Kerry to win senior & u21 titles this year?

Replying To panamasam:  "Can u back DL e/w at that 12/1? Value if you can given Kerry are unbackable at 4/9. But if Donegal were to meet Kerry I don't think Donegal have the mercurial forward talent to beat them."
I don't think so - nothing on their website mentioning EW

I mean if you believe those odds - Kerry have a 70% chance of winning and Donegal only at about 7%. While I understand Donegal have to negotiate 2 extra fences and fixture pile up I just cant accept that difference regardless.

Donegal 2014 Minor were the strongest team we have faced at All Ireland Level in the last 3 years by a fair distance - I'd rate them as our biggest threat

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 11:40:21    1973074

Replying To panamasam:  "The experts always come out of the woodwork after the event KY. Your argument for 6/4 been too short was indeed a valid one for the reasons you gave and the variables at play simply from a value perspective. In saying that after watching the highlights of the game last night I be more than content to be sitting on a docket with 6/4 waiting on a 4 or 5 figure payout. That is an exceptional team. The way they play is a form of total football in a GAA sense."
I'm no expert, and I don't come on here spouting nonsense about why a team is going to lose their next game.

If I had said what he did before the Cork v Kerry Munster U21, I'd be embarrassed.

Again, the score was Cork 0-6 Kerry 2-16 and here's what he said:

1) A good few of the 2014 Minors are unavailable for various reasons (Injury, AFL etc etc)

2) We have a dreadful record at U21, winning 2 provincial titles in the 21st century and none since 2008

3) Cork who have dominated are very very strong again this year, I thought they were v.unlucky last year against Mayo and the better team for long stretches and furthermore they had an excellent Minor team in 2015 who lost to Kerry away from home by a point in extra time- they were the best we faced by a huge margin

4) We are due to face Cork at Pairc Ui Rinn which is basically a house of horrors at all levels for Kerry Football

5) )It's very hard us for us to get a team together at this grade as the players are all at college in far flung places which means it's extremely difficult mould a team together. The likes of Cork and Dublin have an enormous advantage in this respect

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 30/03/2017 16:55:25    1973237

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I'm no expert, and I don't come on here spouting nonsense about why a team is going to lose their next game.

If I had said what he did before the Cork v Kerry Munster U21, I'd be embarrassed.

1) A good few of the 2014 Minors are unavailable for various reasons (Injury, AFL etc etc)

2) We have a dreadful record at U21, winning 2 provincial titles in the 21st century and none since 2008

3) Cork who have dominated are very very strong again this year, I thought they were v.unlucky last year against Mayo and the better team for long stretches and furthermore they had an excellent Minor team in 2015 who lost to Kerry away from home by a point in extra time- they were the best we faced by a huge margin

4) We are due to face Cork at Pairc Ui Rinn which is basically a house of horrors at all levels for Kerry Football

5) )It's very hard us for us to get a team together at this grade as the players are all at college in far flung places which means it's extremely difficult mould a team together. The likes of Cork and Dublin have an enormous advantage in this respect"
The 2nd, 3rd and 4th points were all valid ones to be fair. Yes there may have been some cute hoorism at play but those points alone were enough to make the argument that 6/4 about winning the AI was very short. I was hoping for around 2/1 at least myself but would not sniff at the original 6/4 now after last night. Saying that you would make more money backing at the match odds in singles rather than large outlay at 6/4. I see the outright betting is win only with PP so offers little value backing anyone unless you backed one of the remaining teams each way when markets came out.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 30/03/2017 17:32:04    1973256

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I'm no expert, and I don't come on here spouting nonsense about why a team is going to lose their next game.

5) )It's very hard us for us to get a team together at this grade as the players are all at college in far flung places which means it's extremely difficult mould a team together. The likes of Cork and Dublin have an enormous advantage in this respect"
OK Mr Hindsight Genoius I never said we'd lose to Cork so please if you are going to berate me get your facts right

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 21:28:53    1973336

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "OK Mr Hindsight Genoius I never said we'd lose to Cork so please if you are going to berate me get your facts right"
I would pay zero attention KY. I similarly got berated talking up the Donegal minor team of last year. After Galway beat them all sorts of comments were directed at me most of which were people coming out of the woodwork. Comments like just cause u watched and went to a few games u think u know something but obviously no nothing based on one match. Of course there was nobody coming back to the fact that I highlighted the possible weakness Leinster and the Kildare team after Kerry hammered them. Or acknowledgement of fact that the team to get closest to the Kerry minors last year were Cork when beaten by Kerry, the same amount Donegal beat that same Cork team. Actually the player to make his mark the most so far at senior level is Jason McGee who I put people onto as part of what was a good Donegal midfield but like the rest of the team did not perform to their capabilities against a tactically astute Galway side on the day. so far I think your facts were valid ones even though I did fancy your boys strongly to win the AI. As for Donegal, the fixture pile up is now a major worry. Could actually do with a Mayo win at the weekend with a view to the U-21's. As it is come through an Ulster final and the Dubs are there waiting in an AI semi final 3 days later with a few weeks to prepare. Far from ideal.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 30/03/2017 23:07:40    1973382

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Maybe we wont have to merge with Cork after all...."
Let's not be hasty.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/03/2017 23:15:35    1973385

Kerrt looking good for u21 title. Main thing is to avoid red cards and injuries for final in 2 weeks

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 15/04/2017 12:27:21    1979525

Replying To Gael85:  "Kerrt looking good for u21 title. Main thing is to avoid red cards and injuries for final in 2 weeks"
Main thing is to win the game kid.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/04/2017 14:25:49    1979553

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Main thing is to win the game kid."
You could close this thread now boss!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 15/04/2017 17:08:54    1979608

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "You could close this thread now boss!"
Well done to the Kerry dream team today! A lesser side would not have kept it so close against such vastly superior opposition.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 15/04/2017 17:49:19    1979621

How did Galway manage to only win that by 4 points

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 15/04/2017 18:04:13    1979632

Could we swap Dublin or Galway into the title of this thread ?

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/04/2017 19:04:58    1979673

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Well done to the Kerry dream team today! A lesser side would not have kept it so close against such vastly superior opposition."
The KERRY DREAM TEAM is right...!

Well done Galway - by far the better team today. Excellent win by the tribesman.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 15/04/2017 19:24:21    1979686

The Kerryman was right about his team after all!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 15/04/2017 20:45:00    1979705

Nice to see the Galway posters so gracious in victory.

In fairness the thread was not started started by a kerryman and most of the talking up was done by lads from outside the county. There was no expectation whatsoever of an U21 and senior double within Kerry, it's something that a poster here dreamt up. We'll take the defeat on the chin and wish Galway the best in the final.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/04/2017 20:55:47    1979710

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "The Kerryman was right about his team after all!"
No he wasn't right, read his post. He said they would lose their next game which was against Cork, and gave several reasons why? He was wrong, Kerry thrashed Cork.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 15/04/2017 22:49:58    1979751

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Well done to the Kerry dream team today! A lesser side would not have kept it so close against such vastly superior opposition."
The worst thing that could happen this Galway team now is that they get cocky and think that just cause they beat the favourites that they have the final in the bag.

Ye'l have to hit the dubs just as hard as ye hit us today and hopefully ye'l can go all the way.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/04/2017 23:25:50    1979762

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "No he wasn't right, read his post. He said they would lose their next game which was against Cork, and gave several reasons why? He was wrong, Kerry thrashed Cork."
Think you need to read the post again! He referenced 6/4 which was their All Ireland odds at the time. But chill out, we all get things wrong sometime and there's no harm in that

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 16/04/2017 10:30:32    1979796

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The worst thing that could happen this Galway team now is that they get cocky and think that just cause they beat the favourites that they have the final in the bag.

Ye'l have to hit the dubs just as hard as ye hit us today and hopefully ye'l can go all the way."
We will not get to cocky we beat Kerry there was no cup handed out yesterday you can be sure we will hit the dubs hard.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 16/04/2017 11:43:29    1979815

Replying To bud14:  "We will not get to cocky we beat Kerry there was no cup handed out yesterday you can be sure we will hit the dubs hard."
Fair play and I hope ye win it now as ye play beautiful football the way it should be played, and Galway always play proper football, that was one of the things I was looking forward to heading to Ennis yesterday but unfortunately for us only one team turned up.

The reason I was saying not to get cocky is the first half of yesterday's game reminded me of the 2001 senior semifinal against Meath where we were favourites and we were blown straight out of the water and Meath thought they had the final in the bag only for ye'r selfs to come along and beat them.

In fairness Dublin are coming into the final nicely under the radar having only beat Laois and Offaly and a tired Donegal team so you have to be careful.

Jack O'Connor says in his book that he'd rather win an ugly semi final than beat someone out the gate because the team can be flat in the final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/04/2017 12:07:33    1979823