Derry eclipse Tyrone with strong finish to claim Division 2B crown

March 30, 2024

Derry's John Mullan has a shot at goal ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

Derry were crowned Allianz Hurling League Division 2B champions this evening thanks to a hard fought 1-14 to 1-8 win over Tyrone in Owenbeg.

With both sides already securing promotion ahead of this derby decider, it took a huge closing 10 minutes from the Oak Leafers to clinch the title on this occasion.

Underdogs coming in against their unbeaten neighbours, it was Tyrone that struck the first major blow in Owenbeg when Rory Weir’s 19th minute goal put them in front but the points of Cormac O’Doherty and Ruairi O Mianain for the hosts ensured nothing separated the sides at half-time (0-7 to 1-4).

Aidy Kelly’s frees ushered the Red Hands in front after the turnaround but they’d eventually ship a goal on the hour mark that saw Meehaul McGrath setting up substitute Sean Kelly through and he blasted to the Tyrone onion bag.

From there, Derry finished out the game like champions with points from O’Doherty and Sean Kelly sailing over to seal them the title during a dominant closing spell.

Most Read Stories