€10,000 NO WINNER
Numbers Drawn

2 4 13 15

The weekly winners of €30 were

Mary Fogarty, C/o S.H.H P Menton.
Áine McNeill, Racecourse Road.
 Teresa Kilduff, Glanduff, Kiltoom.
 Selena & Jay, C/o Railway Bar.
Thanks to everyone who bought and sold tickets your support is very much appreciated.

Health & Wellbeing News

1. Defibrillator Training Classes
We are making arrangements to run Defibrillator Training Classes (DATES TBC in
next weeks newsletter) and we urge as many club members as possible to attend.  

2. GAA Mental Health Charter
The GAA’s Mental Health charter is a policy document that helps clubs develop a
culture that supports and promotes positive mental health.
The resource is designed to reinforce the GAA’s GIVE RESPECT GET RESPECT
initiative’s positive message and transfer it into the world of mental wellbeing.
It outlines a club culture that is inclusive and open and one that holds the following
values clear.

Respect : Everyone in the club will respect the rights, dignity and worth of
each person, regardless of ability, age, culture or ethnic origin, gender, sexual
orientation, or religious belief.
Encouraging : The club will ensure that everyone is treated equally, fairly,
and encouraged to do their best.
 Supportive : The club will ensure that all members are aware of and
encouraged to use the support system that the club and its varied membersprovide.
Positive : Everyone’s positive contribution to club life is recognised and we
understand that every member has an important role to play.
Enabling : We will create an environment and atmosphere within all club
activity that enables all members of the Association to maintain as well as
develop their mental health and emotional wellbeing.
Considerate : Everyone within our club will be listened to and be given an
opportunity to contribute to express their opinions without reprisal or
judgement.
 Tolerant : An element of discipline will underpin our club to ensure that our
games are controlled and that values such as honesty, equality, and fair play
are promoted at all times.

25 Card Game

Winner of the 25 Card game on Monday 11 th of March in The Hyde Centre was Jimmy Naughton and the runner’s up were Damien
McSharry & Shane Hoare. Thank you for your continued support. New players always welcome Mondays at 8.30pm.

U14 Camogie
Well done to our U14 camogie girls who had a decisive victory against
Tulsk today. A great start to our season. Training in the Hyde tomorrow
6.45-7.45pm. No training Saturday. Next match next week against St
Dominic’s.
Hurleys for sale
We have hurleys for sale in the club if parents or coaches wish to
contact me on 0863466465.
22”, 24” cost €10 each.
26”, 28” cost €15 each. 30”, 32” cost €20 each.
33”, 34”, 35” cost €25 each.

U10 Hurlers
Our U - 10 hurlers continued their indoor programme last Monday . 34
players attended . The theme of the session was “ An introduction to
field position “
The lads are seen listening intently to their coaches !!!!!

U10’s & U12’s
This was a Day out for the Roscommon Gaels U-10’s and U-10’s
Footballers and Hurlers to promote the Values that lay within the Club
grassroots of the GAA. It was a very memorable day for all Kids and
Adults alike, with the trip starting out on the famous Club Rossie Bus,
which was great excitement for all.

The 15 minute walk to Croke Park from Mountjoy Square was a sight to
behold, with Roscommon Gales flags been held aloft, much to the
bemusement from the rest of the onlooking supporters. There was great
banter between supporters and the Guards on duty outside Croke Park.
After a quick visit to the Croke Park Museum, we made our way to our
seats in the Cusack Stand.

To great excitement from our Roscommon Gaels crew, TJ Reid( 3 Times
Hurling All Star and current Kilkenny Captain), Mick Fennelly (Ballyhale
Shamrocks Captain) and the legendary Marty Morrissey came over to us
for pictures and banter.

With great wins for both Ballyhale Shamrocks and Corofin, it was a
fantastic experience for all who attended. We finished the day off with a
treat in Supermacs in Maynooth, who were extremely accommodating
and friendly.

Our youth in Roscommon Gaels left dreaming of some day having the
same outing again, except this time they will be players and not
supporters. Hopefully there dreams will come true!

U12 Football
U12 Football is back we had our first session last week, due to the
pitches been waterlogged we trained in the Hyde. Training will continue
Wednesday’s in the Hyde Centre from 8-9pm a message will go out to
parents. We are delighted to have our new coach Joanne Walsh
coaching our U12 Girls. We look forward to working along side Joanne
for the year to come. Joanne is no stranger to the field. Joanne is
currently teaching in Roscommon and plays with Carnacon. Good luck
Joanne with the season ahead.

U14 Football
All our training is back in full swing, very large numbers are attending all
sessions and the girls can’t wait to get back out on the pitch to start their
games. Training this week on Wednesday at 6.30-8pm and on Friday
6.30-8pm outdoor weather permitting. A text will go out to parents.

U16 Football
Training continues for our U16 girls. We had a bye this week in the
league. Next game Round 3 is next Sunday v Shannon Gaels. This is
an away game. Venue tbc a text will go out to confirm.
Junior Ladies
Junior Co. League Rd 3:  Roscommon Gaels 0-8; Oran 3-5.

Our third Junior League outing saw a much improved performance
against Oran today at Rockfield. Oran were 7 points ahead at half time
but we should probably have enjoyed a decent lead facing into the wind,
and rain, which would have changed the complexion of the game if we
hadn’t so many wides. Oran made better use of their chances in the
second half to run out winners on the day. Credit to both sides who gave
it all in a game which stretched energy levels to the limit. After one win,
this was our second defeat in the league but all is not lost and we look
forward to the upcoming fixture against Kilbride.

Support!
Please support all our teams as they compete in their various fixtures –
it’s so important to all the players to see lots of support and
encouragement on the side-lines – no matter what their age :-)!!  – It
really does make a difference.
Especially the home games – what better way to pass an evening or
morning – stroll up to the pitch, bring the kids and enjoy the fresh air
while supporting your club.
Serious Support for all our players – don’t forget the club colours :-)

The GAA are hiring.

Third Level Students required for Cul Camp Employment:
Roscommon Coaching and Games Development are seeking
applications from third level students who wish to gain employment on
our football & Hurling Cul Camps this summer and must apply with CV
and cover letter to [email protected]
We are asking clubs to pass this information onto their third level
students.
All applicants must be third level.
Coaching background if possible.
Must have GAA Garda Vetting.

Award One Football Course:
Roscommon Coaching and Games Development are holding Award
One football Course on the following dates.
Friday                  March 22nd
Saturday             March 23rd
Saturday             March 30th
Venue    Scoil Mhuire Strokestown/GAA pitch.
Coaches must be registered before they commence the course please
contact Ollie Lennon to register
[email protected]

Most Read Stories