Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year announced

March 29, 2024

Ulster University's joint captains Ryan Magill and Peter Og McCartan lift the Sigerson Cup. ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

15 players from this season’s Sigerson Cup have been named as the 2024 Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year.

During this year’s Championship Ulster University took home the Sigerson Cup title for the first time since 2008 after defeating University College Dublin in the final at Austin Stack Park, Tralee.

In this year’s Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars 2024 Football Team of the Year, Sigerson Cup Champions, UU, have seven players included on the team. Beaten finalists UCD have five representatives on the team. Beaten semi-finalists, University of Limerick (UL) feature twice on the team while Maynooth University have a single player included.

2024 Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education Rising Stars Football Team of the Year

1.                   Conor Flaherty (UL, Claregalway & Galway)

2.                   Mark Dempsey (UL, Moorefield & Kildare)

3.                   Ryan Magill (UU, Burren & Down)

4.                   Josh Largo Ellis (UU, Irvinestown & Fermanagh)

5.                   Donncha Gilmore (UCD, Steelstown & Derry)

6.                   Ronan Mc Caffrey (UU, Teemore Shamrocks & Fermanagh)

7.                   Ben Mc Carron (UU, Steelstown & Derry)

8.                   Jonathan Lynam (UCD, The Downs & Westmeath)

9.                   Oisín McCann (UU, Killyclogher & Tyrone)

10.               Eoghan Frayne (Maynooth, Summerhill & Meath)

11.               Dáire Cregg (UCD, Boyle & Roscommon)

12.               Aaron Lynch (UCD, Trim & Meath)

13.               David Garland (UCD, Donaghmoyne & Monaghan)

14.               Niall Loughlin (UU, Greenlough & Derry)

15.               Darragh Canavan (UU, Errigal Ciarán & Tyrone)

GAA President Jarlath Burns, said: “I would like to congratulate each of the players and their institutions on their achievements throughout this season’s Championship and for being named on the Football Team of the Year. The determination and skill on display in this year’s Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Championships has been immensely enjoyable to watch, and the players named here serve as fantastic representatives of their third level institutions. We look forward to celebrating their achievements at a formal ceremony later in the year.”

The Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Star Hurling and Football Player of the Year will be announced at the Higher Education Awards Ceremony on April 1st. These awards will acknowledge one outstanding performance from this year’s Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup Championships.

Most Read Stories