Popular Posts from Horsebox77

Should The Rebel Flag Be Banned At Cork Matches? - 9 Like(s)
Ah FFS this has become ludicrous, what next making Sligo change back the all white jersey as the black one is offensive, Jesus wept, I read locally that one iconic club should consider chang8ng their name due to its affiliation to John Mitchels. If it causes offense , don't read or switch off and let us normal folk get on with our lives. We're turning into a bunch of snowflakes, christ.. seriously like.

Horsebox77 (National) - 12/06/2020 18:11:45

Kevin Cassidy On Laochra Gael - 9 Like(s)
Lads TG4 is a credit to our airwaves and has in truth a better grà for the Irish language - I often quoted my love of various Irish programmes and Seô Spoirt was brilliant under Dara O'Cinneide. Laochra Gael is on twenty years old which is mad... but lads the station is a credit to our nation.

Horsebox77 (National) - 08/01/2021 22:19:58

Kerry GAA thread - 7 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Good riddance to ytou."
What good can come out of such a post. Anyway, after over a decade , I'm signing out. Whether, you enjoyed my input or not, for all of you that I engaged with, debated and fought with, thanks, I thoroughly enjoyed the interaction. Admin, thanks for providing the facility to enable such interaction, regardless of how it unfolded, I appreciate the effort and time put in to governing the site and webpage. Everyone, best of luck and good health to you all. Slàn anois agus Tabhair Aire

Horsebox77 (National) - 02/10/2021 15:23:12

Kerry 2017 - 7 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lads have ye ever been down in the first 3-4 rows in the stand? It's brutal between the fence and the dugouts and people walking up and down you cant see a thing. I agree about the polls as well they shoud get a cantilever roof also if your stuck in the top of the stand corner of the new terrace the roof gets in the way and you can't see 1/3 of the pitch, it's a joke. Also the hermit is that 30 million devided between the 8 GAA stadiums? If so I can't imagine you'd get a roof on the st finians terrace for 4 million. Although it would be a great idea."
No K'boy, I read somewhere that €29 Million goes to the Dublin County Board for development etc and the other €1 Million is divided between the remaining 31 counties, New York and London, we should see €30,303.00 extra in our coffers by the end of the tournament all things going well.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 16/11/2016 12:53:06

Winter Waffle - 7 Like(s)
Let's be honest here. Firstly Killarney needs a serious face lift at the St Fenians end plus a new scoreboard. Secondly the stand poles have blocked the view of enough matches. I know that's massive structure wise but still it needs addressing . The bathrooms too at theterrace side are well past the sell by date. Tje wire fence should be removed similar to Tralee too as it adds to the viewing and atmosphere. Tralee needs to have a look at the Horan's end as well as around the old pavelon. But more importantly the turnstiles. Sick and tired of queuing at the same 3 or 4 stiles while the ones at the Mitchels end remain rust fastened and idle. Somehow too the dug out location needs to be addressed. Naming the terrace at the st finians end after Weeshie would be a nice touch too in my opinion.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 06/12/2018 19:30:33

MONEY - 7 Like(s)
The see our county board refused TG4's offer to broadcast the Kerry county final on Sunday as they are afraid it will have a knock on to the gate receipts. They are quoted as saying that showing the doubleheader quarter final in Tralee resulted in a 35% decrease in patrons. Serious own goal by county board, putting the euro before the Gaa punter. I've often praised and defended our county committee but can't defend this stance. Quite the opposite I'm afraid

Horsebox77 (National) - 05/11/2019 21:52:28

Off Season Discussions Thread - 7 Like(s)
Well in all honesty I have to take a big look in the mirror here. I have a completely different opinion and a new found respect for Dublin's Michael Darragh McCauley. Listening to him on tubs tonight, you know fair play to him, i ignorantly often only see the jersey and county of a person, I am the first to admit when I wrong someone and hand in heart I have. He came across as a level headed, grounded young man who is using his position and want I'd a better word his 'face' for greater good, Fair play to him.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 06/12/2019 22:55:41

Off Season Discussions Thread - 7 Like(s)
Hermit, K'boy, the two Gerrys Tralee & Genius, Gallarus, West, Kerry15 and the rest - it's been a pleasure and an education debating, agreeing fighting and ranting with you over the year, have a great Xmas and hope the new year brings you everything ye could possibly wish for and deserve. Thanks.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 21/12/2019 13:22:27

Kerry Vs. Mayo Super 8'S Game 1 - 7 Like(s)
If that is the ploy i'd rather they start Gavin Crowley or even Paul Murphy at wing forward but either way I don't like the sound of it, Griffin is limited at a push.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 10/07/2019 18:39:06

Sean Boylan Vs Jim Gavin - Who Is The Greatest? - 7 Like(s)
Neither, Micko by a county mile, back in his day there was no entourage no dietitians, stats man etc.... just him, two selectors on paper but where he had a deciding vote . It's just embarrassing from a Gaa hierarchy point of view that his achievements were never acknowledged and he was repeatedly passed over for the Ireland post at compromise rules level, Boylan, Johnno Keeffe, Early etc wouldn't lace micko''s boots and the Waterville man has prob forgotten more than most of them would ever know. It's a pity he wasn't afforded that respect

Horsebox77 (National) - 20/05/2020 18:41:24

Kerry Vs. Mayo Super 8'S Game 1 - 7 Like(s)
I actually can, and I don't think it's a case heart ruling the head. I think we have been beaten twice, we know the ploy, the plan and the methods. We have had three weeks to devise a plan and eight days to have players tuned into the Mayo system and how to counteract. We are at home, younger, fresher and with better footballing ability. We have to not take the ball into contact, quick fast direct ball will give our forwards the better option, if the first run by the forward is successful you are at a serious advantage. You just have to play to your advantage, I have no fear of AOS few years back Donegal bypassed him for 70 minutes. He has no pace and if a ref with conviction takes him to task the fight light darkens

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 09/07/2019 23:10:16

Kerry national football league 2016 - 6 Like(s)
ya I like that front 6, however I don't see Darran or Cooper starting come white heat of battle, I think they will both be resigned to a place off the bench, I agree that cooper's role should be closer to goal and not in a position where is he expected to track back - don;t shoot be here but we need to get the best out of him in that role nearer the posts as he hasn;t the legs to defend. I too would pump for Paul Geaney in the full forward role I think he offers more to us in the role as he can move swifter and has a greater scoring treat. Donaghy where I am a fan is in my opinion just the easy high ball option, Geaney being over the 6 foot can add both the movement and high ball option, Darran too off the bench is the ideal runner to come in a attack a tiring defense. Do any of ye see a starting role for Buckley. I want to add another name to the list now I am a huge fan too of Mikey Geaney, Every team needs a work horse that can win ball for breaks and support the attack while being an outlet for the defenders - lads not many places are set in stone bar Donnachadh, Sheehan and Buckley have to be central players same with Donaghy and I suppose Tommy, fill in the flanks and corners with options Like, James O"D, Mikey Geaney, Cooper, Darran, O'Brien, BJ Keane, new players like O'Sullivan, Walsh and Daly, U21's like Savage and Spillane... we have numerous options we could even throw Moran in a half forward role, he played there with the Narres a lot - being honest I'm struggling to pick a settle forty yarder and the inside corners - is James an Option for the 40 with Cooper inside? = on another matter one player that was on everyones lips was Jamie O'Sullivan but I see he has dropped off the panel completely since the McGrath Cup - it's fairly hard to predict our championship 15.... I wonder will many U21's feature... O'brien and Spillane turned the game last night

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 10/03/2016 20:43:57

ya but he will be match fit - one door closes etc, I hope Fitz bites the bullet and start either Sherwood or Sullivan

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 21/03/2016 19:51:13

Lads I have said it already we can test drive on Sunday week, we are in a league final on merit against a team unbeaten in over a yesr, this is all accomplished without our current All Star Midfielder and our main man in the forward who was player of the year in 2014. I wouldn't get too drawn into teh whole ref debate with the Dub posters, you will be on a hiding to nothing there. I am really looking forward to next Sunday week I wonder will Fitz promote any U21's back into the panel... surely Jack Savage and Killian are worth time inside,,

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 14/04/2016 20:18:31

Off Season Discussions Thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To traleegerry:  "Will the pitch be OK in bally Longford for Sunday I hope not surely they should show some common sense and refix for listowel"
No the game fixed for Bally, thing field always has a right thickness of grass on it which helps knit it. It is a heavy pitch and you know this might suit the physical player this might suit the underdog in Brosna

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 11/12/2019 18:24:04

well that was impressive to say the least: going on Sundays team the back positional sense was superb, I though Aidan played the sweeper to perfection and in fairness to Enright he had 2 tough games in 3 days - Monaghan though did play into our hands by persisting on playing the high long ball into Hughes in fairness to Griffin he played great football at the weekend the fact that our back were allowed to bring the ball 30 yards up field unopposed though say more about Monaghan than us. Donaghy has been outstanding in our midfield he's is a handful with and without the ball and I am half reluctant to remove him from there being honest, it's an option to have a serious look at lads just I know we are spoiled with Moran, Maher, Sheehan etc but lads he is way too good at the moment to move him.. what ye think? as for the forwards it was great to see so many points from play from all angles and distances, very impressed again with Buckley, Murphy and Cooper, he appears to showing the form of 2014, again I have to hand it to Fitz, he wasn;t afraid to make changes if things were not working out, this was the case with O'Brien, he again had a poor showing and I was not surprised to see him being called ashore, Fitzgerald again showed his worth, his point from play along with Donaghys distance score were heart warming. Bench too was emptied and game time was given to Geaney and Young and Brendan Sullivan, he is one man that is not afraid to mix it in fairness to him he will not be bullied Thing is lads in fairness we are more or less guaranteed a semi final place, unless cork beat us by over 20 points.. unlikely. anyway would you go full strength against Cork and lay down a marker and keep the momentum going or start the fringe players and let them get a taste of action against a Cork team that will be forced to battle for survival. Personally I would go fringe and give them the test of teats against cork.. something along the lines of: Keely, Kilkenny, Griffin, Enright, Fionn, Young, Lynn, O'Sullivan, Buckley, Mikey Geaney, Murphy, B.J. Keane, O'Brien, Fitzgerald and Geaney, but back to a point above.... would ye move or leave Donaghy at 8?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 28/03/2016 20:44:24

Hard to disagree with that, you may see Crowley starting cos the one thing that Donegal have is savage pace on the break, and we may struggle in that regard, for that reason I would be concerned for O'Mahoney I think he is struggling with the pace at the moment I though he was caught for a few against Down and Roscommon, I would like to see more of Brendan O'Sullivan he has really impressed me since I saw him on against Clare, Maybe too the decision to play Murphy in that role will mean a higher defensive line - I would like to see more of Sherwood to and I think the way Fitz rotates his bench everyone will see game time over the league, this is the big test though really looking forward to it.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 03/03/2016 13:50:29

Off Season Discussions Thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Nice 1, I wonder is Daniel O'Brien still with them this year?"
Ya Daniel O'Brien always impressed me even at U16 and Minor with Glenflesk you'd pick him out. He's been unlucky with injuries. I see where Dessie has confirmed that Cluxton is staying on and by all accounts with Diarmuid Connolly also back in the frame. It will.be hard to wrestle the canister awsy from the pale but I still maintain we're the best equipped to do so.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 10/01/2020 12:59:13

ya also gave us Bono...... enough said..

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 02/03/2016 15:16:17

All Ireland Championship 2019 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Topped a really tough group so fair play to Peter and all the lads. It was a subdued performance today without David Clifford but what a game from Sean O'Shea, another three points for Killian and a very good showing from Brian O'B. I'm delighted that he was given an opportunity further forward because I have always believed he was out of position in the corner. Moran was excellent again too. Even if 2019 ends for us next weekend I think we have seen enough to know the future is bright for this team under Peters guidance. We are defending better and building a very nice panel."
All valid points Gerry. It is a hugh achievement to top the group with Mayo and Donegal unbeaten.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - 03/08/2019 21:50:04