All Stars 2019

Replying To royaldunne:  "The all stars can take a run and jump , twice in 10 years Meath have been shafted. Once when graham Reilly was clearly the best half forward in country and now donal keoghan been shafted for durcan. Load of @@@@"
Keoghan was hard done along with McCarthy and Boyle but Reilly was never near the best half forward in the country at any stage unfortunately . The all stars are a bit of a joke which is why I don't even watch it anymore.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 02/11/2019 07:59:29    2247178

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Murphy was brilliant all year. He was our only player against mayo, played "poor" by some peoples standards and scored 1-5.
Stephen O'brien plays in a poor munster competition and had arguably 2 good games at most all year (terrible in both finals) so stop whining about Murphy.
Did he play at 12? No but he 100% deserves an all star.
System is flawed but no doubt he was one of the best 15 players all year."
Agree...Mayo played Murphy that day in Castlebar, he was excellent.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 02/11/2019 08:02:39    2247179

Congrats to all winners and all nominated. Big shout out to poty Cluxton who was thoroughly deserving of this award. Surprised Ulster got 3 awards. I suppose there is always balancing of the books involved.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/11/2019 08:31:04    2247180

Replying To tiobraid:  "Donegal won one more game than Meath in Super 8's so I'd get down off your high horse before you embarrass yourself"
Won an Ulster title and lost 1 game versus Meath losing 4... that's no high horse.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 02/11/2019 09:38:16    2247186

Replying To tiobraid:  "Donegal won one more game than Meath in Super 8's so I'd get down off your high horse before you embarrass yourself"
Are u talking about the division 2 champions who beat meath 3 times this year who retained the ulster championship who only lost 1 game in the championship this season . Who's all star Michael Murphy had a bad game against mayo where he scored 1-5 . Maybe tipp could roll over and let kerry tickle their bellies . Sorry that's what the usually do ;-)

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 02/11/2019 10:31:29    2247192

Well done to all involved, Cluxton deserves player of the year, you can't bottle or buy that level of commitment, thoroughly deserved.

I honestly don't think Howard should have been picked at 6, it should have been Boyle, Keogan or McCarthy, but sure look, forget about it, it's over.

Personally I haven't watched the All-Stars since Esat Digifone were the sponsors, award cermonies aren't my cuppa tae.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/11/2019 11:20:42    2247203

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Are u talking about the division 2 champions who beat meath 3 times this year who retained the ulster championship who only lost 1 game in the championship this season . Who's all star Michael Murphy had a bad game against mayo where he scored 1-5 . Maybe tipp could roll over and let kerry tickle their bellies . Sorry that's what the usually do ;-)"
He was poor against mayo there's no doubt about that. I'm struggling to understand what tipp have got to do with a debate about the football all stars? It's a bit like a kid saying in the school ground...my daddy will beat up yours

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 02/11/2019 12:33:52    2247213

Actually, if the players themselves voted for the all star winners then you could take it more seriously. As it stands, it is in the control of others.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/11/2019 13:15:30    2247216

Replying To gahfan:  "Dublin all stars, POTY, Dublin president, Dublin boss of the GPA"
Ya its a great time for Dublin Gaa -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/11/2019 13:31:57    2247218

The people picking the All Star team decided that they thought some of the best players in the country were a little bit better this year than some of the other best players in the country. It's an outrage - talk to Joe !
Honestly lads, it doesn't mean a whole lot in the scheme of things...

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 02/11/2019 13:37:40    2247220

Replying To tiobraid:  "He was poor against mayo there's no doubt about that. I'm struggling to understand what tipp have got to do with a debate about the football all stars? It's a bit like a kid saying in the school ground...my daddy will beat up yours"
He wasn't 'poor' against Mayo. And if you think he was, it just shows how highly you regard his performance levels.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 02/11/2019 13:40:03    2247221

Replying To Donegalman:  "Actually, if the players themselves voted for the all star winners then you could take it more seriously. As it stands, it is in the control of others."
Yes in this day and age it should be easy to do. Give every manager, selector and player who participates in the championship a vote and you'd get a more credible result. Nobody could question any of the selections.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 02/11/2019 13:44:05    2247222

O Shea definitely best player on show for Kerry. Clifford was average enough the first day shooting wise and that's what he's there for. O Shea a better all rounder for me.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/11/2019 15:15:55    2247234

The selection committee for the Football are being too clever for their own good. There's always been movement of backs between backs and the same for forwards. I remember Eoin Liston getting one in 1984 at Centre Half Forward a position he never played for Kerry because Frank McGuigan got the FF jersey. But the last 2 years have been a farce. Brian Howard should have All Stars for the last 2 years as wing half forward. Not as a midfielder and CHB. His catch for the Dublin goal in drawn game should have got him an award on its own. But he has been moved about to accommodate Ryan McHugh last year and either Michael Murphy or David Clifford this year. Just pick the best keeper, 6 backs, 2 midfielders and 6 forwards and be done with it. You're not going to please everyone but this mixing and matching is destroying the integrity of the awards.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 02/11/2019 16:53:05    2247242

Replying To jimbodub:  "Jaysus

Joanne is looking well."
Too much drink you've had

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 02/11/2019 17:43:55    2247248

I think they should overhaul the whole selection.

Pick 21 players every year, seeing as 21 players tend to be used by every team in every game.

2 Keepers, 8 defenders, 3 midfielders and 8 forwards.

It's reflective of what a hurling and football team actually is in this day and age.

There would still be tight calls but it would eliminate a lot of the silly moving of players to accommodate others and the added bonus of being able to pick more players outside the top 3/4 teams.

For example this year, Jarlath Óg Burns was brilliant so he could have been given the midfield slot, a space for the likes of Conor Cox in the forwards, Keoghan in the backs etc.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 02/11/2019 18:39:08    2247262

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Suppose someone from Meath was though in his position?"
Yet finished ahead of donegal. Who got the pity all star. Go figure??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/11/2019 19:26:47    2247269

And Meath finished ahead of them in league table.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/11/2019 19:28:09    2247271

Replying To Richieq:  "No, the only one of the 3 nominees we had that I thought would get one was Keoghan, a fight between him and Colm Boyle, I certainly did not expect a Dublin forward to beat him to the position and its unfair on all nominees for those positions that it happened, and not for the first time either."
No one expected McGill or menton to get a all star. But keoghan definitely deserved one and anyone saying otherwise is clueless. End of.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/11/2019 19:30:03    2247273

Replying To superdub:  "Keoghan was hard done along with McCarthy and Boyle but Reilly was never near the best half forward in the country at any stage unfortunately . The all stars are a bit of a joke which is why I don't even watch it anymore."
In 2010 he was outstanding and was nominated for both ypoty and a all star. He was a raging favorite to pick up both, he didn't cause of what happened with Louth. Not having a go. But he was absolutely outstanding in 2010. Many believe he never repeated that performance (which in fairness he didn't) but there wasn't a half forward near him in 10. As for keoghan Boyle etc. Totally agree. Howard is a great player but not a half back.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/11/2019 19:35:52    2247274