All Ireland Winners Speeches

1980 Galway tremendous speech, full of emotion & passion.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 109 - 01/08/2023 07:37:00    2498254

Replying To jimbodub:  "They are amateur sportsmen that have just come off the pitch

Speaking live to potential millions.. it's a mine field now speaking openly in live media, one misjudged statement and you'll be crucified.. amateur lads shouldn't be risking their well-being

They are absolutely right to keep it very simple and do what they have to do..

They do their entertaining on the pitch"
Totally agree with this.

They are there to represent their county, their team mates and themselves. They are not there to entertain.

I think every captain deserves respect and to be listened to. It takes 5-6 minutes to listen at the end of a 5 month season.

A but of realism needed here perhaps?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/08/2023 08:36:45    2498257

Replying To St.Mologga:  "1980 Galway tremendous speech, full of emotion & passion."
Yes there is only 1 real outstanding speech and that was it - all the rest are only trotting afterwards.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3391 - 01/08/2023 09:32:10    2498259

I always find it laughable that we have to thank the strength and conditioning guy or girl, the dietician, the psychologist, the doctor etc. Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think theyre doing it for free. Has anyone ever heard captains thanking the juvenile trainers that helped out in their careers in getting them to that stage.
Just a small thought. Connollys speech from Galway was one of the best I've heard and I don't think will be surpassed.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 01/08/2023 09:38:12    2498263

Go up, present the cup, let them do a lap of honour with the cup.
NOBODY wants to hear the captain thank the S&C coach bar the squad. He can do it in the dressing room.
I can't think of 1 other sporting event where there is a formal speech.
As bad as All-Ireland speeches are, making an u14 captain make a speech after winning a county final is just the worst GAA nonsense ever.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1741 - 01/08/2023 09:52:35    2498268

Paudie Cliffords last year for Fossa was very entertaining, perhaps for the wrong reasons but certainly wasn't boring, I don't remember any other speech criticizing the referee !!

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 140 - 01/08/2023 10:19:15    2498282

No beating Anthony Daly

Greenandgoldie (Westmeath) - Posts: 98 - 01/08/2023 20:47:57    2498477

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Paudie Cliffords last year for Fossa was very entertaining, perhaps for the wrong reasons but certainly wasn't boring, I don't remember any other speech criticizing the referee !!"
Made a fool of himself.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 01/08/2023 20:51:21    2498481

I thought David Burkes in 2017 was excellent.

For a very quiet man it was a good speech, and with the recent passing of Tony Keady (with the Hill chanting his name), and the poignant remembarance of Niall Donohue, that was a special one

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 02/08/2023 09:43:54    2498518

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Go up, present the cup, let them do a lap of honour with the cup.
NOBODY wants to hear the captain thank the S&C coach bar the squad. He can do it in the dressing room.
I can't think of 1 other sporting event where there is a formal speech.
As bad as All-Ireland speeches are, making an u14 captain make a speech after winning a county final is just the worst GAA nonsense ever."
I sometimes wonder why you follow gaa at all :)

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2749 - 02/08/2023 10:25:10    2498529

Replying To ballydalane:  "Made a fool of himself."
It was the president who made a fool of himself on the same occasion…. Paudi Clifford was 100% right in what he said… the referee was woeful on the day in question…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 02/08/2023 10:29:30    2498530

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "I always find it laughable that we have to thank the strength and conditioning guy or girl, the dietician, the psychologist, the doctor etc. Correct me if I'm wrong but I don't think theyre doing it for free. Has anyone ever heard captains thanking the juvenile trainers that helped out in their careers in getting them to that stage.
Just a small thought. Connollys speech from Galway was one of the best I've heard and I don't think will be surpassed."
Were you ever at a wedding where the hotel staff were thanked?

Are they doing it for free?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/08/2023 11:47:38    2498562

Could we have speeches with a rule of "no thank you's"?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 03/08/2023 17:10:43    2498921

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I sometimes wonder why you follow gaa at all :)"
I am following from afar now and dip in every now and then for a peek.
I don't miss so many things connected with it, and seeing the other side of life in has been eye-opening and getting away from GAA palaver. But I won't derail the thread.
Speeches are just not needed.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1741 - 04/08/2023 12:14:08    2499002

Replying To slayer:  "Totally agree with this.

They are there to represent their county, their team mates and themselves. They are not there to entertain.

I think every captain deserves respect and to be listened to. It takes 5-6 minutes to listen at the end of a 5 month season.

A but of realism needed here perhaps?"
Sure listen if Bryan Cullen mentioned Coppers and the drinking association attached to that today, you'd have a campaign against him for promoting the drink culture and not being a good role model.. blah blah blah..

The lads do their entertaining on the pitch, I thought McCarthy spoke well, showed plenty of emotion, he was caught a couple of times, you could see what it meant and he kept it to the point and i found it to be very sincere.

Good on him

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 04/08/2023 14:23:03    2499039

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "It was the president who made a fool of himself on the same occasion…. Paudi Clifford was 100% right in what he said… the referee was woeful on the day in question….."
A winning captain slagging off the ref in the victory speech? Yeah, real classy that!

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 04/08/2023 22:28:10    2499085

There is a harsh reality to the All Ireland Speech.
The good ones are generally given by exceptional leaders of teams that are breaking a long losing tradition.
Those speeches are full of emotion and are given by a generational player who has led his team from the front.

The reality for the regularly successful counties, is that often they are rotating captain's who aren't even the leader of the team (Kerry, Kilkenny) or aren't all that comfortable with public speaking (Cluxton). Even Limericks captain speech has gone to the dogs now that they have gone from nearly men to yearly men.

The regularly successful teams don't win on emotion, but by being systematic. The speeches are the same.

Speeches should be banned unless your county has had a minimum of 10 years without a win.

God help the Mayo captain that gets to make a speech, he has all the materials to make a speech, it would want to be one for the ages.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1140 - 05/08/2023 09:17:01    2499097

I don't mind the speeches .Its an Irish thing but a lot are longwinded alright with all the thank yous.James Mc Carthys speech wont go down in history as one we want to listen to again (although he def will himself go down in history) but what struck me is his humility and kind of shyness.I have had a few pints with James s Dad over the years but I don't know James.However he comes across as a real down to earth lad with no airs or graces.Jamsie is a credit to his family club and county and the gaa family in general.Back to the great speeches yeah cant bate Joe Connolly!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/08/2023 11:15:00    2499105

I thought the one liner from Richard Stakelum was brilliant and I'm not from Tipp.
""The famine is over"

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1684 - 05/08/2023 11:32:08    2499106

The thing is, I heard speeches are written by the backroom in order to not distract the player in the lead up.
Are we at the point where the speaker has to thank the speech writer?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 05/08/2023 14:47:59    2499138