Donegal 2011 - I feel it in me bones.

jimbo have you been at the same pinting as our often harshly misjudged county players?!?

I don't know what kind of shape we'll be in this year. We have a few of last year's u-21's coming through alright and it's good to see Jimmy putting some faith in them, God knows we could hardly be any worse than last year's Championship debacle. Look out for Leo McLoone, Dermot Molloy, Mark McHugh and Kevin Mulhern.

As someone mentioned previously I wouldn't go expecting free flowing pure football if the u-21 tactics are employed! It'll probably mean defence in numbers, fast breaking and hoping Murphy and Brick are on their game winning ball that is delivered into them. I can already hear that yap Spillane cribbing about the amount of hand passing that'll be used.

Historically teams drawn in the preliminary round don't win Ulster but the draw has been relatively kind. I am by no means counting my chickens though because we all know what happened against Antrim 2 years ago. I'd be happy if we beat Antrim and Cavan and see what's in front of us at the Ulster semi final stage. You never know at that pint what could happen. An Ulster win would be brilliant but difficult. A decent run in the qualifiers hopefully getting to the last 8 in August would be a very good first season for Jimmy I think.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 19/01/2011 10:42:42    849226

lockjaw

"You never know at that pint what could happen"

Feck, can ye Donegal boys never get the drink out of your heads? lol

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 19/01/2011 11:17:21    849260

26plus6equals1

849260 lockjaw

Hehe...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/01/2011 11:27:29    849272

26plus6equals1

849260 lockjaw

Haha true, we'd be well into double figures on the pint front by that stage!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 19/01/2011 11:34:29    849285

On a more serious note, i think Donegal have a great chance this year and in the years to come. Underage has been going well and I believe that (if given the chance) big Jim will be a great manager for years up there.

People forget that ye had Down beat last year and look what they went nd done.

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 19/01/2011 12:49:52    849386

Jim McGuinness has a system and it nearly worked with the U21s and i would expect him to stick to his guns with the seniors. The game plan is simple 2 players in the forward line 13 players including the goalie in the Donegal half, strangle the opposition then attack in waves with possession and hit the two target men periodically to get scores. this means low scoring games but Donegal will be hard to beat. The plusses for Donegal is the inside pair of Murray and Murphy and enough mobile backs among the remaining 12 outfield players to effect the stranglehold on teams and the attacks on the break.

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 19/01/2011 13:36:32    849421

ta32

848867 jimbodub.
my heart will always say tyrone , but this year as a man who likes a flutter my money is on the dubs .

Don't waste your money Ta ....

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/01/2011 15:29:28    849551

It aint going to happen this year folks for Dublin.. Cork, Kerry, Tyrone (Meath,Kildare, Down and possibly Dublin)

______

Very very true Jimbo , As i said on another thread . the all ireland winners for 2011 will come from the top 3 .. The top 3 being the 3 you mentioned

however i feel Meath have too much ... maybe rebuilding isnt the word .. transition i suppose , With a new manager with no ideas to seriously consider a push for an all ireland , Somewhat like Dublin last year , I think 2012 will be a big year for both the boys in blue and the boys in green

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/01/2011 15:32:17    849556

waynoI

849551 ta32

848867 jimbodub.
my heart will always say tyrone , but this year as a man who likes a flutter my money is on the dubs .

Don't waste your money Ta ....

Ball boy is counting on the opposite...!!

And anyway..Betting on GAA should be forbidden... If you cant enjoy our fantastic sports without betting then there's something wrong with ya ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/01/2011 15:55:58    849582

Feckin weather! McKenna Cup game against Fermanagh has been postponed.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 19/01/2011 16:01:23    849593

Lockjaw

Feckin weather! McKenna Cup game against Fermanagh has been postponed.

A couple of lads not back after the weekend then??????

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 19/01/2011 16:22:06    849609

I believe Donegal will see an improvement this year but I would take a semi final in ulster and a wee run to AI quarters this year. Their 11/1 with paddy power for ulster which isnt great anyway

donegalforsam (Donegal) - Posts: 126 - 19/01/2011 16:24:42    849614

We are going to win AI because are starting 15 have at least 15 county players. i dont know any other club that can say that.

banterladhi (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 19/01/2011 17:06:50    849676

19/01/2011 17:06:50
banterladhi

We are going to win AI because are starting 15 have at least 15 county players. i dont know any other club that can say that.

Yes, having 15 county players starting for the county is a unique achievement which sets us apart from the other teams.
We won't win Ulster this year but we really really need to do it soon. Like most counties an AI is beyond us and apart from taking a few scalps along the way, a good run in the qualifiers doesn't really mean that much in the end.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 19/01/2011 17:25:42    849702

Id take a wile guess and go for Fermanagh sure, Why not!

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 19/01/2011 18:04:20    849744

orlaith are you having a laugh sure they only hav 6 county players

banterladhi (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 19/01/2011 18:12:26    849759

I'm not sure how well they'll do in the championship but I'm telling yous now that Donegal is an awful place. I was working up in Lifford for a week last September and I couldn't get out of the place quick enough, the bloody bank wouldn't give me my own money, the shower wouldn't give me any hot water and the landlord's daughter wouldn't give me any bloody sugar!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/01/2011 18:21:05    849775

i agree with banterhi

banterladhi (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 19/01/2011 18:21:12    849776

Htaem well you were in lifford.

banterladhi (Donegal) - Posts: 502 - 19/01/2011 18:25:40    849784

wayno1.
honestly my money is on the dubs the year , i will have my flutter ;D.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 19/01/2011 18:32:05    849804