That 1982 Final

Replying To Joxer:  "It's great beating ye alright but sure facile wins in the Munster championship and strolling to AI victories with 3 wins doesn't make for much entertainment or glory. :)"
As the best team in Ireland it's only natural it would feel great for ye to beat us, just like New Zealand in rugby and Brazil in soccer.

And we can only beat what's put in front of us in Munster jock, and don't forget we still beat the best from the other 3 provinces to win our 37 allirelands.

Also don't forget that we top the league charts with a whopping 20 titles, and division 1 isnt just made up of munster teams now is it :-)

Hon the kerry Kings.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/05/2020 11:00:05    2277276

The passage below makes for interesting reading. I remember watching the documentary and thinking the same. Dwyer would still want to be out training teams today if he could.
It was sad to see him at home on his own and the body failing a bit.

LIKE THE MAJORITY of GAA followers in the country, Mikey Sheehy settled himself down on Monday night last week and flicked on the television.

He watched the chronicling of Mick O'Dwyer's playing and coaching exploits with interest.

The documentary 'Micko' was deeply appreciated by a player who was under the tutelage of the Waterville native for so long.

"Jesus it was very good. I enjoyed every minute of it. I suppose it was a bit emotional as well, when you think back on his career and what he has done for the game and I suppose he'd still love to be doing it. He was blaming old age and everything.

"I don't think anyone will touch him as a Gaelic football manager. Jim Gavin in fairness is making a fair job of trying to get there but Micko was something special.

"As I say it's incredible what Dublin are doing at the moment [going for] four in a row. I don't mean this badly about us [but] it was easier to win. There was only four games as such, no back door, and you'd no teams coming through the scenic route like Mayo, who'd make it tough for you.

"There's more demands on players now as well so it probably was a little bit easier in our time. It was still a fantastic achievement, he coached eight All-Irelands in 12 years, and he was unlucky that he didn't win one in '98 with Kildare, which would have been extra special.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/05/2020 12:19:14    2277285

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah sure we can't all just produce a cheque and cash it in to get Sam.
All Ireland's now are nothing but a bank transaction but you Dubs seem to think it's sport, poor craters..."
Funnily enough, that's what everyone was saying about Kerry in the early 80s...Bendix washing machines...Adidas jerseys!!

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 02/05/2020 13:08:29    2277287

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah sure we can't all just produce a cheque and cash it in to get Sam.
All Ireland's now are nothing but a bank transaction but you Dubs seem to think it's sport, poor craters..."
Ah sure look we can't all build palatial €6m centres of excellence and hold a dinner dance in the Plaza Hotel in New York on a whim and raise a €1m. Our poor lads are still spitting grains of sand out of their mouths from the crack of dawn training sessions down on Dollymount strand dodging around supermarket trollies and burned out cars. No centres of excellence for our boys just had hard taught footballing excellence on the field of play.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/05/2020 13:13:55    2277289

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "As the best team in Ireland it's only natural it would feel great for ye to beat us, just like New Zealand in rugby and Brazil in soccer.

And we can only beat what's put in front of us in Munster jock, and don't forget we still beat the best from the other 3 provinces to win our 37 allirelands.

Also don't forget that we top the league charts with a whopping 20 titles, and division 1 isnt just made up of munster teams now is it :-)

Hon the kerry Kings."
Ah Jayz KB things are getting desperate for you boys when ye're bringing league titles into it. There was a time when the mighty Kingdom viewed the league as a warm-up Mickey Mouse competition for minnows. Oh how the mighty have fallen.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/05/2020 13:16:32    2277290

Replying To Joxer:  "Ah Jayz KB things are getting desperate for you boys when ye're bringing league titles into it. There was a time when the mighty Kingdom viewed the league as a warm-up Mickey Mouse competition for minnows. Oh how the mighty have fallen."
I'm just using the league to show that it wasnt just the munster teams that we beat.

We've won 20 of them and we don't even take the league that seriously.

Also what people don't probably know is we actually played 14 league games in 82 (winning it by the way against Cork after a replay) which probably wasn't ideal for us considering we were only an ameteur team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/05/2020 15:03:57    2277299

Replying To Joxer:  "It's great beating ye alright but sure facile wins in the Munster championship and strolling to AI victories with 3 wins doesn't make for much entertainment or glory. :)"
Musha!! Musha!. What is in Leinster anyway. Only one team from the province, apart from Dublin, has contested an All Ireland since 2000. Westmeath, Wicklow Longford or Carlow have never even contested a final and Laois or Kilkenny have never won one.. It is yonks since Wexford, Louth or Kildare won one. In fact only Dublin, Offaly and Meath have won All Irelands in the last sixty years Now Ulster that is a different matter.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 02/05/2020 16:21:37    2277304

God, that defeat is as raw now as it was then. Only time I actually really cried after a game. I was gutted. I was in the Lower Cusach around the 50 yard line. I was soaked to the skin but really didn't notice the weather for most of the game as things seemed to be going to plan. Seated to the right of me was a Christian Brother from Laois and he was extolling the virtues of Kerry football throughout the game....legends, purists etc., etc.

When Darby hit the net he rose up like a Phoenix from the Ashes and hit be a fairly solid dig in the ribs and with glee told me in no uncertain terms and in fairly un-parliamentary language that it was about time that we were bate and we were nothing but a shower of pretentious gobshites with swollen heads and egos. God the man was salivating with excitement despite having cheered for Kerry right up to that point.

I still relive that game and I still feel the same pang of utter devastation on recalling Darby's goal. To me it's a recurrent nightmare to see the game being replayed on TV every now and again. One thing I will sat though is that Offaly were worthy and deserving champions and if there was one footballer that deserved a Celtic Cross it was Matt Connor. Such a talented and brilliant player. Still I would have rather that Offaly won their All Ireland in 1983 and left 1982 to us.

By the way the 1983 final, which I also attended, was the most unsporting and disgraceful game of football I ever witnessed and Galway were blagarded by the officiating officials on the day.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 03/05/2020 20:22:41    2277394

Replying To dingle2:  "God, that defeat is as raw now as it was then. Only time I actually really cried after a game. I was gutted. I was in the Lower Cusach around the 50 yard line. I was soaked to the skin but really didn't notice the weather for most of the game as things seemed to be going to plan. Seated to the right of me was a Christian Brother from Laois and he was extolling the virtues of Kerry football throughout the game....legends, purists etc., etc.

When Darby hit the net he rose up like a Phoenix from the Ashes and hit be a fairly solid dig in the ribs and with glee told me in no uncertain terms and in fairly un-parliamentary language that it was about time that we were bate and we were nothing but a shower of pretentious gobshites with swollen heads and egos. God the man was salivating with excitement despite having cheered for Kerry right up to that point.

I still relive that game and I still feel the same pang of utter devastation on recalling Darby's goal. To me it's a recurrent nightmare to see the game being replayed on TV every now and again. One thing I will sat though is that Offaly were worthy and deserving champions and if there was one footballer that deserved a Celtic Cross it was Matt Connor. Such a talented and brilliant player. Still I would have rather that Offaly won their All Ireland in 1983 and left 1982 to us.

By the way the 1983 final, which I also attended, was the most unsporting and disgraceful game of football I ever witnessed and Galway were blagarded by the officiating officials on the day."
was at them games meself not sure i get you about the officials in 83

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 03/05/2020 21:45:50    2277400

Replying To dingle2:  "God, that defeat is as raw now as it was then. Only time I actually really cried after a game. I was gutted. I was in the Lower Cusach around the 50 yard line. I was soaked to the skin but really didn't notice the weather for most of the game as things seemed to be going to plan. Seated to the right of me was a Christian Brother from Laois and he was extolling the virtues of Kerry football throughout the game....legends, purists etc., etc.

By the way the 1983 final, which I also attended, was the most unsporting and disgraceful game of football I ever witnessed and Galway were blagarded by the officiating officials on the day."
Would ye go away outta that, Galway with a two man advantage and a gale behind them for the last 30 minutes weren't good enough to get the scores, so blame the officials.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 03/05/2020 21:53:00    2277402

Pity he didn't hit you a shot in the knackers and be done with it.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/05/2020 22:17:53    2277406

Replying To catch22:  "Pity he didn't hit you a shot in the knackers and be done with it."
the christian brothers, a great bunch of lads

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 04/05/2020 00:23:28    2277410

A Laois man shouting for Offaly?

Story doesn't check out imo!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/05/2020 11:51:58    2277435

Replying To MesAmis:  "A Laois man shouting for Offaly?

Story doesn't check out imo!"
Mes ye don't get it but the anti kerryness around the country is unbelievable, which is very worrying for kerry people as it means the refferees can fook us over and no one will bat an eyelid in fact it will be celebrated, Kilkenny are in the same boat, its all part of being the best in a particular sport.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/05/2020 13:02:05    2277445

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mes ye don't get it but the anti kerryness around the country is unbelievable, which is very worrying for kerry people as it means the refferees can fook us over and no one will bat an eyelid in fact it will be celebrated, Kilkenny are in the same boat, its all part of being the best in a particular sport."
last time i looked dublin and tipp were the best in the country

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 04/05/2020 17:25:13    2277473

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mes ye don't get it but the anti kerryness around the country is unbelievable, which is very worrying for kerry people as it means the refferees can fook us over and no one will bat an eyelid in fact it will be celebrated, Kilkenny are in the same boat, its all part of being the best in a particular sport."
Not my experience to be honest. In general I think people like Kerry, they've generally produced teams that play lovely football and full of characters that have become really well liked around the country. The Ó Sé's, Donaghy, the Bomber, Jack O'Shea etc are well regarded around the country. If any of the above walked into a boozer full of Dubs they'd hardly have to put their hands in their pockets.

Most games Kerry play in, they're favourites to win and people generally like to see the underdog win. It's only natural.

Obviously not everyone but I've found that most of the country is fairly positive towards Kerry.

Great football, great place but no harm to anyone, especially yourselves, to see yous 2nd best every now and again.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/05/2020 18:07:03    2277476

Replying To MesAmis:  "Not my experience to be honest. In general I think people like Kerry, they've generally produced teams that play lovely football and full of characters that have become really well liked around the country. The Ó Sé's, Donaghy, the Bomber, Jack O'Shea etc are well regarded around the country. If any of the above walked into a boozer full of Dubs they'd hardly have to put their hands in their pockets.

Most games Kerry play in, they're favourites to win and people generally like to see the underdog win. It's only natural.

Obviously not everyone but I've found that most of the country is fairly positive towards Kerry.

Great football, great place but no harm to anyone, especially yourselves, to see yous 2nd best every now and again."
Thanks for the kind words mes, but you've just got to look at RTÉ and TG4s coverage of old matches on telly over the last 6-7 weeks it's all kerry games where we've lost bar 1 that we won, look it's what the people want and that's fair enough coz we're the top dogs and all, but how many games have they shown of dublin losing? 0 maybe 1.

Also iv seen some crazy stuff the last 10 years or so that can only be explained by bias from reffs (not all) but a few.

I think some refs got to like reffing kerry games now coz if they made a mistake or a few mistakes in 1 of our games once its against us then sure it's only kerry nobody will say anything and if we say anything then we're whinging so it's lose lose for us.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/05/2020 20:40:31    2277503

Replying To hontherossie:  "Have you experienced this yew tree from your neighbour's?"
You bet ;) Some not afraid to say it out west tho...Cloonfad celebrated one year with a giant Dublin flag over the street for our return home.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/05/2020 20:45:40    2277504

They don't always 'fook' ye over. Remember the year a Kerry player was not even warned in a major game and the matter was dealt with so badly, by the referee. that the player concerned was suspended, after the game was over, which of course was no good at all to the team that narrowly lost the game. I often fine that supporters of the bigger counties expect every 50/50 decision to go their way

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 04/05/2020 21:11:42    2277506

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Thanks for the kind words mes, but you've just got to look at RTÉ and TG4s coverage of old matches on telly over the last 6-7 weeks it's all kerry games where we've lost bar 1 that we won, look it's what the people want and that's fair enough coz we're the top dogs and all, but how many games have they shown of dublin losing? 0 maybe 1.

Also iv seen some crazy stuff the last 10 years or so that can only be explained by bias from reffs (not all) but a few.

I think some refs got to like reffing kerry games now coz if they made a mistake or a few mistakes in 1 of our games once its against us then sure it's only kerry nobody will say anything and if we say anything then we're whinging so it's lose lose for us."
A little bit paranoid I think. There are always debatable decisions in field sports and issues regarding the tackle in gaelic football leaves even more room for debate and we are all prone to remembering the harsh ones against our own team. I have no doubt Kerry have got their fair share of soft ones. To suggest Refs are eager to get Kerry games so they won't be criticised when they "do" them is more than a little over the top.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 04/05/2020 22:07:28    2277510