O Cinneide comments on 2005 AI Final

Replying To realdub:  "Don't mind Spillane, that Tyrone side were top notch, would love to see a hypothetical game between the present Dublin side and that Tyrone team."
Would have love to seen Kerry 07 with that Tyrone side or present Dubs!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/03/2017 17:21:14    1970767

Replying To TheHermit:  "Would have love to seen Kerry 07 with that Tyrone side or present Dubs!"
Yeh it's hard to believe how close the Dublin team of the time came to catching that great Kerry side in that AI semi, which was a cracker!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/03/2017 17:47:30    1970773

Replying To Damothedub:  "Guarantee one thing if that game took place , wouldn't finish with 30 men on the pitch , neither team ever take a backward step"
You're right, it would have been fierce!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/03/2017 17:48:41    1970774

Replying To TheHermit:  "Would have love to seen Kerry 07 with that Tyrone side or present Dubs!"
Did that 07 Kerry team not play that Tyrone team in 08...and lose

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 24/03/2017 18:15:02    1970781

Well look how far Kerry have fallen. .

And they still push the current Dublin team all the way.

The Kerry team of 07 would beat the current Dublin team.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 24/03/2017 18:55:28    1970795

Replying To cavanman47:  "Well look how far Kerry have fallen. .

And they still push the current Dublin team all the way.

The Kerry team of 07 would beat the current Dublin team."
You must have some magic ball that can tell you that...Kerry beat dublin by 2pts in a cracking semi-final that year..A Dublin team that wouldn't have a patch on this Dublin team.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 24/03/2017 19:22:22    1970802

Its easy to say now that they should have started a fight, like some skinny guy talking big after the fact about what he would have done to that bully, but the fact is that the reason they didn't respond then was because subconsciously they didn't want a fight with that Tyrone team.

You don't decide to have a fight or not, it happens as a gut reaction to events on the field and if you have no fear of the opposition you will be straight in there without thinking. If it had been a Mayo player gouged Cooper in the eye you would have had Kerry players throwing shapes all over the field and laying revenge hits left right and centre, because they felt superior to teams like Mayo and wouldn't have let them away with a thing.

But not that Tyrone team, they didn't want a bit of them and so instead of standing up for Cooper you have Kerry players talking to the umpires, because thats what people do when deep down they don't want that fight.

O'Cinneide says they should have picked a fight, as if it was some tactical decision that the team got wrong. The fact is that they never had a choice, if they had had the balls for that fight then they would have had it, but they didn't.

Of course, there is also the small fact that there were few teams as ready for a fight as that Tyrone team and that it would have ended badly for Kerry had they went that road, but then Kerry's innate knowledge of that fact is the point I suppose.

Steve (Fermanagh) - Posts: 293 - 24/03/2017 20:06:15    1970812

Replying To realdub:  "Yeh it's hard to believe how close the Dublin team of the time came to catching that great Kerry side in that AI semi, which was a cracker!"
I was on the nally it was close till Cluxtons Brian fart and Dec said thank you very much!!

Great game, but beating Cork in the All Ireland in our first ever meeting will always be one of our greatest moments!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/03/2017 20:39:32    1970818

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Did that 07 Kerry team not play that Tyrone team in 08...and lose"
See you'll dismiss this as my usual Kerry are brilliant guff but I honestly believe Kerry in 06, 07 and 09 would have beaten Tyrone in 03, 05, 08. I always thought when we intersected Kerry where slightly dippng and Tyrone were peaking. Think about it, we were going for 2 in a row in 05, three in a row in 08. Tyrone fell off the earth in 06, 07. If they had got over Cork in 09 we would have taken them too.

Ah sure it's history now. But IMO if we played 20 times in a row it would be 11-9!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/03/2017 20:45:58    1970822

Replying To TheHermit:  "I was on the nally it was close till Cluxtons Brian fart and Dec said thank you very much!!

Great game, but beating Cork in the All Ireland in our first ever meeting will always be one of our greatest moments!!!"
I would give Kerry all the credit for that play they let cluxton have the ball and marked all there men they didn't rush to close cluxton down and give him an easy pop pass...

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 24/03/2017 21:22:51    1970830

Replying To realdub:  "Charlie Redmond?? Would ya feck off. The 'dirty dozen' were intimidated and Philly is a stereotypical corner back! Remember Ryan from Tyrone? Yes, that type, good tight marker!"
Ah your having a laugh trying to defend your 1983 dirty dozen. Worst display of cynicism from a winning all ireland team I ever saw although I acknowkedge the awful weather did not help and ultimately we only have ourselves to blame for not closing out that game with the extra players. You need to remove those blue tinted specs on that one. In fairness it took me until 2011 to give Dublin any credibility after the '83 shocker. Don't make turn back.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 24/03/2017 21:28:49    1970831

I would give Kerry credit for that play they allowed cluxton to have the ball and backed of and picked up there men they didn't try and close cluxton which would have allowed him a simple pop pass.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 24/03/2017 21:42:24    1970833

Replying To kiloughter:  "Ah your having a laugh trying to defend your 1983 dirty dozen. Worst display of cynicism from a winning all ireland team I ever saw although I acknowkedge the awful weather did not help and ultimately we only have ourselves to blame for not closing out that game with the extra players. You need to remove those blue tinted specs on that one. In fairness it took me until 2011 to give Dublin any credibility after the '83 shocker. Don't make turn back."
I WAS actually having a laugh, but there was two of them in it, I know what went on in the tunnel at half time as I know a lot of the lads well. The strongest wind I ever encountered in Croke Park. So no, I'm not defending them, but Galway were almost as bad that day. I'm not the type that would be ashamed of my team for dishing it out so to speak, sorry if that offends anyone. Maybe I'm too oldschool!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/03/2017 21:49:48    1970835

Replying To TheHermit:  "See you'll dismiss this as my usual Kerry are brilliant guff but I honestly believe Kerry in 06, 07 and 09 would have beaten Tyrone in 03, 05, 08. I always thought when we intersected Kerry where slightly dippng and Tyrone were peaking. Think about it, we were going for 2 in a row in 05, three in a row in 08. Tyrone fell off the earth in 06, 07. If they had got over Cork in 09 we would have taken them too.

Ah sure it's history now. But IMO if we played 20 times in a row it would be 11-9!!!"
Ye had three bites of the cherry against Tyrone in that decade and couldn't win. If Kerry were that good the players should of had enough motivation to at least win one of the 3 encounters.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/03/2017 22:26:19    1970841

Replying To realdub:  "I WAS actually having a laugh, but there was two of them in it, I know what went on in the tunnel at half time as I know a lot of the lads well. The strongest wind I ever encountered in Croke Park. So no, I'm not defending them, but Galway were almost as bad that day. I'm not the type that would be ashamed of my team for dishing it out so to speak, sorry if that offends anyone. Maybe I'm too oldschool!"
Did you know that there was reports of Galway fans being assaulted that evening and tryres of Galway reg card being slashed around Croke Park? In fact, the Galway GAA president came out in the aftermath and said Galway would refuse to play in Dublin against Dublin ever again. The historian Brian Hanley have a great paper about it one time, talking about how the terrace soccer cuture of England crept into the GAA around then.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/03/2017 22:28:09    1970842

Replying To TheHermit:  "Did you know that there was reports of Galway fans being assaulted that evening and tryres of Galway reg card being slashed around Croke Park? In fact, the Galway GAA president came out in the aftermath and said Galway would refuse to play in Dublin against Dublin ever again. The historian Brian Hanley have a great paper about it one time, talking about how the terrace soccer cuture of England crept into the GAA around then."
Yep, a lot of scum element around the city no doubt about that, but as a dirty team, they couldn't compare to your lads who used to have that record back in the 30s or even to the Meath team that followed shortly after '83 :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/03/2017 22:49:45    1970847

Replying To AthCliath:  "Ye had three bites of the cherry against Tyrone in that decade and couldn't win. If Kerry were that good the players should of had enough motivation to at least win one of the 3 encounters."
In all fairness he does have a point. We were the incumbent champions most of the times we played them and were going for three in a row in one of the finals. Given how rare back to back Sam's are it could have been a factor. Tyrone were a fine fine side but they did meet us at very opportune times also. Do remember that they lost to some fairly average sides during their purple patch in 03-08

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 25/03/2017 02:06:31    1970865

Replying To TheHermit:  "Did you know that there was reports of Galway fans being assaulted that evening and tryres of Galway reg card being slashed around Croke Park? In fact, the Galway GAA president came out in the aftermath and said Galway would refuse to play in Dublin against Dublin ever again. The historian Brian Hanley have a great paper about it one time, talking about how the terrace soccer cuture of England crept into the GAA around then."
Interesting you mention that. I was a very young lad and recall a few Galway fans having their cars damaged. There was a frightening feel in the air and in my opinion Dublin by hook or by crook were going to win that all ireland. Having said that as most Galway football fans would acknowledge we should have won that game and history will dictate that we only have ourselves to blame. For years I could never support Dublin after that but with time etc one has to get over that and admire the great side they are now generally playing a brand of football alien to their 1983 team. Moreover athough I did say in abn earlier post that it took me till 2011 definitely they deserved an all ireland in the mid nineties as that was a very good Dublin team. As a footnote we have never met them in senior championship fare since the '83 debacle. Is there a curse I wonder or has time being brought in to heal those wounds.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 25/03/2017 08:32:41    1970874

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "In all fairness he does have a point. We were the incumbent champions most of the times we played them and were going for three in a row in one of the finals. Given how rare back to back Sam's are it could have been a factor. Tyrone were a fine fine side but they did meet us at very opportune times also. Do remember that they lost to some fairly average sides during their purple patch in 03-08"
Agree that team should have won more AIs in that period but they also took some massive knocks losing Cormac, Brian McGuigan was almost left blind and they had significant long term injuries to key players and also departures as players wanted to take year outs.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 25/03/2017 09:07:42    1970877

You have to laugh at how much Hermit HATES The Dubs
He cant take it atall ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/03/2017 15:50:15    1970950