HS hurling team of the week

June 03, 2019

Fans shelter from the rain before the Munster SHC round 3 clash between Clare and Tipperary at Cusack Park, Ennis. ©INPHO/James Crombie.

 Check out who made the cut on our team of the week after Tipperary trounced Clare and Limerick got the disappointment of their defeat to Cork out of their system…

1. Nickie Quaid (Limerick)

The Treaty County’s netminder kept a clean sheet in their one-way traffic victory over Waterford.

2. Paddy Smyth (Dublin)

Along with Eoghan O’Donnell, Smyth was outstanding in the Dublin full-back line against Carlow.

3. Mike Casey (Limerick)

Limerick’s full-back nullified the threat of Maurice Shanahan who was withdrawn at half-time in Walsh Park.

4. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)

Maher’s shoulder on Cathal Malone midway through the second-half perfectly illustrated the physicality that the Premier County brought to the game in Ennis.

5. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)

Tasked with the job of keeping tabs on Tony Kelly, the experienced Maher didn’t let manager Liam Sheedy down.

6. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

The Thurles Sarsfields ace intercepted plenty of wayward Clare deliveries.

7. Joe Maskey (Antrim)

Maskey and the Saffrons came out on top in a thriller against Offaly and a win over Westmeath next time out would secure their place in this year’s Joe McDonagh Cup decider.

8. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

Finished the game with 1-2 to his name and brought great creativity to Tipp’s attacking game plan.

9. Cian Lynch (Limerick)

The ‘Hurler of the Year’ played a pivotal role as John Kiely’s side dominated the middle third exchanges against the Deise.

10. Gearoid Hegarty (Limerick)

John Kiely could afford the luxury of taking Hegarty off in the 61st minute after he had contributed 1-1 to his team’s tally in a ‘man-of-the-match’ performance.

11. Kyle Hayes (Limerick)

After the disappointment of the defeat to Cork, Hayes & Co took their frustrations out on Waterford.

12. Patrick Maher (Tipperary)

‘Bonner’ was a constant thorn in the side of the Clare defence and contributed 1-2 to his team’s winning total of 3-21.

13. John McGrath (Tipperary)

The Banner County's defence will be glad to see the back of McGrath after he raised six white flags from open play.

14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)

The Tipperary captain netted his 30th championship goal at Cusack Park.

15. Eamonn Dillon (Dublin)

Dillon’s two first-half goals sent Mattie Kenny’s side on the road to a comprehensive victory over Carlow.

Most Read Stories