Dublin's country imports should face Leinster ban

Cheers for the response its good to get some insight into the situation and I absolutely take all your points. Dublin players playing for their family club is also something that id never be against. I also understand that most clubs have transfers again par for the course. But in terms of marquee players do these tend to shack up at the heavyweight clubs?? From what I've seen Vincents, Kilmacud, St Bridgets, Na Fianna, St Oliver Plunketts and Ballyboden seem to get the majority of top guys that play in Dublin. Is this the case?
BuffyBoffy (Mayo) - Posts:220 - 15/12/2016 14:09:16

There's no doubt that the top marquee players gravitate to the clubs with the best chance of winning something. Like the clubs you mentioned, although to be fair to Ballyboden they won the All-Ireland with I think only one outside player, Paul Durcan, but he has uncles involved with Boden and his cousin plays centre back for them. Also at the time Durcan joined Boden were well down the list of teams expected to win the Dublin Championship.

But the vast majority of lads coming from the country tend to pick their local side as joining a GAA club is a way of making friends and putting down roots in their new local community.

The idea of putting together restrictions on what clubs someone can join based on where they live is problematic as it is very hard to define any type of boundaries between clubs with a lot of clubs in very close proximity. Take the Northside for example, by Northside I mean north of the river and south of the M50 not the North County, clubs are very close to each other and are competing for players right from the off. For Dubliners it depends on your family, or maybe the school you went to or just that you knew someone involved which club you end up at. For example on the street I grew up on there were three families involved in GAA all involved in different clubs. The further out you move the easier those boundaries could be to draw though but still quite tricky in a lot of places.

I personally think it would quite unworkable as boundaries between areas in Dublin can be quite hard to define and it's up for interpretation a lot of the time where one area ends and another begins!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 15/12/2016 15:48:05    1940367

The fridge
Parnells had I think it was 12 players started in the championship that were all from outside dublin a couple of years back. Cluxton choose not to play for their senior team and played intermediate because of the way the club was being run. The chairman was a laois man and they had sold their pitch at the airport for a very big amount of money. Off the top of my head Begley, Rooney, Parkinson, mj Tierney all came in from laois, two wexford guys, an Armagh panellist, conor Mortimer of mayo( officially declared gym manager in the club haha), ciaran mckeever Armagh all came on board with a club that eventually got beaten by 20 points by ballymun kickhams in the first round of the championship. Mckeever lasted only a few months ahem after NAMA got involved at chanelle college and he quickly got a transfer to Oliver plunketts. So yeah Parnells are not liked in Dublin club circles for their actions but half of the blame has to be placed with the actual country players who all sold out to join them, we here the old lines trotted out by these country guys about the parish, well they were quick to leave the parish for Parnells.
then to top it off one of the actual laois men Parkinson who went to Parnells comes out whinging about the scenario we are now discussing haha after he milked the cow himself you couldn't make it up.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/12/2016 20:03:13    1940413

Replying To hill16no1man:  "The fridge
Parnells had I think it was 12 players started in the championship that were all from outside dublin a couple of years back. Cluxton choose not to play for their senior team and played intermediate because of the way the club was being run. The chairman was a laois man and they had sold their pitch at the airport for a very big amount of money. Off the top of my head Begley, Rooney, Parkinson, mj Tierney all came in from laois, two wexford guys, an Armagh panellist, conor Mortimer of mayo( officially declared gym manager in the club haha), ciaran mckeever Armagh all came on board with a club that eventually got beaten by 20 points by ballymun kickhams in the first round of the championship. Mckeever lasted only a few months ahem after NAMA got involved at chanelle college and he quickly got a transfer to Oliver plunketts. So yeah Parnells are not liked in Dublin club circles for their actions but half of the blame has to be placed with the actual country players who all sold out to join them, we here the old lines trotted out by these country guys about the parish, well they were quick to leave the parish for Parnells.
then to top it off one of the actual laois men Parkinson who went to Parnells comes out whinging about the scenario we are now discussing haha after he milked the cow himself you couldn't make it up."
Cheers for the info....wasn't aware there was so many!!!!!!! Easy to see why they aren't liked.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 15/12/2016 20:37:52    1940419

then to top it off one of the actual laois men Parkinson who went to Parnells comes out whinging about the scenario we are now discussing haha after he milked the cow himself you couldn't make it up."
i dont blame players really for doing it unless they live close to dublin but parnells deserve every bit of hate they get

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 15/12/2016 20:57:48    1940426

I was just thinking about this, players relocate to Dublin from say Laois or Kildare which is an hour away roughly. Most clubs train on a Tuesday, Thrusday/Friday, match Sunday. Why can't they go back to their clubs at the weekend(work dependent). Not saying for every single training session.....maybe not a Tuesday night,train by yourself or in a small group located in Dublin. I feel it can be done,it would be tough but could be done. Any thoughts?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 16/12/2016 00:21:02    1940463

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I was just thinking about this, players relocate to Dublin from say Laois or Kildare which is an hour away roughly. Most clubs train on a Tuesday, Thrusday/Friday, match Sunday. Why can't they go back to their clubs at the weekend(work dependent). Not saying for every single training session.....maybe not a Tuesday night,train by yourself or in a small group located in Dublin. I feel it can be done,it would be tough but could be done. Any thoughts?"
A lot of Dublin clubs will have lads from the country training with them during the week but still playing for their clubs at home at the weekend.

A lot of these country lads will do this during their twenties maybe and if they end up staying permanently in Dublin will eventually transfer to the club that they've been training with.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 16/12/2016 08:19:43    1940470

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I was just thinking about this, players relocate to Dublin from say Laois or Kildare which is an hour away roughly. Most clubs train on a Tuesday, Thrusday/Friday, match Sunday. Why can't they go back to their clubs at the weekend(work dependent). Not saying for every single training session.....maybe not a Tuesday night,train by yourself or in a small group located in Dublin. I feel it can be done,it would be tough but could be done. Any thoughts?"
I would a agree with that Fridge. A lot of players who still play intercounty that transfer to dublin clubs annoy me. Surely if they go home for intercounty training/matches they can still play club matches?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 16/12/2016 09:24:46    1940479

Replying To alano12:  "i dont blame players really for doing it unless they live close to dublin but parnells deserve every bit of hate they get"
conor mortimer, colm parkinson and ciaran mckeever they werent like college lads coming up for that reason.
its quite clear the reason they moved to parnells. so for me they are every bit as much to blame.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/12/2016 09:37:59    1940486

To add insult to injury, Parkinson never misses a chance to put the boot into Cluxton either. If a senior Dublin player at another club had taken Cluxton's stance Parkinson would be declaring him a saint. He's a total hypocrite, I find it hard to listen to him sometimes.
And how many players have Portlaoise (won 9 of last 10 county championships) taken from surrounding clubs, or Crossmaglen Rangers, Dr. Crokes, etc.

There is a problem with clubs enticing established, and potential, stars to play for them but it's a lot more complex than 'woolberto' is making out, and it's not just a Dublin problem. Granted, it's a bigger problem in Dublin though

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 16/12/2016 10:08:34    1940497

Replying To Mickmick:  "To add insult to injury, Parkinson never misses a chance to put the boot into Cluxton either. If a senior Dublin player at another club had taken Cluxton's stance Parkinson would be declaring him a saint. He's a total hypocrite, I find it hard to listen to him sometimes.
And how many players have Portlaoise (won 9 of last 10 county championships) taken from surrounding clubs, or Crossmaglen Rangers, Dr. Crokes, etc.

There is a problem with clubs enticing established, and potential, stars to play for them but it's a lot more complex than 'woolberto' is making out, and it's not just a Dublin problem. Granted, it's a bigger problem in Dublin though"
I don't Cluxton isn't worried about Wooly opinion. This is same lad who called Mick O'Dwyer a bluffer. Parkinson was a social footballer who didn't have the mentality for intercounty football

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 16/12/2016 10:50:58    1940506

Vincents have Shane Walsh from Galway and Alan Freeman Mayo transferring in next year

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts:1323 - 14/12/2016 20:11:51

Is this true? Be like a team from the wesht , Varley, Egan and Breathnach,

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 16/12/2016 13:17:10    1940537

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Vincents have Shane Walsh from Galway and Alan Freeman Mayo transferring in next year

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts:1323 - 14/12/2016 20:11:51

Is this true? Be like a team from the wesht , Varley, Egan and Breathnach,"
Supposed to be true. It's getting ridiculous having so many outsiders

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 16/12/2016 13:30:55    1940545

How many outsiders do they need. Feeney who came on against Rhode is from Armagh. Lorcan Smyth is a former Westmeath player.

Eamon Fennelll transferred to St Vincents a few years ago as well.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 16/12/2016 18:09:39    1940590

It's glory chasing I'm afraid, people who claim that they are proud to play for their club the place where they were born or reared and then transfer to another club because they are more successful than their home club should be ashamed of themselves. We aren't living thousands of miles away, anybody can make the journey from Dublin to their home club every weekend like every other club player whether it's GAA, soccer, rugby etc, even an eejet in an ass and cart could make it home for games, why won't they? Too much of a good time and glory chasing, most club matches especially in the west are played on Saturday or Sunday, I don't know if this rule already exists but should be implemented by very county, if you aren't playing in your home club then you can't play for your home county and that rule also has to be applied to Gardai, army, navy, bank employees etc. If you aren't playing for your home club in Donegal or Cork or Galway then you shouldn't be able to play for those counties. There are lads and girls travelling home from the UK and Europe every weekend or 2 for club matches with their home club, if they can do it why aren't the county or ex county players doing the same, the argument of work commitments is nonsense, unless you are working in hospitals majority of players aren't working at the weekends, if you transfer to another club in a different county then you should only be available to play for that county, for example a player transfers from a Mayo club to a Dublin club then he/she can only be able to play for Dublin

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 16/12/2016 22:05:42    1940618

Replying To FoolsGold:  "How many outsiders do they need. Feeney who came on against Rhode is from Armagh. Lorcan Smyth is a former Westmeath player.

Eamon Fennelll transferred to St Vincents a few years ago as well."
Maybe you should look at the players looking to join them and point the blame at them for jumping ship to play for Vincent's.
Why can't they join another club in dublin, it's them choosing Vincent's to play for.
most them guys with Vincent's don't even get into the team, there just glory hunting joining them. If Vincent's told them no you cannot join our club, I guarantee you there would be a media outrage that dublin clubs are refusing to allow country guys play for them.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2016 15:16:09    1940667

Dublin's John Horan who is currently Leinester Chairman spoke recently on Wolly's show about introducing a rule where there would be a maximum on outside players,.He stressed though it would have to be implemented in all counties and not just Dublin.

He thinks that if you have a player who has not played underage for the club he becomes a "designated player" & you can only use 3/4 of those players in a competition.

Good idea IMO

lasertech (UK) - Posts: 129 - 17/12/2016 15:56:38    1940669

Replying To lasertech:  "Dublin's John Horan who is currently Leinester Chairman spoke recently on Wolly's show about introducing a rule where there would be a maximum on outside players,.He stressed though it would have to be implemented in all counties and not just Dublin.

He thinks that if you have a player who has not played underage for the club he becomes a "designated player" & you can only use 3/4 of those players in a competition.

Good idea IMO"
Haha what a hypocrite he joined a club for all the wrong reasons in Dublin know he's had enough cake he decides to put the boot in. Does this knife belong to you Parkinson

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/12/2016 18:50:55    1940691

Haha what a hypocrite he joined a club for all the wrong reasons in Dublin know he's had enough cake he decides to put the boot in. Does this knife belong to you Parkinson
hill16no1man (Dublin)

Absolutely and his own Portlaoise have had a few outsiders themselves - Hugh Coughlan was a Tipp senior when he joined them and his club 30mins down the road,But i think the designated player idea from Horan is a good idea,It would actually develop more Dublin born players and strengthen more clubs in Dublin.

But it MUST be implemented across all counties.Dr Crokes to my knowledge have 3 players who never played juvenile football with them,I'm not sure if Slaughneil or Corofin have any but it does skew the club championships

lasertech (UK) - Posts: 129 - 17/12/2016 23:05:50    1940731

Replying To Damothedub:  "http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/martin-breheny-dublins-country-imports-should-face-leinster-ban-35292648.html
Thoughts anyone on todays article ?????"
That article looks silly now three years later - Rathnew have beat Vincents 2017 , Mullinalaghta have beaten Kilmacud 2019.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 06/09/2019 17:12:00    2233355

Replying To witnof:  "Colm Parkinson was harping on about this last year when Portlaoise were beaten by 'Boden.

Comes up each December as there is nothing to write about"
Half of Laois including the man himself went playing for Parnells after they came in for a financial windfall.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 06/09/2019 18:02:54    2233359