Kerry to win senior & u21 titles this year?

Replying To panamasam:  "Donegal are in Omagh to play Tyrone which really as draws go could not be any worse. The winners will play either Cavan or Fermanagh for a place in the final. Donegal were far and away the best side in Ulster at minor level against the teams they played. Their toughest test was Derry that year but Donegal did not have to play Tyrone. I think if Donegal can beat Tyrone they would be worthy red hot fav's to win Ulster. I am not overly best placed to judge the teams on the other side of the draw though expect Derry to maybe come through there. Though I am not sure how hard they will be hit with players required for the AI club duty. Plus Conor Glass is in Oz I think depriving them of a fantastic talent, as good as any in the country. The problem Donegal have is that with the badly handled mass exodus of players alot of U-21's are gonna be required for league duty, despite beating Roscommon the last day Donegal are gonna have a survival battle on their hands. This means alot of players will be required for both sides which with it will bring tiredness and injury which is far from ideal. Personally would like the U-21's to have precedence but that ain't ever gonna happen with RG in charge.

I would imagine Kildare would be very well fancied to win Leinster but they have struggled outside of Leinster. I fancy Galway yes. As for Munster I think ye will break that 30 year hoodoo over Cork provided they beat Tipp."
Ouch that's a tough opener panamasam but like you say if ye get through that ye'r confidence will be high.
It's gonna be tough if ye'r missing or sharing ye'r U21s with with the seniors but needs must I guess.
We're lucky that jack O'Connor said No to sharing our lads, Eamon had them for the first 2 games and that was it.
Glass will be an awful loss to Derry, he was some prospect.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/02/2017 16:35:46    1957965

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Meath are strong,but are missing alot of players for their opening game."
getting the oul excuses in early

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/02/2017 17:02:17    1957974

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Meath are strong,but are missing alot of players for their opening game."
Having your full set available very important. How did Leinster minor play out in 2014? Would it be between Dublin, Kildare and Meath to win U-21 in Leinster this year or are there other teams to note.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 18/02/2017 17:14:17    1957975

Replying To panamasam:  "Having your full set available very important. How did Leinster minor play out in 2014? Would it be between Dublin, Kildare and Meath to win U-21 in Leinster this year or are there other teams to note."
only those 3

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/02/2017 18:19:32    1957986

Replying To waynoI:  "getting the oul excuses in early"
missing at least 5 starters and some of them were on last years senior panel. but we there is a strong panel there,so wouldn't rule us out either.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/02/2017 18:27:27    1957990

Replying To waynoI:  "getting the oul excuses in early"
how would you rate your lads this year?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/02/2017 18:30:19    1957991

Replying To BlueGolconda:  "So a bunch of kids are going to beat a team who havent lost in about 30 games in front of 65,000 hostile fans on the road?

You are away with the fairies"
1975, the bachelor team.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 18/02/2017 22:05:27    1958074

Easy money here . Kerry should walk this.

ALL IRELAND U21 FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP 2017 Outright Betting
Kerry 6/4
Cavan 33/1
Down 150/1
Dublin 5/1
Meath 40/1
Louth 150/1
Cork 11/2
Monaghan 50/1
Westmeath 200/1
Galway 8/1
Sligo 50/1
Limerick 200/1
Mayo 10/1
Offaly 80/1
Leitrim 250/1
Donegal 11/1
Laois 80/1
Antrim 500/1
Kildare 12/1
Longford 100/1
Fermanagh 500/1
Tyrone 12/1
Tipperary 125/1
Wicklow 500/1
Armagh 25/1
Wexford 125/1
Carlow 500/1
Derry 28/1
Clare 150/1
Waterford 500/1
Roscommon 33/1

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 20/02/2017 15:21:20    1958722

Replying To ziggy32001:  "only those 3"
Make that 2 or are Westmeath legit? Great win for Westmeath against your boys....Westmeath have 2 very inspirational lads as part of their coaching ticket on the sideline I see.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 23/02/2017 02:09:09    1959752

Dublin, Mayo and Donegal or Tyrone are capable of an upset on a given day here. I think that Cork are always strong in Munster in this competition, they win their province almost as often as Kerry so I would say 6/4 is not money in the bank by any means.

Having said that, I would look at kerry as being more like 2/1 in terms of value. 6/4 is a bit of a stretch for a team that would have to win 3 tough games.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/02/2017 11:01:36    1959806

I have to agree I was thinking 2/1 be shortest price available so 6/4 is skimpy. Saying that will be much shorter if they beat Cork. I think Galway will have decent side this year. Reading posts over the last few months there seems to be decent team there so expect them to give Mayo plenty in Connaught.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 23/02/2017 13:29:07    1959873

Don't touch the 6/4 at any cost there are many reasons why I say this

1) A good few of the 2014 Minors are unavailable for various reasons (Injury, AFL etc etc)

2) We have a dreadful record at U21, winning 2 provincial titles in the 21st century and none since 2008

3) Cork who have dominated are very very strong again this year, I thought they were v.unlucky last year against Mayo and the better team for long stretches and furthermore they had an excellent Minor team in 2015 who lost to Kerry away from home by a point in extra time- they were the best we faced by a huge margin

4) We are due to face Cork at Pairc Ui Rinn which is basically a house of horrors at all levels for Kerry Football

5) )It's very hard us for us to get a team together at this grade as the players are all at college in far flung places which means it's extremely difficult mould a team together. The likes of Cork and Dublin have an enormous advantage in this respect

5) if we happen to break our Munster hoodoo, there a number of very significant barriers in the way. Firstly in Connacht Mayo and Galway are always big threats, Ulster has a number of strong teams headed by Donegal and Tyrone and then of course the Footballing Goliath that is Dublin who have absolutely dominated this grade for the last 6/7 years and should be favourites given the sheer depth ,numbers and pedigree

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 23/02/2017 16:31:24    1959942

Very hard to see Kerry been beaten now. Dublin done just enough to get over Offaly.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 29/03/2017 21:03:30    1972934

Have to agree, Kerry roaring hot favourites to win this year.

Donegal I expect to be very good competitive also.

Not Dublins best vintage, a semi final and Leinster I think will be the sum of our efforts this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 29/03/2017 21:47:43    1972954

Maybe we wont have to merge with Cork after all....

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 29/03/2017 22:15:18    1972968

Don't touch the 6/4 at any cost there are many reasons why I say this

1) A good few of the 2014 Minors are unavailable for various reasons (Injury, AFL etc etc)

2) We have a dreadful record at U21, winning 2 provincial titles in the 21st century and none since 2008

3) Cork who have dominated are very very strong again this year, I thought they were v.unlucky last year against Mayo and the better team for long stretches and furthermore they had an excellent Minor team in 2015 who lost to Kerry away from home by a point in extra time- they were the best we faced by a huge margin

4) We are due to face Cork at Pairc Ui Rinn which is basically a house of horrors at all levels for Kerry Football

5) )It's very hard us for us to get a team together at this grade as the players are all at college in far flung places which means it's extremely difficult mould a team together. The likes of Cork and Dublin have an enormous advantage in this respect

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts:135 - 23/02/2017 16:31:24 1959942

Munster U21FC final
At Pairc Ui Rinn
Kerry 2-16
Cork 0-6

Who you backing in the Grand National?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2478 - 29/03/2017 22:55:13    1972980

The 6/4 is with regards the All Ireland not the Munster so one game proves nothing

I see we are now 4/9 which is way too short priced for my liking, the smart bet clearly​ is Donegal at an incredible 12/1 with PP. They have a lot of lads playing who have been pivotal in leading the seniors charge to a League Final.

That experience will be a huge benefit in their U21 campaign, the only concern is a pile up of fixtures with last night's postponement

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/03/2017 09:32:24    1973022

Kerry have an exceptional team, can't see them getting beaten. Also have the nucleus of a great Senior team from this panel perhaps heralding another period of Kerry dominance.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 30/03/2017 09:43:43    1973026

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "The 6/4 is with regards the All Ireland not the Munster so one game proves nothing

I see we are now 4/9 which is way too short priced for my liking, the smart bet clearly​ is Donegal at an incredible 12/1 with PP. They have a lot of lads playing who have been pivotal in leading the seniors charge to a League Final.

That experience will be a huge benefit in their U21 campaign, the only concern is a pile up of fixtures with last night's postponement"
The experts always come out of the woodwork after the event KY. Your argument for 6/4 been too short was indeed a valid one for the reasons you gave and the variables at play simply from a value perspective. In saying that after watching the highlights of the game last night I be more than content to be sitting on a docket with 6/4 waiting on a 4 or 5 figure payout. That is an exceptional team. The way they play is a form of total football in a GAA sense.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 30/03/2017 11:05:59    1973058

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "The 6/4 is with regards the All Ireland not the Munster so one game proves nothing

That experience will be a huge benefit in their U21 campaign, the only concern is a pile up of fixtures with last night's postponement"
Can u back DL e/w at that 12/1? Value if you can given Kerry are unbackable at 4/9. But if Donegal were to meet Kerry I don't think Donegal have the mercurial forward talent to beat them.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 30/03/2017 11:09:24    1973060