Br Bosco Cup quarter-finals: holders march on

February 16, 2019

Brian O'Hanlon St Pats with Ian O'Rourke Marist during the Leinster Colleges SF A quarter final at Cusack Park Mullingar

Naas CBS remain firmly on course to retain the Br Bosco Cup (Leinster Post Primary Schools SF 'A' championship) after hammering Kildare rivals Scoil Mhuire by 4-19 to 1-5 in today's quarter-final at Hawkfield.

Fielding just four of last year's winning team, Naas dominated from the start and led by 1-9 to 0-3 at half-time. Mikey McGovern top-scored for the winners with 1-7. 

A fancied St. Pat's, Navan are also through to the semi-finals after seeing off last year's runners-up Marist College, Athlone by 4-8 to 2-6 at TEG Cusack Park. Colm O'Rourke's charges led by 2-4 to 1-3 at the break.

In the battle of the combined schools at IT Blanchardstown, Wicklow Schools defeated their Offaly counterparts on a 4-7 to 0-10 scoreline.

The other quarter-final between Moate CS and Colaiste Eoin is heading to a replay after extra-time failed to separate the teams in Kinnegad. Moate led from the fourth minute, when Aaron Nugent netted, until the sixth minute of injury-time when Tomas O Neill scored an equalising free.

A Tomas O hEachthigheirn goal in the first period of extra-time gave the Stillorgan outfit the lead for the first time, but the Westmeath side hit back with a goal from Roan Sweeney to earn them a 2-4 to 1-7 draw.

Most Read Stories