Donegal 2011 - I feel it in me bones.

banterladhi

Ah I know yeah but you wouldn't believe the high hopes I had for it though, I brought me three piece suit, top hat, monocle the lot for hitting the clubs after work only to find that the only entertainment in the town is a pokey little building with the word 'AMUSEMENTS' wrote on the wall.

Have to say though, I've been further up into Donegal and it is beautiful in parts plus the people are generally bang on.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/01/2011 18:40:07    849821

MesAmis

Lockjaw

Feckin weather! McKenna Cup game against Fermanagh has been postponed.

A couple of lads not back after the weekend then?????

It was awful frosty thats why it was called off. Although perhaps they should have taken the lead of the Dublin girls and wore tights and snoods.

God be with the days when men were men...

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 20/01/2011 11:23:23    850092

True Breaker,

I'd love to see the Dubs try to play up in a freezing cold Magheragallon or on a wild day in Glen!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/01/2011 11:51:17    850114

Break_er

You're far more likely to pick up injuries in cold weather... But at least its keeps the half time bottle of Orange Schnapps at a nice temperature for your boys. ;)

I'd encourage any player at this time of the year (The start of the season - Cold, hard pitches) to wear the most bang up to date Athletic sports gear available... that's why it's been invented. There's no point being "Manly" and injured... while there's ball to be played.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/01/2011 11:57:12    850125

Lockjaw

850114 True Breaker,

I'd love to see the Dubs try to play up in a freezing cold Magheragallon or on a wild day in Glen!

Yeah... you certainly need something to brighten the place up. ;)

We might even bring a few hundred up with us... we'll even try and get the population back up for ye with a bit of a baby boom.

Is there any women left up there? Or are all Donegal women in Australia?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/01/2011 12:14:33    850146

I'm all for any new fancy inventions to prevent injuries as much as the next man Jim. But for God sakes SNOODS? You don't even see the English players in the Premiership wear them doesn't that tell you something? The guys who wear pink boots would be even too embarrassed to wear them?

An interesting quote from Simon Grayson before last nights game with Arsenal "I don't mind the lads wearing snoods on the training pitch but during a game they should be running around to keep themselves warm." And in fairness I don't think you can disagree with him.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 20/01/2011 12:14:36    850147

Lockjaw

850114 True Breaker,

We might even bring a few hundred up with us... we'll even try and get the population back up for ye with a bit of a baby boom.

Is there any women left up there? Or are all Donegal women in Australia

No thanks. You can leave the convicts where they are. Ta.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 20/01/2011 12:30:13    850165

Break_er

850147 I'm all for any new fancy inventions to prevent injuries as much as the next man Jim. But for God sakes SNOODS? You don't even see the English players in the Premiership wear them doesn't that tell you something? The guys who wear pink boots would be even too embarrassed to wear them?

An interesting quote from Simon Grayson before last nights game with Arsenal "I don't mind the lads wearing snoods on the training pitch but during a game they should be running around to keep themselves warm." And in fairness I don't think you can disagree with him.

That's a fair enough point... :) but sure I dont care what they have on... All I care about is if the lad wearing the snood is playing well

If he Catches, Kicks, Passes ALL to a high standard. He can wear a dress if he wants.. one with side splits to allow kicking of course.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/01/2011 12:33:33    850173

Break_er

850165 jimbodub

Lockjaw

850114 True Breaker,

Is there any women left up there? Or are all Donegal women in Australia

No thanks. You can leave the convicts where they are. Ta.

Ha-ha 

Ah man... the ladies love the prison sculpted Bods...
;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/01/2011 12:36:08    850179

The Dubs would love a visit to McLoughlins to see the widda !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/01/2011 12:37:55    850182

There's a good few in Canada aswell now. Those that are left are a protected species - we don't accept any attempt at spoiling the gene pool with outsiders Jimbo, particularly attepmts made by northside Dubliners! ;-)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/01/2011 14:47:30    850315

Lockjaw

850315 There's a good few in Canada aswell now. Those that are left are a protected species - we don't accept any attempt at spoiling the gene pool with outsiders Jimbo, particularly attepmts made by northside Dubliners! ;-)

Ha-ha... Good stuff

This reminds of a thread about the Red Kite being re-introduced as a protected species in Donegal... you've got some precious birds up your way ;)

Make sure the farmers don't poison them...!!

Who will cook the dinner....... :(

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/01/2011 14:57:44    850322

Aye there's still some fine birds up here, even if they are scarce. Ya just have to know where to look. Glenveagh National Park, The Pulse in Letterkenny on a Saturday night and the Grill the night after!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/01/2011 15:11:10    850334

It doesnt matter who takes over with Donegal. They are the most unattractive team to look at, play fussy, congested hand passing dead end football. I would also question the commitment and fitness of the players. I don't think they are ever fit enough for championship. It doesn't help that club football there has been ravaged by emigration.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 20/01/2011 15:17:56    850338

Lockjaw

850334 Aye there's still some fine birds up here, even if they are scarce. Ya just have to know where to look. Glenveagh National Park, The Pulse in Letterkenny on a Saturday night and the Grill the night after!

Michelle Doherty

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/01/2011 15:30:48    850343

Yeah she's crisp jimbo, and single! ;)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 20/01/2011 16:07:18    850367

Lockjaw

850367 Yeah she's crisp jimbo, and single! ;)

I've done some work with her... free lance stuff with Ch6 a few years back...

She's a very nice, normal kind of girl... thumbs up on all levels.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/01/2011 16:20:01    850378

I think Donegal's biggest problem has always been attitude and lack of commitment.

That's why I liked the appointment of Jim. He won't take the prima donnas. At least I would like to think not. The likes of Colm Anthony now will really need to show that they want to play for Donegal, or else I would hope that McGuinness won't tolerate them and out of the panel they go. We have the players talented enough to replace these lads that have been stinking up the panel with their poor attitude now with the U-21s.

We'll be hard to beat and not very pretty on the eye but I see us making the Ulster Final this year. I suppose it depends who we get in the semis. After last year though I would take any wee show of progress.

On a sidenote I was at the game yesterday and huge respect to Mickey Harte, I've always liked him while not being a huge fan of Tyrone football but the minute's silence observed and the bravery of Mickey to step back into the dugout was admirable and nearly brought a tear to my own eye.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 24/01/2011 12:01:30    852484

Amen to that JoeSoap.

What did McGee get lined for? Were the u-21 style tactics employed?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 24/01/2011 12:24:51    852509

"In my eyes anyone who isn't from inside the M50 ring is a culchie. I used to be a lot stricter on this but I've mellowed in recent times."

MesAmis, if we refer to everyone from inside the M50 ring as "culchies" why don't we just refer to that area as "The Pale", and the inhabitants as "West Brits" while we're at it?

peter_venkman (Down) - Posts: 320 - 24/01/2011 13:46:51    852570