 0 |
Some nonsense by inaroundthehouse as usual. If you come in the top 2 you deserve and are good enough for Div 1. Thats the whole idea of a league. Even if we went up and came down again, it is better for the players and GAA community in Cavan as a whole to be playing the best teams, inviting the dubs to town getting a win in Castlebar. Only a fool would turn the opportunity down. fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 945 - 20/03/2018 13:53:43 2086236 Post Reply Link 0 0 I agree with you fredflint you can only improve by playing the top division. Cavan V Tip next Sunday at 3PM in Breifni Park The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 20/03/2018 14:25:17 2086246 Link 0 |