Kerry to win senior & u21 titles this year?

I was actually thinking of the similarities with that Meath game myself yesterday evening. It was crazy. A team with Moynihan, the O'Se's, Fitzmaurice etc were humiliated and looked like they had never played the game before. They then went on to contest 7 of the next 8 AI finals, winning 4.

Yesterday will dampen expectations and stop this talk of a 'golden generation', and the clamour to throw half the U21 team straight into the senior setup this summer. Might be no bad thing.

I wonder will yesterday hurt Jacks chances of getting the senior job next time it's up? Some serious questions being asked about the sideline from what I can see.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/04/2017 12:58:19    1979841

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I was actually thinking of the similarities with that Meath game myself yesterday evening. It was crazy. A team with Moynihan, the O'Se's, Fitzmaurice etc were humiliated and looked like they had never played the game before. They then went on to contest 7 of the next 8 AI finals, winning 4.

Yesterday will dampen expectations and stop this talk of a 'golden generation', and the clamour to throw half the U21 team straight into the senior setup this summer. Might be no bad thing.

I wonder will yesterday hurt Jacks chances of getting the senior job next time it's up? Some serious questions being asked about the sideline from what I can see."
I'd be thinking the same Gerry, jack has made a couple of big boo boos over the last 2 years.

number 1 not double marking Peter kelliher in last years Munster final.

Number 2 putting Brian o'seanachain who is a wing forward into centre back to mark Michael Daly.

All jack O'Connor had to do yesterday was start jack Morgan at cornerback for the injured Brian sugrue , leave Tom O'sullivan at centre back to mark young Daly and leave Barry O'Sullivan on the sideline as he's been struggling for form.

Jack O'Connor has a lot to answer for yesterday's performance or lack of.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/04/2017 14:04:57    1979856

Fair play to Galway who were by far the better side yesterday.Indeed , they could have won by more.
They looked far more focused before hand while I think Kerry lads looked like they thought they only had to turn up and they were in the final.Took their eye off the ball I think.
Something similar in the other semi too as Donegal looked out of touch from the off and Dublin were on top for pretty much the whole affair.
Galway will take great encouragement into the final and have every chance I'd say of winning it out now.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/04/2017 15:13:43    1979863

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd be thinking the same Gerry, jack has made a couple of big boo boos over the last 2 years.

Number 2 putting Brian o'seanachain who is a wing forward into centre back to mark Michael Daly.

All jack O'Connor had to do yesterday was start jack Morgan at cornerback for the injured Brian sugrue , leave Tom O'sullivan at centre back to mark young Daly and leave Barry O'Sullivan on the sideline as he's been struggling for form.

Jack O'Connor has a lot to answer for yesterday's performance or lack of."
Ye should have had a few whiskey's it might have settled ye lol.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 16/04/2017 18:17:33    1979907

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I'd be thinking the same Gerry, jack has made a couple of big boo boos over the last 2 years.

Jack O'Connor has a lot to answer for yesterday's performance or lack of."
If we get any of the product from our u21 squad like ye certainly will I will be happy. We have won 4 u21s since 2002 and little came from the first two. Our most recent one in 2013 has been the most productive one with the likes of Fiontan O'Curraoin, Tom Flynn, Damien Comer and Shane Walsh gradually coming through. I am long enough around to know Kerry will always produce players for senior irrespective of underage performance. Good boost for us though with a slowly emerging senior team.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 16/04/2017 18:58:33    1979923

Hats off to you KY you were proven right about the 6/4 going back. I went on record as saying that I thought Kerry were one of the bets of the season to win the U-21 AI but was horrified when I seen that price even though it did look big after the Munster final. The 6/4 was a blessing in disguise for me as I managed to back Galway e/w at 10's along with Donegal at 12/1. Unfortunately no joy with my 12/1 but they owed me nothing after weighing in at 9/4 with a decent chunk to win Ulster which really puts the 6/4 into perspective. As for Kerry I think they will have every chance to put alot of wrongs right next year at the newly inaugurated U-20 grade. I don't expect Kerry to be weakened too much by players ineligible for their senior set up. The same cannot be said for Donegal who will almost certainly have no Jason McGee and quite possibly Niall O'Donnell and Enda McCormick which will make even winning Ulster very difficult. Not sure what the state of play will be for Galway who will again be strong I imagine. Coincidence or not the 2 beaten teams in the semi finals in my view were the 2 with the most pressure and expectation upon them from the outset. Anything other than a provincial title and probably AI in Kerry's case would be deemed a failure. That is alot of pressure for young shoulders but I am sure it will be the making for some of them looking forward. A big bug bearer for me is the failure of the GAA to facilitate anything for the minor grade of 2015 who are missing out on a U-21 tilt all together. Something that will hit really hard for some of the Donegal and Kerry lads no doubt especially those who will miss out twice if required by their senior set up. A move made for player welfare and to protect against burnout the irony of which is hitting hard in Donegal in the face of the moronic scheduling of the Ulster Council.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 17/04/2017 18:35:06    1980199

*ineligible as required for the senior set up

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 17/04/2017 20:08:35    1980217

Replying To panamasam:  "Hats off to you KY you were proven right about the 6/4 going back. I went on record as saying that I thought Kerry were one of the bets of the season to win the U-21 AI but was horrified when I seen that price even though it did look big after the Munster final. The 6/4 was a blessing in disguise for me as I managed to back Galway e/w at 10's along with Donegal at 12/1. Unfortunately no joy with my 12/1 but they owed me nothing after weighing in at 9/4 with a decent chunk to win Ulster which really puts the 6/4 into perspective. As for Kerry I think they will have every chance to put alot of wrongs right next year at the newly inaugurated U-20 grade. I don't expect Kerry to be weakened too much by players ineligible for their senior set up. The same cannot be said for Donegal who will almost certainly have no Jason McGee and quite possibly Niall O'Donnell and Enda McCormick which will make even winning Ulster very difficult. Not sure what the state of play will be for Galway who will again be strong I imagine. Coincidence or not the 2 beaten teams in the semi finals in my view were the 2 with the most pressure and expectation upon them from the outset. Anything other than a provincial title and probably AI in Kerry's case would be deemed a failure. That is alot of pressure for young shoulders but I am sure it will be the making for some of them looking forward. A big bug bearer for me is the failure of the GAA to facilitate anything for the minor grade of 2015 who are missing out on a U-21 tilt all together. Something that will hit really hard for some of the Donegal and Kerry lads no doubt especially those who will miss out twice if required by their senior set up. A move made for player welfare and to protect against burnout the irony of which is hitting hard in Donegal in the face of the moronic scheduling of the Ulster Council."
Galway will possibly be a little stronger than the minor team of last year. They were missing three players last year that should have made the starting fifteen Lorcan Mulry, Darragh Silke who was injured from a serious concussion but who is the top scorer for the minors this year during the Connacht minor league this year and John Daly younger brother of Michael who did his cruciate and was unavailable. Galway will be very close again next year.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 17/04/2017 20:47:13    1980227

Could be a bit of a Galway Kerry underage rivalry building up so. You would think both will have a relatively routine passage through their provinces next year at U-20 increasing the chances that their swords will cross again next year.....now that will be a feisty prospect.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 17/04/2017 22:31:54    1980268