Clonkill Camogie notes

January 20, 2020


Clonkill Camogie  Club extends its deepest sympathy to the following families on their recent bereavements

The Dolan Family, Clonkill and Mullingar on the death of Vincent Dolan 

The Greene & Carey Family, Rathcorbally, Monilea, & Sion Hill, Killucan  on the death of  Michelle Greene Carey may he rest in peace

The Kincaid and Daly Family, Rathconnell, Mullingar on the death Bernie Daly may he rest in peace.

The Loran Family Killucan on the death of Patrick Loran may he rest in peace.

The Loran Family Killucan on the death of James (Jim) may he rest in peace 

The Casey Family Mullingar on the death of Paddy Casey may he rest in peace.

The Ennis Family, Castletown Geoghegan on the death of Patrick Ennis, may he rest in peace 

The Wallace Family, Gaybrook, Mulingar  on the death of Lee Wallace, may he rest in peace 

The Rooney Family, Killucan on the death of Jimmy Rooney may he rest in peace 

The Mooney Family, Raharney on the death of Joseph Rooney 

The Feerick Family, Multyfarnham on the death of Michael Feerick 

The Shally and McHugh Family Strokestown and Mullingar on the death of Anne may she rest in peace

The Lynch Family, Killucan, on the death of William (Billy) Lynch may he rest in peace 

The Daly Family, Taugmon and Mullingar on the death of  Josie Daly may she rest in peace

The Greville Family, Monilea and Mullingar on the death Josie Greville may she rest in peace 



Committee for 2020 

Chairperson – Maire Nea 

 Assistant Chairperson  – Karen Gavigan 

Secretary – Ger Harding 

Assistant Secretary – Zita Dowdall

Joint Treasurers – Paul Folan & Eleanor Kearney 

Club Registrar – Denise Muldoon 

PRO – Dee O’Reilly 

Irish Language Officer -  Shauna Kenny 

Child Welfare -  Zita Dowdall 

DLP – Alison Keogh 


Minor Camogie Final

Minor Final


Clonkill V Raharney   -  04 January 2020 – Kinnegad 2pm


Panel as follows : Allanagh Dowdall, Katie Myler Laura Gaffney, Katie Daly, Kristabella Tamosiunaite,  Caoimhe Scally , Chloe Devine Scally,  Ellie O Brien, Caoimhe Coogan,  Eve Wallace  Megan Dowdall Chloe Galligan, Roseleen Daly, Aoife Murtagh,  Ciara Conneely,  Annemarie Reilly, Chloe Coffey, Kaylin Murray


Management: Paddy Dowdall, Denise Muldoon, Dickie McGrath, Paul Kellaghan and Dee O’Reilly 



The Minor Final was finally played on the 4th of January 2020 and credit must go to both teams, who turned in great performances on the day.


It has been a long year for both club trying to keep training and interest going late into the year/early into the New Year.


However, as both clubs are steeped in passion for the game, the standard of camogie was of no surprise.


A familiar pairing of Raharney and Clonkill in the final and a very hard one to call who would be the winners.


Clonkill were title holders and when picking joint Captains Allanagh Dowdall and Megan Dowdall, we did wonder, and hope would it ever be a case that Dowdalls do the Double.


In fairness to the Clonkill Girls and the Management they keep things ticking over and after the disappointment of their senior defeat, it was thought let’s get out there and maybe try to claim some silverware.


The panel of players is small, but reflective of quality more so than quantity.


On the day it was Clonkill who got out of the traps first,  and lead throughout the game, the played with composure, commitment and passion and their attitude of relentless tackling for every ball for the 60 minutes was to be admired.


It was without a doubt a team performance which lead to the win and with players lining out 1 to 18 having an impact on the result of game.


Allanagh Dowdall, took command in goals which is a familiar task to her, the experience which Allanagh has gained throughout the Senior Campaign and last year’s minor final was evident as she put in a great shift with some great save and a clean sheet at the end of the 60 minutes.


Laura Gaffney and Caoimhe Scally took leaders roles also and the experience of being on the senior team stood to them .


Katie Myler, Anne Marie O’Reilly, Kristabella Tamosiunate,  Chole Galligan, Caomihe Coogan, Chloe Devine Scally and Eve Wallace    had a fine hour, with great battling displays and handled their lines well


Aoife Murtagh, Megan Dowdall, Roseleen Daly and Ellie O’Brien all got their name on score sheet.  

Megan Dowdall had a particularly good day, with many scores 


Ciara Conneely was a factor in many of the scores which were got, and she did trojan work in the forward line.



With introduction of the three girls, Katie Daly, Chloe Coffey and Kaylin Murray in the second half saw us run out worthy winners in the end.


A delighted Allanagh Dowdall and Megan Dowdall accepted the cup on behalf of the delighted Clonkill Side.



Wedding Bells

Congratulations to Dave O’Connor and Eimear Kearney who recently became husband and wife.  Wishing you a lifetime of health and happiness from all at Clonkill Camogie Club.



Well done to Dickie McGrath on his recent win of the Hurling Club Lotto.

Dickie was part of the Minor and Senior Management Panel for 2019, he will surely spend a few euro on us at the Dinner Dance 



Congratulations to Megan Dowdall  who won the 2019 May Sports Star Award and also readers choice.

We also would like to congratulate the Westmeath Camogie Team on the 2019 September Sport Star Award.

We would also like to congratulate, Pamela Greville who received the 2019 February Sports Star Award and also the Sports Star of the Year Award, another amazing achievement for an incrediable lady.

 Dinner Dance 

Clonkill Hurling and Camogie Club will be holding a Dinner Dance on the 24th of January next in the Annebrook House Hotel.

Contact Kevin Muldoon, Marie Nea  or Declan Leonard for Tickets


Club Email address 

[email protected] is an email address set up for our members, parents and players.

The objective of the email address is to give people an opportunity to have their say whether it be positive feedback or constructive criticism, ideas regarding fund raising or any matter which they want to be heard.   

All emails will be dealt with by the Committee.

For any queries on any of the above please contact any committee member. 


If you have any messages of congratulations or votes of sympathy which you wish to have included in the club notes, please contact any committee member  or 087 9337527 and we will include them if at all possible.

Most Read Stories