NFL Division 1

Replying To cavanman47:  "Hmmm. .

The weather a huge leveller.

A Dublin team trying some new bodies.

A Monaghan team who, in true Banty style, give it EVERYTHING for the league.

And they completely choke with the winning line in sight.

Still, a point gained considering the ability within each squad."
Count your blessings Cavanman - Ciara sparing your blushes for another day at least - a stay of execution for ye in Div 2. You will see in May that Banty will have quite a bit left in the tank for the wee boys of Breffni.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 09/02/2020 09:27:51    2266257

Horrible night for football , Monaghan by far the better team and really should have won that game
Fair play to Dublin for not giving up , but very fortunate indeed to get a draw.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 09/02/2020 09:34:32    2266258

Replying To patk:  "I'd have taken a point going in tonight, but it's an awful sickener to get it in that manner. Feels very like Kerry in the Super 8s in '18. Threw it away in the end. Dublin were chipping away at the lead, but I always felt we were relatively comfortable until the scrappy goal got them back into it(I've no idea why someone didn't just put a fist to that rather than trying to catch it), and then the momentum was with Dublin, the crowd really got behind them, and they kept pushing on. Credit to the Dubs, that's part of why they're the best in the country - no matter the game they're playing or who is on the field, they never know when they're beaten.

Brutal night for a game but I thought it was decent enough considering that. Despite the sickening result I think there are certainly positives to be taken. A break next week now, so time to digest that result and prepare well for the next game. Mayo at home next, which is one we'll certainly be targeting to win and that would put us in a good position then.

Alot of talk about the ref after, mostly about the time added on. To be honest I don't have much of a problem with that, there were a few stoppages during the 6 added minutes, so no surprise he added more on. I just find it a bit funny he blew up as soon as they equalised, he could have even added another minute or so on imo, such was the stoppages during injury time. Maybe that would have went for or against us, but he'd have been justified in adding more on. The biggest issue I have is the advantage which wasn't given when McManus was through on goal, I don't understand that at all."
Good, balanced summary Patk. Plenty of positives to take out of last night & the lads will have learned a lot. Monaghan should have another goal & a few points at half time.
Conditions were very difficult & the pride of the County Down looking looking for sunnier days for himself on the big stage.
Looking at all the red thumbs for you, I wouldn't say there is a can of Dutch Gold left in the fair city.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 09/02/2020 09:37:37    2266259

Replying To ruff1106:  "Bewildered with this games extra time. Can the GAA and referees accept that Dublin will have to lose a game eventually despite the 23 million investment. Nothing lasts forever. Monaghan ripped off by officialdom."
I hope this clears it up for you as I wouldn't want you going around all confused with your wild conspiracy theories. You're welcome!

From the42.ie.
There was nine minutes added time played.

But there were a number of stoppages in the injury-time which accounted for the extra three minutes that were played. 

71:04 minutes - Sean Bugler's well-taken point reduces the gap to two. Before Rory Beggan takes the restart, there's 60 second stoppage as Branagan books Eoin Murchan and Shane Carey for an off-the-ball clash. He then shows Conor McManus a yellow for a separate incident, which wastes a further 30 seconds. 

72:40 - Monaghan make two substitutions, introducing Paraic Keenan and Kieran Hughes into the fray. 

73:04 - The game finally restarts, over two minutes after Bugler's score went over. Beggan's kick-out goes long and Ryan McAnespie is fouled by Niall Scully as he challenges for the breaking ball. Monaghan are furious that Branagan doesn't play advantage, as Dermot Malone kicks it into the unmarked McManus on the edge of the 'D' but it's called back.

74:46 -  McAnespie receives treatment. Beggan jogs up and takes his time over the free-kick, eventually sending it wide.

76:26 - Ciaran Kilkenny has a shot at the posts which drops well short. Beggan punches as far as Bugler, who turns onto his left and reduces the gap to one.

77:28 - Hughes heads for the corner with the ball and wins a 45 off Murchan's block. Beggan walks up to take the 45. Branagan gestures at him to speed up the kick. He takes his kick almost 60 seconds after it went out of play. It trails off wide. 

78:36 - Dublin work a short kick-out and Scully glides past Aaron Mulligan. The Farney sub doesn't let him get far, pulling Scully back by his shorts. A free is awarded and they move the ball over to the right flank. Colm Basquel cuts inside, feeding Mick Fitzsimons who finds the run of Davy Byrne. The full-back sends a booming score over the bar at 79:09 to complete a stunning comeback. 

79:25 - Beggan sends out his kick-out and Branagan blows for full-time.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 09:59:07    2266262

Jays but that was some night for football. I watched the game on the box and Tomás was saying how Dubs didn't show up and what a great result it was for Monaghan with a few minutes of time to go and you couldn't blame him. I think the Monaghan number 9 was in shock when he was being awarded the man of the match afterwards as he could barely put two words together. That will feel like a loss for Monaghan but you just cannot give Dublin a sniff of a chance or you'll be crucified.
The ref was picky enough I thought but Monaghan got some handy enough frees imo.
The time added on was fair enough as there were subs and stoppages to be allowed for.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 09/02/2020 10:32:44    2266268

Replying To Jackeen:  "I hope this clears it up for you as I wouldn't want you going around all confused with your wild conspiracy theories. You're welcome!

From the42.ie.

But there were a number of stoppages in the injury-time which accounted for the extra three minutes that were played. 

71:04 minutes - Sean Bugler's well-taken point reduces the gap to two. Before Rory Beggan takes the restart, there's 60 second stoppage as Branagan books Eoin Murchan and Shane Carey for an off-the-ball clash. He then shows Conor McManus a yellow for a separate incident, which wastes a further 30 seconds. 

72:40 - Monaghan make two substitutions, introducing Paraic Keenan and Kieran Hughes into the fray. 

73:04 - The game finally restarts, over two minutes after Bugler's score went over. Beggan's kick-out goes long and Ryan McAnespie is fouled by Niall Scully as he challenges for the breaking ball. Monaghan are furious that Branagan doesn't play advantage, as Dermot Malone kicks it into the unmarked McManus on the edge of the 'D' but it's called back.

74:46 -  McAnespie receives treatment. Beggan jogs up and takes his time over the free-kick, eventually sending it wide.

76:26 - Ciaran Kilkenny has a shot at the posts which drops well short. Beggan punches as far as Bugler, who turns onto his left and reduces the gap to one.

77:28 - Hughes heads for the corner with the ball and wins a 45 off Murchan's block. Beggan walks up to take the 45. Branagan gestures at him to speed up the kick. He takes his kick almost 60 seconds after it went out of play. It trails off wide. 

78:36 - Dublin work a short kick-out and Scully glides past Aaron Mulligan. The Farney sub doesn't let him get far, pulling Scully back by his shorts. A free is awarded and they move the ball over to the right flank. Colm Basquel cuts inside, feeding Mick Fitzsimons who finds the run of Davy Byrne. The full-back sends a booming score over the bar at 79:09 to complete a stunning comeback. 

79:25 - Beggan sends out his kick-out and Branagan blows for full-time."
Moaning by the Monaghan boys here. It was plain to see how much time was wasted in injury time.. Referee was totally correct

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 392 - 09/02/2020 10:51:35    2266277

Replying To Jackeen:  "I hope this clears it up for you as I wouldn't want you going around all confused with your wild conspiracy theories. You're welcome!

From the42.ie.

Jaysis if there was that much time wasted, surely there was a bit left once Monaghan won the kickout from the equaliser?

Otherwise the stoppages measured exactly to the amount of time Dublin needed to kick a point? Some coincidence there.

Great game all the same, fair play to both teams

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1055 - 09/02/2020 11:07:31    2266281

From the42.ie.

I have no issues with the time, i'm actually glad refs are doing this now as hopefully teams won't bother with the silly time wasting. Can anyone tell me when the clock stops, like does it stop for a score and kick out or for a free or is it just for injuries/ bookings/ subs? This is nothing to do with last name ghts game just in general

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 09/02/2020 11:08:39    2266282

From the42.ie.

Good man fair bit of analysis for 6 minutes, if you did the same for the entire match we'd still be there. Drop the conspiracy theory nonsense he blew up with Monaghan in possession, and deprived us of a clear advantage, whether in error or not, which would have ended the contest. The defining decision in the match. Dublin were lucky and aided by a weak referee.
What's you're analysis of the new lads that started, are they good enough

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/02/2020 11:09:50    2266283

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Jaysis if there was that much time wasted, surely there was a bit left once Monaghan won the kickout from the equaliser?

Otherwise the stoppages measured exactly to the amount of time Dublin needed to kick a point? Some coincidence there.

Great game all the same, fair play to both teams"
I didnt write the article, so I dont know. The same thing happened us v Kerry and Galway v yourselves. Also Mayo v Donegal actually. Seems the GAA re cracking down on time wasting this year. A welcome addition imo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 11:14:14    2266285

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Good man fair bit of analysis for 6 minutes, if you did the same for the entire match we'd still be there. Drop the conspiracy theory nonsense he blew up with Monaghan in possession, and deprived us of a clear advantage, whether in error or not, which would have ended the contest. The defining decision in the match. Dublin were lucky and aided by a weak referee.
What's you're analysis of the new lads that started, are they good enough"
Woman actually and did you miss the part where I said it was from an article in the42.ie. I didnt write it. Yes Dublin were lucky just as Monaghan were lucky against Galway. Swings and roundabouts! Bugler is good enough, as is Basquel imo but they need more game time. You would be better off asking yourself why Monaghan were 9 points up at 60 mins and by 71 mins were only 2 points up. Dubs were always gonna go for the jugular when they sensed it was game on.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 11:24:19    2266290

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Good man fair bit of analysis for 6 minutes, if you did the same for the entire match we'd still be there. Drop the conspiracy theory nonsense he blew up with Monaghan in possession, and deprived us of a clear advantage, whether in error or not, which would have ended the contest. The defining decision in the match. Dublin were lucky and aided by a weak referee.
What's you're analysis of the new lads that started, are they good enough"
He had to blow up with some team in possession. The referee didn't aid Dublin, if fact I was listening to O'Se's commentary this morning from the match and you would think the opposite. The only thing that helped Dublin was Monaghan. Attempting to kill the clock with subs and slow kick-outs just added to the time and you just can't do that with this Dublin team and give them more time to catch you. I thought Monaghan were excellent in the first half, well organised and worked hard. Dublin didn't hound Monaghan at all in the first 35 and were very lead footed. They woke up in the second, had most of the ball and executed a brilliant comeback against a white wall, as O'Se called it. A good game considering the conditions. Monaghan will take great heart from their performance and Dublin will have learned a lesson re the need to work hard for 70m+ and not just the last half hour.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/02/2020 11:30:23    2266292

The ref would have added another minute if the Dubs needed it, funny how some counties never get a blast of extra time to score.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 09/02/2020 11:34:51    2266295

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Moaning by the Monaghan boys here. It was plain to see how much time was wasted in injury time.. Referee was totally correct"
A great statement of fact by your goose self. Totally Correct indeed.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 09/02/2020 11:45:55    2266297

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "And not playing the advantage? where do you stand on that?"
Thought the non playing of the advantage was a poor desicion by the ref. Mon had a 3 on 1 but the time played is an issue we'll see any time a black card is issued. All teams will try and kill time with non injuries from any contact so it's now solely on what the ref thinks. Once any player trys to kill time it's hard to object to any ref adding extra time. It just happened to back fire on monaghan last night but they'll all do it.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 09/02/2020 12:05:29    2266300

Replying To seanie08:  "Disappointing end to game thought we lacked bit of nous in game management at finish. Been a problem for a few years in big games seeing them out. Being honest when dublin got their goal which our defence went to sleep on I was fearing a defeat so a draw is least something."
Its funny how things go.Watching the game I would have thought that Monaghan left it behind them in the last few minutes of the first half when they missed a few scoring opportunities that they had been taking earlier . An extra 1-3 wouldnt have flattered them at half time and would have made the second period very interesting .Had that happened a hammering could have been on the cards for Dublin which might just have been the shot in the arm football needed

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 09/02/2020 12:08:41    2266301

Replying To maroondiesel:  "The ref would have added another minute if the Dubs needed it, funny how some counties never get a blast of extra time to score."
Didn't need it against you boys in Castlebar last week that's for sure.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/02/2020 12:11:26    2266302

Replying To Jackeen:  "Woman actually and did you miss the part where I said it was from an article in the42.ie. I didnt write it. Yes Dublin were lucky just as Monaghan were lucky against Galway. Swings and roundabouts! Bugler is good enough, as is Basquel imo but they need more game time. You would be better off asking yourself why Monaghan were 9 points up at 60 mins and by 71 mins were only 2 points up. Dubs were always gonna go for the jugular when they sensed it was game on."
Lucky against Galway, did we not lose that one
One of the things that did happen last night that helped affect the result was when Dessie Ward got a knock having previously man marked Fenton out of it. His influence in the last 10 (20) minutes was a factor

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/02/2020 12:23:10    2266307

Replying To Jackeen:  "Woman actually and did you miss the part where I said it was from an article in the42.ie. I didnt write it. Yes Dublin were lucky just as Monaghan were lucky against Galway. Swings and roundabouts! Bugler is good enough, as is Basquel imo but they need more game time. You would be better off asking yourself why Monaghan were 9 points up at 60 mins and by 71 mins were only 2 points up. Dubs were always gonna go for the jugular when they sensed it was game on."
Calm down love

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 09/02/2020 12:23:47    2266308

Replying To maroondiesel:  "The ref would have added another minute if the Dubs needed it, funny how some counties never get a blast of extra time to score."
What teams would these be pray tell? I know you cant be talking about Mayo!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 09/02/2020 12:30:31    2266310