Munster Club SHC: Borris-Ileigh book final ticket at Glen Rovers' expense

November 10, 2019

Borris-Ileigh's Jerry Kelly in action against Glen Rovers

Newly crowned Tipperary champions Borris-Ileigh continued their winning ways in today’s Munster Club SHC semi-final at Semple Stadium.

The Premier County standard-bearers booked their final ticket courtesy of a 1-17 to 3-8 success over defeated Cork finalists Glen Rovers.

With the impressive Conor Kenny leading the way, the Dan Breen Cup winners raced into a four-point lead early on but their Cork opponents replied with a Patrick Horgan goal.

Undeterred, the home side went on to establish a 0-10 to 1-3 interval lead.

James Devaney then left Glen Rovers facing an uphill battle when finding the back of their net straight from the second-half throw-in.

To their credit, the Rebel County representatives refused to throw in the towel and a second Horgan goal, via a free, gave them a glimmer of hope.

Borris-Ileigh’s supporters were forced to endure a nervy finish but when an injury-time Mark Dooley three-pointer left Glen Rovers within striking distance but their team weathered the storm to set up a final showdown with holders Ballygunner who defeated Patrickswell by 0-17 to 0-9 at Walsh Park today.

Left-half forward Kenny top scored for the winners with 0-6 while Kevin Maher and Jerry Kelly were on target with 0-5 and 0-4 respectively.

At the opposite end of the field, All-Star Horgan finished the contest with 2-5 to his name.

Borris-Ileigh - J McCormack; S Burke, P Stapleton, L Ryan; S McCormack, B Maher (0-2, 1f, 1'65), R McCormack; T Ryan, D McCormack; Kieran Maher, N Kenny, C Kenny (0-6); Kevin Maher (0-5, 3f), J Kelly (0-4), JD Devaney (1-0). Subs: J Hogan for L Ryan, C Cowan for N Kenny, J Harkin for P Stapleton.

Glen Rovers - C Hickey; A Lynch, D Dooling, C Healy; R Downey, B Moylan, D Noonan; D Cronin, A O'Donovan; D Brosnan (0-2), P Horgan (2-5, 1-3f, 0-1'65), D Cunningham; C Dorris, S Kennefick, L Coughlan. Subs: M Dooley (1-0) for S Kennefick, G Kennefick (0-1) for C Dorris, E Murphy for L Coughlan, D Busteed for D Cunningham.

Referee - T Walsh.

Most Read Stories