Mayo SFC: Race for Moclair Cup down to eight

September 12, 2018

The Castlebar Mitchels players celebrate after retaining the Mayo SFC title.
©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.

The race for the Moclair Cup is down to eight after the group stage of the Mayo SFC came to a conclusion last weekend.

Reigning champions Castlebar Mitchels cruised to a 3-12 to 0-12 victory over Ballaghaderreen to take spot in Group 1. Ballagh' also advance despite first their defeat of the campaign.

In Group 2, Garrymore and Moy Davitts enjoyed wins over Knockmore and Charlestown respectively to reach the knockouts.

Westport continued their winning run under James Horan by beating Claremorris, 1-13 to 2-8, to finish as Group 3 winners. Both teams are through to the quarter-finals.

Mitchels' main title challengers, Ballintubber and Breaffy comfortably progress from Group 4. Ballintubber overcame Kiltane by 2-18 to 0-5 while Breaffy beat Davitts by 0-17 to 0-5.

The draw for the Mayo SFC quarter-finals took place on Monday night. All four games will form part of two double-headers at MacHale Park next weekend and will be shown live on Mayo GAA TV.

Here's all the Mayo SFC round 3 results and quarter-final/relegation play-off fixtures...

Saturday 8 September

Group 1
Castlebar Mitchels 3-12 Ballaghaderreen 0-12

Group 3
Hollymount-Carramore 1-14 Crossmolina 0-17

Group 4
Ballintubber 2-18 Kiltane 0-5
Breaffy 0-17 Davitts 0-5

Sunday 9 September

Group 1
Ballina Stephenites 1-8 Aghamore 0-11

Group 2
Knockmore 0-17 Garrymore 2-14
Moy Davitts 1-20 Charlestown 1-6

Group 3
Westport 1-13 Claremorris 2-8

Saturday 22 September

Breaffy v Westport, MacHale Park, 6pm
Ballintubber v Moy Davitts, MacHale Park, 7.30pm

Relegation play-off
Aghamore v Davitts, Ballyhaunis, 4pm

Sunday 23 September

Castlebar Mitchels v Claremorris, MacHale Park, 1pm
Garrymore v Ballaghaderreen, MacHale Park, 2.30pm

Relegation play-off
Knockmore v Crossmolina, Ballina, 1pm

Most Read Stories