Tooreen complete Connacht Club IHC three-in-a-row

November 27, 2023

Tooreen players make their way out at Croke Park. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

Tooreen’s recent dominance of the Connacht IHC continued when they edged out Ballinderreen 0-21 to 0-19 in a thrilling final at Athleague.

In a repeat of the 2017 decider, the Mayo senior kingpins recovered from a slow start to lead by two points at half-time with Eoin Delaney leading the charge. Robbie Meehan reduced the deficit to the minimum on the restart before Tooreen put daylight between the sides with a run of scores from Delaney, Kenny Feeney and Shane Boland.

Three Niall Coen points left the minimum in it again, but the Galway side couldn’t regain parity as Ray Larkin’s three-in-a-row champions progressed to an All-Ireland semi-final against the Munster champions, Castlelyons (Cork) or Corofin (Clare).

Most Read Stories