Greatest Lost Talents In Your County

Replying To dubshurling7:  "Saw him playing this year in Division 8 for Garda not even good enough for their first team who are Division 4. Some fall due to injuries"
Colm O'Neill?

He can't have gone that far back surely!? Maybe just playing to get some fitness?
He lined out for Cork 2 years ago, was carrying a bit of weight but the touch of class was still there. Think he kicked 3 points the day they took Mayo to extra time.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 16/11/2019 20:01:49    2249906

Funnily enough, Frank McGuigan. Lost decade in New York. We only had him when he was starting out and then again near the end. His prime years arguably were lost to us. Also that McKenna lad in the AFL looked strong, skilful and sharp when I saw him a couple of years ago; might have developed into a powerful forward we could be doing with currently to partner McShane. Tyrone won't be winning anything with just one ball-winning forward.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 16/11/2019 21:26:04    2249920

Replying To cavanman47:  "Colm O'Neill?

He can't have gone that far back surely!? Maybe just playing to get some fitness?
He lined out for Cork 2 years ago, was carrying a bit of weight but the touch of class was still there. Think he kicked 3 points the day they took Mayo to extra time."
No, Paddy Curran

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 16/11/2019 21:51:05    2249929

The McGrath brothers Noel and John from Loughmore-Castleiney better as hurlers winning numerous AI are alsotalented footballers. John the younger of the two came on as a sub in the fantastic victory over the Dubs in the 2011 AI MF Final. He was instrumental in the victory over the Dubs in 2012 hurling final (after a replay). Their club Loughmore Castleiney is a strong dual club winning both county finals in recent years. In 2013 they completed the double.

Coopers_Helmet (Tipperary) - Posts: 154 - 17/11/2019 14:26:17    2249983

Replying To boman11:  "Matt Fitzpatrick has recently announced he will be leaving the intercounty scene to pursue a career in soccerball. We don't know how long this may last or even if it will be successful but a huge loss for Antrim in the mean time, probably been at his peak in recent seasons and the best footballer we have at the moment, this will definitely be a big blow for Antrim."
It will last 3 months because he will be warming the bench and probably getting dogs abuse for the wonderful "fans" they have.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/11/2019 15:21:26    2250170

Replying To Oldtourman:  "He also scored their only goal V Limerick in the '91 Munster Final."
Kerry didn't score any goals in that Munster final

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 18/11/2019 22:58:46    2250255

I always felt that Nicky Joyce from Galway had serious ability but for whatever reason it never worked out for him.

I know Conor Mortimer scored alot for Mayo over the years & he has his critics, but he had a sweet left peg & if he hung around he could have been the difference in Mayo getting over the line.

Injuries seem to have curtailed the likes of Donie Shine in Roscommon & David Kelly in Sligo who were very good footballers.

Frankie Dolan had a few great years in the primrose & blue but it probably ended a bit prematurely.

Rossiemad (None) - Posts: 100 - 19/11/2019 00:42:44    2250267

Niall McGinn or Conor McKenna.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 19/11/2019 09:31:52    2250285

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Kerry didn't score any goals in that Munster final"
was thinking that myself. :)

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 19/11/2019 09:57:56    2250288

Replying To St.Conleth:  "Without a doubt Tompkins and Fahy to Cork.
Missed a few to Australia but they came back after short spells. Ben McCormack a big loss this year."
Kevin Feely's younger brother Rory had every bit of potential to be as good and better as Kevin, taken by the soccer though unfortunately.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 19/11/2019 09:59:16    2250289

From a Louth perspective, there have been many players with huge potential but various reasons prevented them from kicking on. However, Stephen Staunton was a very promising GAA player. Won a senior championship with his club at the age of 16 before moving across the pond.

breakingball22 (Louth) - Posts: 419 - 19/11/2019 14:29:49    2250332

Liam walkinstown from Dublin
He coulda been a great
Was too fond of the gargle and the women
a hoor for both of them. Terrible shame, they say he had a wand of a right foot.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/11/2019 18:47:04    2250377

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Kerry didn't score any goals in that Munster final"
I think you are actually right-it was 23 points to 3.11-My mistake-well spotted

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 19/11/2019 19:24:49    2250386

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I think you are actually right-it was 23 points to 3.11-My mistake-well spotted"
Yes , spot in Cronin scored in the semi vs Cork but we were goal less in the Munster final

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 19/11/2019 20:27:28    2250394

Replying To Horsebox77:  "John Cronin from Waterville, he scored the crucial goal agains Cork in Killarney in 1991, he played a few games after, I recall he playing a league game or two at corner back he was very versatile.

I remember seeing him playing either an intermediate or junior club final in Tralee few years after at full forarsfor his club, he had the knee heavily bandaged so take it injuries curtailed him.

One of ye mentioned Paddy Curran also from Waterville, I marked him in his comeback game after the firs knee operation and he was still lively but was watching himself, I was being a bit robust as they say and he was running a mile from it, still he took one ball around me and planed it over the black spot from 35 yards, still had that class above, I heard then that he did the knee again the following week, we were talking after the game and he appeared a right genuine old soul, I felt for him when I heard it.

Jack Ferriter was another one, was minor captain in 1994, and won an U21 in 1995 and 1996. Shoulder injuries ruled him out of further progression with Kerry and he ended up playing ball with Bishopstown.

Back or Curran he was full forward on the minor team that included Moran and Tommy Walsh in midfield. The next best player then was the centre back Adrain Greaney, he never fulfilled his underage potential, he captained Brendans U21's to a County Title and UCC to sigerson under Billy Morgan, Billy by all accounts had massive time for him. He played a bit with Nemo scoring a goal in a Munster final two or three years back."
Another one is Dan Doona of Beaufort. Jack mentioned him in his book. Had a very good future ahead in the Green and Gold before taking off to America.

NarrowBack914 (USA) - Posts: 181 - 21/11/2019 18:07:56    2250742

Tommy Carr played with Tipp before he went on to play with Dublin.

Coopers_Helmet (Tipperary) - Posts: 154 - 21/11/2019 18:17:25    2250745

Pearse Hanley definitely a huge loss to Mayo, could have made the difference in some of those one point losses to Dublin in the 2010s.

Kevin O'Neill arguably also, as he only really lined out for Mayo at the beginning and end of his career, not being picked at his peak (when he was routinely topping the championship scoring charts in Mayo) due to a combination of injuries, bust-ups with the county manager, being in the States, long club championship runs with Knockmore etc.

Would also advocate for Ronan Goulding, Kevin McStay, and probably the entire 2013 minor winning side.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 22/11/2019 15:27:46    2250889

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Kevin Feely's younger brother Rory had every bit of potential to be as good and better as Kevin, taken by the soccer though unfortunately."
The Feelys were originally from Waterford

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 25/11/2019 09:41:48    2251245

Replying To NarrowBack914:  "Another one is Dan Doona of Beaufort. Jack mentioned him in his book. Had a very good future ahead in the Green and Gold before taking off to America."
Didnt he have a stint in Wicklow with Micko too? He was unreal in NY for a few years but faded away

WestsideWarrior (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 25/11/2019 10:05:01    2251254

Replying To NarrowBack914:  "Another one is Dan Doona of Beaufort. Jack mentioned him in his book. Had a very good future ahead in the Green and Gold before taking off to America."
Ya Dan Doona was a class act , He took the fall for someone else and jack gave him the road unfortunately.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/11/2019 10:05:33    2251255