Dublin 2015 - 2019

Replying To arock:  "My local here is rocking, they couldn't care less what a few miserable gits think"
sat in a pub at 10pm on the night of winning 5 in a row and you have your phone out messaging on there hogan stand forum. says it all. must have been some night lol!

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 16/09/2019 16:08:38    2236191

Replying To Joxer:  "How much funding do you lads need in Leitrim, Legend, to compete with Dublin do you think? You are saying that money buys AI's so how much money do you need?"
They could start by making it equal on a per capita basis. Of course it wouldn't be enough but that's the least that should happen. Dubliners know full well that the existing situation is completely unfair and unjustifiable. Yet they still try to defend it somehow, it's hilarious.

qwerty368 (Kildare) - Posts: 69 - 16/09/2019 16:16:22    2236192

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Kerry Group 540 million euro turnover in 2018.
AIG 14.5 billion euro turnover in 2018.

So 28 times the profits of Kerry Group. Again the financial imbalance is there.

Congrats to Dublin yesterday on their 5 in a row. But I wouldn't be honest if I didn't mention the caveat of funding. Kerry were as good as 14 Dublin men for 40 odd minutes in the drawn game. They held 15 Dublin men for the replay for the first half. Kerry were out on their feet by 55 min. This supreme conditioning is bringing Dublin home.

Now the usual thing expected in Ireland is to be a Patsy, bite your tongue, and congratulate the winner. But there are advantages that can't be overlooked."
Kerry Group, Club Tyrone and the Ex Pats groups are geniune GAA people with an interest in the GAA. Another poster mentioned the ex pats groups as cap in hand however in many cases this is untrue - they are structured, well organised business's who in some cases have a link to multi nationals who feed a significant sum of money back to individual counties.

AIG are on a different level granted but whilst we love the GAA, what they give Dublin is what's in the contract, they wouldn't have the same interest in the GAA as say Kerry Group. What is being forgotten in this debate is the fact you can pick out the wealthly counties by how well their teams are conditioned. Dublin are able to afford and invest significantly in this area but the likes of Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone and Mayo in particular invest heavily in this area as well. Look how these counties stand out when playing smaller or medium sized counties.

Dublin have drew two All Ireland finals this decade and were beaten by Donegal. If money really was as big an issue then these results wouldn't have occured. The reality is the weathly counties are able to spend over a million euro in preparing their own teams and they're just as well conditioned as Dublin. The reality is Dublin's basic skills and talented players are on a different level.

Everybody has to acknowledge the potential problems down the road with Dublin's coaching grants and the marketing potential of a successful Dublin GAA brand. They could become bigger than the GAA themselves which is a scary thought. It hasn't impacted on the 5 in a row - the one regret Kerry may have is their new team have arrived after Dublin's 4 and just couldn't stop the 5. Kerry though will guaranteed win an All Ireland in the next two years and money won't be an issue in stopping them.

Tyrone are the perfect example of my argument - this is a very average group of players who most Ulster counties should easily compete with. However the huge sums of money invested by their famous business "Club Tyrone" ensures their strength and conditioning allows them to power past teams who can't compete financially. The problem isn't Dublin's money - the real problem is the 4 or 5 wealthly counties who are in a different league preparation wise - within this small group if they were good enough to beat Dublin they would beat them and strength and conditioning wouldn't stop them.

Dublin's challengers spend a significant sum of money preparing their inter county teams but Dublin have the skill set, players and manager to hold them off.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/09/2019 16:50:50    2236207

Just wanted to pop in and say thanks for all the cash lads. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/09/2019 17:00:02    2236215

For me Dublin 15-19 are the greatest team I've seen. The main reason for their success is a culmination of a great generation of players along with a great manager who is no doubt one of the innovators of the game. He has created a style of play that has proven to be unbeatable at present.

The money side of things plays a small part but this team has created what they have without 'buying' anything per say. But there definitely should be a fairer spread per playing member etc for each county which has been highlighted as an absolute scandal of a breakdown. I'm sure even the most die hard Dublin supporters will go along with that.

As a neutral, all I can hope for is other counties to come up with a long term plan that will receive the same backing that this Dublin team were afforded. We need a championship with a lot less predictability. I found it very tough to get motivated to watch this years final as I knew who would win before a ball was kicked in May. Coaches need to go away and do their homework on this team over the winter. Th

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 16/09/2019 17:00:19    2236216

Manchester City's success is hollow. It comes with an asterisk against any achievements. They deny this like flat earthers arguing the world is not round. Dublin fans do the same. Probably understandable. Bias and all. They hate to admit and there's none so blind as those who will not see
They like to live in an echo chamber where they worked harder and Jim the Messiahs system works and if only Carlow would work harder

But the rest of the country and Dublin based media geneflecting at the altar of Dublin AIG is worrisome.

ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone (Kerry) - Posts: 26 - 16/09/2019 17:42:20    2236248

Replying To qwerty368:  "They could start by making it equal on a per capita basis. Of course it wouldn't be enough but that's the least that should happen. Dubliners know full well that the existing situation is completely unfair and unjustifiable. Yet they still try to defend it somehow, it's hilarious."
Who's defending it? I've always said that it should be per capita. Money does't buy Con O'Callaghans. How much of Dublin's money goes into the senior team? Some people think that money wins Sams. It doesn't.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 18:10:38    2236265

I was DELIGHTED that the Dubs won and not just cos they were playing Kerry. This team is the best of all time in my opinion. I expect them to get the 6 or 7 in a row as I think they are still a bit stronger than Kerry even though they are in 'decline' now. In my opinion a critical mass of great players came along at the same time just like the great Kerry teams. In the next couple of years Dublin will drop to mere mortal status again and only then will they be fully appreciated by the begrudgers. Also, they have been the saviours of Gaelic football and are a pleasure to watch.

findra (Cork) - Posts: 40 - 16/09/2019 18:47:11    2236283

Replying To sam1884:  "Kerry Group, Club Tyrone and the Ex Pats groups are geniune GAA people with an interest in the GAA. Another poster mentioned the ex pats groups as cap in hand however in many cases this is untrue - they are structured, well organised business's who in some cases have a link to multi nationals who feed a significant sum of money back to individual counties.

AIG are on a different level granted but whilst we love the GAA, what they give Dublin is what's in the contract, they wouldn't have the same interest in the GAA as say Kerry Group. What is being forgotten in this debate is the fact you can pick out the wealthly counties by how well their teams are conditioned. Dublin are able to afford and invest significantly in this area but the likes of Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone and Mayo in particular invest heavily in this area as well. Look how these counties stand out when playing smaller or medium sized counties.

Dublin have drew two All Ireland finals this decade and were beaten by Donegal. If money really was as big an issue then these results wouldn't have occured. The reality is the weathly counties are able to spend over a million euro in preparing their own teams and they're just as well conditioned as Dublin. The reality is Dublin's basic skills and talented players are on a different level.

Everybody has to acknowledge the potential problems down the road with Dublin's coaching grants and the marketing potential of a successful Dublin GAA brand. They could become bigger than the GAA themselves which is a scary thought. It hasn't impacted on the 5 in a row - the one regret Kerry may have is their new team have arrived after Dublin's 4 and just couldn't stop the 5. Kerry though will guaranteed win an All Ireland in the next two years and money won't be an issue in stopping them.

Tyrone are the perfect example of my argument - this is a very average group of players who most Ulster counties should easily compete with. However the huge sums of money invested by their famous business "Club Tyrone" ensures their strength and conditioning allows them to power past teams who can't compete financially. The problem isn't Dublin's money - the real problem is the 4 or 5 wealthly counties who are in a different league preparation wise - within this small group if they were good enough to beat Dublin they would beat them and strength and conditioning wouldn't stop them.

Dublin's challengers spend a significant sum of money preparing their inter county teams but Dublin have the skill set, players and manager to hold them off."
Looking at Dublin drawing two games and losing one, in almost a decade, isn't proof that the disproportionate financial backing they receive isn't working.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 16/09/2019 18:50:14    2236284

Replying To findra:  "I was DELIGHTED that the Dubs won and not just cos they were playing Kerry. This team is the best of all time in my opinion. I expect them to get the 6 or 7 in a row as I think they are still a bit stronger than Kerry even though they are in 'decline' now. In my opinion a critical mass of great players came along at the same time just like the great Kerry teams. In the next couple of years Dublin will drop to mere mortal status again and only then will they be fully appreciated by the begrudgers. Also, they have been the saviours of Gaelic football and are a pleasure to watch."
Thank you

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 16/09/2019 19:03:21    2236292

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "Manchester City's success is hollow. It comes with an asterisk against any achievements. They deny this like flat earthers arguing the world is not round. Dublin fans do the same. Probably understandable. Bias and all. They hate to admit and there's none so blind as those who will not see
They like to live in an echo chamber where they worked harder and Jim the Messiahs system works and if only Carlow would work harder

But the rest of the country and Dublin based media geneflecting at the altar of Dublin AIG is worrisome."
Very worrisome for a Kerryman I would say. Is there anything we can do to assist you in your hour of need bud? It must be hard to sleep at night with the weight of the world on your shoulders.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 19:26:05    2236302

Replying To Fionn:  "Thank you"
Haha. Were you playing???

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 16/09/2019 19:32:00    2236305

Replying To ThyKingdomComeThyWillBeDone:  "Manchester City's success is hollow. It comes with an asterisk against any achievements. They deny this like flat earthers arguing the world is not round. Dublin fans do the same. Probably understandable. Bias and all. They hate to admit and there's none so blind as those who will not see

But the rest of the country and Dublin based media geneflecting at the altar of Dublin AIG is worrisome."
Where will I find this asterisk may I ask? Will they engrave an asterisk onto the trophy itself ?
I think perhaps it exists only in your head.
I have to laugh at posts like this. Have you been to your centre of Excellence out in Currans. It's like a luxury hotel compared to the facilities the Dubs use at DCU. Built on an eminence no less so that no tree dwelling spies can observe the top secret preparations going on within.
The money that pours into Kerry Gas from Kerry Group, overseas investors etc is staggering. There is no lack of money down in Kerry. Dublin footballers go out and do a days work unlike some of your recent retirees who cold afford to dedicate themselves to their football careers,, FULLTIME.
Ex-Kerry footballers still dine out on their halcyon days as they drive luxury cars like Audis pour of garage forecourts.
So give over with your oil whingin' and take your beating like a man and stop playing the poor mouth. Pathetic..

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/09/2019 19:59:29    2236314

Stunning achievement lads. The race has now begun to see who will be the first team to beat Dublin in a meaningful game; I still hold that this Kerry team has been over-sold by a media desperate to create drama, and fill the void left by Mayo's decline.

Enjoy the celebrations!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 16/09/2019 20:05:26    2236316

Replying To Joxer:  "Who's defending it? I've always said that it should be per capita. Money does't buy Con O'Callaghans. How much of Dublin's money goes into the senior team? Some people think that money wins Sams. It doesn't."
Money makes a big difference.

Just look at Britain in the summer olympics. In the 1996 games they only won one gold medal. Over the course of the next 20 years, they ramped up the funding by a multiple of 6 and in 2016 they won 27 gold medals. (From 36th to 3rd in the overall medal table.)

Obviously gaa is on a much smaller scale to the above and it is not directly comparable for obvious reasons but the same principle applies. In fact, this era of amazing football played by the dubs has coincided with a huge ramp up in funding over the preceding 20 years or so. You would have us believe that this is coincidental?

qwerty368 (Kildare) - Posts: 69 - 16/09/2019 21:02:44    2236346

Replying To qwerty368:  "Money makes a big difference.

Just look at Britain in the summer olympics. In the 1996 games they only won one gold medal. Over the course of the next 20 years, they ramped up the funding by a multiple of 6 and in 2016 they won 27 gold medals. (From 36th to 3rd in the overall medal table.)

Obviously gaa is on a much smaller scale to the above and it is not directly comparable for obvious reasons but the same principle applies. In fact, this era of amazing football played by the dubs has coincided with a huge ramp up in funding over the preceding 20 years or so. You would have us believe that this is coincidental?"
But this current Dublin team who are averaging about 27 yo were in prime development about 11 years ago before large scale funding had rolled in and taken effect. How do you explain this?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/09/2019 22:54:10    2236409

Replying To Joxer:  "But this current Dublin team who are averaging about 27 yo were in prime development about 11 years ago before large scale funding had rolled in and taken effect. How do you explain this?"
Think the money for British athletics helped British athletes to basically be professional. In truth central councils fund don't I imagine go towards the like more as you say the current players were helped to realise their potential. So not really a good argument from them.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 17/09/2019 00:05:55    2236425

Lads will ye stop embarrassing yourselves! This is a fantastic Dublin team and expertly managed but the best part of them is their humility. They come across better than any team to have won an all Ireland.
What are people going to say about money when Kerry take over? It'll soon be forgotten. When kk were winning all Ireland's people said sure they don't play any other sport why wouldn't they win. Some teams stay longer at the top than others but eventually all teams in all sports come back to the pack again. Dublin could possibly lose 6/7/8 players and a management team after this year and it mightn't be far away where the begrudgers won't be able to complain about money anymore so appreciate these players for what they are.

On a side note- it's remarkable how tipp won that minor final in 2011 - on paper Dublin had arguably the greatest minor side of all time. Half of that team now has multiple all Ireland medals. Kilkenny has 5 or 6 alone.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/09/2019 04:46:58    2236447

Replying To Spoddgy:  "Think the money for British athletics helped British athletes to basically be professional. In truth central councils fund don't I imagine go towards the like more as you say the current players were helped to realise their potential. So not really a good argument from them."
I said that they were not directly comparable and I was making a general point in relation to money being a big factor in sporting success. (Some people on here ludicrously claim that money plays no part in sporting success.)

Are you telling me that the 25m or so pumped in didn't play a big part in the development of the current Dublin senior team?

qwerty368 (Kildare) - Posts: 69 - 17/09/2019 08:25:33    2236469

Replying To sam1884:  "Kerry Group, Club Tyrone and the Ex Pats groups are geniune GAA people with an interest in the GAA. Another poster mentioned the ex pats groups as cap in hand however in many cases this is untrue - they are structured, well organised business's who in some cases have a link to multi nationals who feed a significant sum of money back to individual counties.

Dublin's challengers spend a significant sum of money preparing their inter county teams but Dublin have the skill set, players and manager to hold them off."
I never said it was cap in hand, for a start I was commending Kerry, Tyrone, and Mayo for doing so. The point I was trying to make is the counties who have their house in order are finding ways to get the funds they need to compete at the top level.

You need cash to run a successful county board and inter-county teams. These big backroom teams don't come cheap. The counties who are doing well have the cash behind them including my own county.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 17/09/2019 10:11:27    2236515