HL quarter-final: Deise run Clare ragged

March 16, 2019

Clare's David Fitzgerald and Austin Gleeson of Waterford

Waterford 0-31

Clare 1-14

Waterford set up an Allianz Hurling League semi-final meeting with Galway next weekend after producing a devastating second half performance to brush Clare aside at Walsh Park.

Trailing by two points at the break, Pauric Fanning's charges outscored the visitors by 0-20 to 0-4 in the second period to run out emphatic winners. Stephen Bennett led the scoring with 0-16, while Pauric Mahony and Austin Gleeson hit five points each in what was the Deise's most impressive display so far this year.

Despite playing with a strong wind, Clare only led by 1-10 to 0-11 at the interval. Mahony, Gleeson and Colm Roche were among the hosts' early scorers, while Tony Kelly and Peter Duggan - who was sent off in the closing stages - were on target at the other end. 

Duggan scored the only goal from a 15th minute penalty to give the Banner a five-point cushion, but five frees from Bennett meant Waterford were within striking distance at the break. 

Bennett and Peter Hogan had the Deise level within two minutes of the restart before the former gave them a lead they wouldn't relinquish from a sideline cut. Duggan posted a similar score for the Banner six minutes later, but they would only add three more points (two from Duggan and one from Tony Kelly) as the home side assumed complete control.

Clare's fate was sealed when Conor Cleary was issued with a straight red card following an altercation with Stephen Bennett nine minutes from time. 

Waterford - S O’Keeffe; S McNulty (0-1), Philip Mahony, N Connors; C Lyons, K Moran, A Gleeson (0-5); J Barron, C Roche (0-1); J Prendergast, M Kearney, Pauric Mahony (0-5); P Hogan (0-2), Stephen Bennett (0-16, 14f), Shane Bennett (0-1sl). Subs: C Dunford for J Prendergast, M Shanahan for M Kearney, S Roche for J Barron, DJ Foran for Shane Bennett, M Walsh for A Gleeson.

Clare - D Tuohy; S Morey, D McInerney, J Browne; P O’Connor, C Cleary (0-1), C Malone (0-2); S Golden, C Galvin; P Duggan (1-8, 1-0pen, 0-7f, 0-1sl), T Kelly (0-3), A McCarthy; G Cooney, A Shanagher, P Collins. Subs: R Taylor for S Golden, D Fitzgerald for S Morey, D Ryan for C Galvin, C Guilfoyle for A Shanagher, M O’Malley for P Collins.

Referee - S Cleere.

Most Read Stories