2024 Masters Championship commences

May 10, 2024

Dublin's Bernard Brogan with a young fan. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

The 2024 All-Ireland Gaelic Masters Football Championship gets underway tomorrow (Saturday).

There are 25 teams taking part in the Over 40s competition, including newcomers Wicklow and Monaghan. Tyrone, who are seeking a four-in-a-row of Dr Mick Loftus Cups, open against Donegal, while last year’s runners-up Kerry also face a local derby against Cork. Dublin, who have been boosted by the addition of Bernard Brogan, take on Laois.

Each team will play six round-robin games between now and July 27, after which the table will decide which of the five competitions (Dr Mick Loftus Cup, Shield, Plate, Challenge Cup, Spirit Cup etc) they enter.

The Round 1 fixtures are as follows:

Louth v Down

Monaghan v Antrim

Donegal v Tyrone

Westmeath v Cavan

Roscommon v Sligo

Leitrim/Longford v Galway

Kildare v London

Clare v Limerick

Cork v Kerry

Waterford v Wicklow

Laois v Dublin

Armagh v Derry

Mayo bye

Most Read Stories