Tourlestrane soar to record six in-a-row

October 24, 2021

Tourlestrane's Cathal Henry gets away from Coolera-Strandhill's Kevin Banks. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

A dominant third-quarter saw Tourlestrane claim a record sixth Sligo SFC title in-a-row at Markievicz Park this afternoon.

Kevin Johnston's outstanding charges crushed Coolera-Strandhill's dreams of a first Owen  B. Hunt Cup success since 2005 courtesy of a 2-12 to 0-7 victory.

It was Coolera-Strandhill that led by 0-3 to 0-2 at the end of a drab opening half, but within eight minutes of the restart Tour' kicked 1-5 without reply to edge 1-8 to 0-4 clear, with James Leonard pouncing for the game's opening goal on 43 minutes.

Tourlestrane’s James Leonard celebrates after scoring the opening goal. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Coolera-Strandhill were left shell-shocked and their misery was compounded by the sending off of Kevin Banks on a second yellow card before Johnny Kelly raised a second green flag to wrap up another memorable win for Tourlestrane.

Most Read Stories