Ladies team news: Cork make two changes for Waterford clash

May 24, 2019

Cork's Eimear Meaney and Niamh Cotter celebrate. ©INPHO/Bryan Keane.

Compiled by Declan Rooney

EPHIE Fitzgerald’s Lidl National League Division 1 Champions Cork have made two changes to their starting team as they prepare for Sunday’s TG4 Munster Senior Championship Round 2 clash with Waterford.

From the Lidl NFL Division 1 Final victory over Galway, Cork have made two switches with Eimear Meaney starting in the full-back line, while up front, Sadhbh O’Leary is also in from the start for last year’s All-Ireland finalists.

Waterford, meanwhile, are unchanged from the Round 1 victory over Kerry, which saw the Déise begin their Championship campaign with a bang. Megan Dunford misses out again due to the injury she picked up in Waterford’s Lidl NFL Division 2 final win over Kerry.

Waterford had scorched past the Kingdom in that decider and they scored a repeat victory over over Kerry in the white heat of Championship.

Cork and Waterford clash on Sunday at 5pm at Cork IT, and this is a first Championship outing for the Leesiders since the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Senior Final, when they lost out to Dublin in front of a record 50,141 attendance at Croke Park.

On Saturday, Tipperary welcome Clare to Sean Treacy Park in Tipperary Town for Round 2 of the TG4 Munster Intermediate Championship.

Tipp, with Aishling Moloney in scintillating form, enjoyed a big win over Limerick in their first outing, while Clare will be having their first outing in the 2019 Championship.

Tipperary have made five changes from that win a fortnight ago, while Clare make four alterations to the team that defeated Waterford in their final Division 2 league match on 7 April.

Tipperary (v Clare): L Fitzpatrick; E Buckley, M Curley, N Martin; A R Kennedy, S Lambert, L Dillon; R Daly, A McCarthy; N Lonergan, A Moloney, C Condon; C Lonergan, A Carey, E Morrissey.

Clare (v Tipperary): C Harvey; E O’Dea, E O’Gorman, G Harvey; C O’Leary, L Ryan, S Ni Chonnaill; A Reidy, E O’Connor; R Considine, T Kelly, S Bohannon; G Nolan, N O’Dea, C Callinan.

Cork (v Waterford): M O'Brien; C O'Shea, E Meaney, M Duggan; S Kelly, A Hutchings, E Kiely; O Farmer, M O'Callaghan; C O'Sullivan, N Cotter, D Kiely; S O'Leary, L Coppinger, O Finn.

Waterford (v Cork): R Landers; A Mullaney, C McGrath, R Casey; Kate McGrath, Karen McGrath (c), R Tobin; E Murray, K Murray; K Hogan, C Fennell, M Delahunty; E Fennell, M Ryan, A Wall.

Most Read Stories