Mayo V Dublin

Replying To catchturnscore:  "Watch the replay again. He clearly got struck in the face by Keegan's left arm at the end of the incident. The replay from behind the goal shows it."
Don't waste your time chief. He /she Is not interested in seeing what happened and only wants to distract from the good the lad brings to the game.
Plenty of good examples of what Con is about yesterday and it's not diving and was clear if you weren't just a nark.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/08/2019 15:00:28    2223980

Loved every minute of yesterday including the first half. Commisserations to the decent Mayo posters here Greenandred & Yew Tree to name but two.
Also want to say how good it was to see Parsons back too. I don't care who we get in the final now. Every faith in this great team. Up the Dubs!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/08/2019 15:00:45    2223981

Replying To Sean.66:  "Mayo were gone as soon as the halftime whistle blew.... once they sat down their legs went and the huge am out of games caught up on ageing limbs... Dublin found acers of space in the 2nd half that didnt exist in the 1st.... Mayo should have started Andy Moran and let more early ball into the forward line but even if they led by 10pts at ht they still would have lost the game... If Kerry get through today I have a feeling they will win the Final..."
I convinced myself last night that that was the plan. Wear us down in the first half with the blanket defence and tire us mentally and physically. Start of second half, flick the switch and bang. Tired limbs and heads couldn't cope with the football Dublin served up but arguably a fully fit and focused team won't cope with it either. We'll find out in three weeks.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 11/08/2019 15:12:46    2223990

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "What has that got to do with the incident I referenced?"
Swings and roundabouts...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 11/08/2019 15:21:44    2224000

Ye Dubs ruined our weekend!!!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 11/08/2019 15:23:45    2224002

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Good point moc they have all angles covered also I see that section 306 was kept totally for the dubs yesterday, prime seating for fans who don't have to travel."
Wow, why so negative? Just enjoy that second half by the Dubs, amazing. Here for you.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 11/08/2019 15:24:02    2224003

Horan did a Homles/connelly on it in the 2nd half....

Just stood their and watched and did absolutely nothing about what was obviously happening
Mayo had them where they wanted them , but the Mayo managerial team let the squad down..
Fitness doesn't come into the equation between the 35-45 minute,, leadership , the lack of it did.

Hope dublin win it, because nobody else deserves it more..

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 11/08/2019 15:55:47    2224016

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I'm in Croke Park today with our minors. Plenty to do. He had a great game yesterday. Unstoppable at times. Doesn't change the fact he went down gripping his face and stayed down for thirty forty seconds when he wasn't touched by Keegan. But if you've no problem brushing aside this kind of un sporting behaviour then more power too you. I will never condone it. He cheated. Simple as."
You are wrong look at it again.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 11/08/2019 16:23:41    2224044

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I'm massively massively biased. No problem admitting it. Biased against people that dive. It's up there with spitting and eye gouging. Diving has been let creep into our game and nothing is been done to eradicate it . But you don't care. All you care is Dublin win. The sporting nature of the game doesn't bother you. There is more to the Gaa than just Dublin winning. But I get the feeling that doesn't concern you too much."
Don't believe you, you really should try harder, BTW as a matter of interest did you enjoy the game!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 11/08/2019 16:26:31    2224047

Replying To BeJasus:  "Horan did a Homles/connelly on it in the 2nd half....

Just stood their and watched and did absolutely nothing about what was obviously happening
Mayo had them where they wanted them , but the Mayo managerial team let the squad down..
Fitness doesn't come into the equation between the 35-45 minute,, leadership , the lack of it did.

Hope dublin win it, because nobody else deserves it more.."
What would you have done?

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 11/08/2019 16:39:07    2224062

Mayo are not near winning an allireland
They look good for past 10 years as all the other counties are of a low standard and made it to the finals.
Things have changed we have 2 or 3 good counties and a few more building a team , but mayo are stuck with the same ageing players.

paul39 (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 11/08/2019 16:58:14    2224076

Them young kerry hoors are through to final managers first year in charge......young best forward line in country and no fear of dublin 8f not thus year this kerry team are the one with mist potential at this time

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 11/08/2019 17:16:23    2224087

Replying To arock:  "Don't believe you, you really should try harder, BTW as a matter of interest did you enjoy the game!"
Minors were great. Second game lacked quality at times but the better team won. Great article on page twenty of the match day programme about Shane Lowry and his links to the Gaa if you find someone to borrow one off. Interesting read. Seems to be plenty of links between golfers and the Gaa. Rory McIlroy had an uncle that played for Armagh. Padraig Harringtons dad lined out in two All Ireland finals too. If you'd like to know anything else about my match day experience maybe pop your number up and I'll get those around me to let you know how their match day experience was too as well as mine.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 11/08/2019 17:49:39    2224132

Replying To Belclare:  "Oh cop on.. O Donoghue was a lucky young fella for elbowing him in the stomach.."
Having watched the match again neither the elbow backwards on con or even Cilians barge were really nasty . They were more stupid tempestuous reactions , the only real nasty moment is the stamp on scully by Kevin mc loughlan. There's two small steps before he stamps on him so could have easily missed him yet only a yellow.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 12/08/2019 08:10:52    2224433

Replying To ctowers:  "Having watched the match again neither the elbow backwards on con or even Cilians barge were really nasty . They were more stupid tempestuous reactions , the only real nasty moment is the stamp on scully by Kevin mc loughlan. There's two small steps before he stamps on him so could have easily missed him yet only a yellow."
Yeah, saw that. Scully felt it too. Again nobody in the media discusses it. I thought it was a straight red.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/08/2019 09:45:20    2224464

Dublin were brilliant after half time but two things killed Mayo first was Durkan who is an outstanding footballer totally wipe Jack out of the game but he dropped two kicks short kicked a wide had a shot blocked and was caught for over carrying that was a massive killer for Mayo and the other is and I feel sorry for him but the keeper is not good enough I keep having the same post after every Mayo Dublin Game when he's in goal , he kills Mayo he's completely out of depth in these games I feel really sorry for him but he killed Mayo on Saturday. When you need a cool head in goal he just doesn't have it he won't go short cause he hasn't the confidence in himself so he just goes long and Dublin knew this and murdered his kick outs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/08/2019 10:31:28    2224505

Replying To ctowers:  "Having watched the match again neither the elbow backwards on con or even Cilians barge were really nasty . They were more stupid tempestuous reactions , the only real nasty moment is the stamp on scully by Kevin mc loughlan. There's two small steps before he stamps on him so could have easily missed him yet only a yellow."
C'OC has had a lot of tempestuous reactions over the years!

Fitness had nothing to do with Mayo's collapse. They just don't have players as skillful or talented as the top teams up front. They will fight for every ball and grind everything out but at some stage that is not enough. People talk about dublin's conditioning but that misses the point about their skill level. It's phenomenal. Just look at their wides tallies. Speaks volumes.

Truth be told they are on the wane and did very well to get to semi final. None of their young lads coming through (possible exception Ruane) are a patch on the players potentially retiring so I don't hold out much hope for them in the short term.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 12/08/2019 10:48:04    2224521

I think people are reading too much into this game fact mayo just not as good as dublin but a country mile

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 12/08/2019 11:06:24    2224531

Well now, a festival of color and atmosphere in the home of those raised on songs and stories on Saturday, as the two war horses that have defined this decade in football, took center stage in front of over 82k in Dublin 3. So much for football being dead.

I often feel Semi finals are a far better atmosphere than finals and so it proved as Croker rocked to one of the biggest occasions in modern football, Dublin Vs Mayo.

Dublin lined up pretty much as advertised, Stephen Cluxton; David Byrne, Jonny Cooper, Michael Fitzsimons; Jack McCaffrey, James McCarthy, John Small; Brian Fenton (1-01), Michael Darragh Macauley; Niall Scully (0-01), Con O'Callaghan (2-00), Brian Howard (0-01); Paul Mannion (0-05), Dean Rock (0-06, 6f), Ciarán Kilkenny.

Mayo similarly: Rob Hennelly; Chris Barrett, Brendan Harrison, Stephen Coen (0-01); Lee Keegan (1-00), Colm Boyle (0-01), Patrick Durcan (0-02); Aidan O'Shea Séamus O'Shea (0-01); Fionn McDonagh, Donal Vaughan, Matthew Ruane; Cillian O'Connor (0-03, 2f), Diarmuid O'Connor, James Carr (0-01).

Despite much talk of their demise, as expected Mayo came roaring out of the blocks, bringing the intensity, physicality, force of will and mania only a Mayo team Vs Dublin, with the a huge crowd behind them can bring. The Dubs cautiously feeling their way into the game to see how they could do damage and where the threats would come from.

The curious case of the match ups became clearer with Keegan going on King Con, SOS going on Fenton and Boyle going on Kilkenny and Durcan going on Jack.

The biggest fear for us Dubs was pretty much having things are own way leading up to this game in the championship and Mayo were determined that, that state of affairs came to an end early doors Saturday and so it proved.

To put it simply Mayo were the better team in the first half, they brought pace, intensity physicality and sheer will and determination. Something you dont always attatch to Mayo is game management but at times they held the ball and worked the score rather then give into rush of bloods to the head. This was backed up by huge intensity, Jack McCaffery, Brain Fenton and a few other knocked of their groove and forced into giving away turnovers as uncharacteristic mistakes were forced. Mayo tackling was just simply brilliant.

With Dublin struggling without their usual oxygen, Mayo made hay, Durcan got forward for a couple of points, COC knocked a couple of frees and even one from play, while S O Shea, Boyle and Carr also kicked over to let Dublin know there would be know gaurd of honor toward a final coming from Mayo.

Dublin were blowing hard as they went in at half time, with an uncharacteristic six points on the board, thanks mainly to Dean Rock frees and a gift from Rob Hennelly to Mannion, which probably should have raised a green flag.

Im on record as saying last week that unless Mayo went in five points + ahead at half time they hadn't a chance. I will openly admit that logic went out the window as i milled about the concourse at half time and i was worried very worried, such was the loss of the groove Dublin were knocked off.

After years of being gifted, watching this team i should have known better. What followed was the brilliance of Dublin at their very apex as every power was utilised to just completely destroy Mayo, in what is becoming known as the 12 in 12. Dublin came out putting over 1-5 before Mayo had the opportunity to put over a wide, im not sure what you with that, as it renders the opposition irrelevant. In the blink of an eye the game ended as Kilkenny, Con, Fenton and Mannion went about their work Dublin went from two down to 1-11 to 0-8 in front. Mannion and Con in particular putting on an exhibition of goal and point scoring forward play.

It wasnt to end there, in the 46th minute, got his second goal in 11 minutes as he bamboozled of all players Lee Keegan. To create a 9 point difference between the team as Mayo legs started to get wobbly. This was then backed up with Dublin winning most ball in the middle, a facet that had been hugely missed from the first. This set up wave after wave of Dublin scores, as they progressively increased their lead. With the game well won, Dublin dropped the intensity level and ran the bench, with Murch, Cian, Costello, Philly, Andrews and Dermo entering the fray.

Two lovely receptions given, the stadium came to its feet for Tom Parsons, absolutely brilliant to see him back and hes been missed. What an achievement to work his way back from that awful injury.

The second was the homecoming of Dermo, not even Eric Lowdness spoilt the party this time.

And so with the benches were run, all that remained was to manage the game, Dublin seemed to stay at the same intensity as Mayo wained and the final nail in the coffin came as the imperious second half Fenton snuck in and cracked the final goal.

After the game you could see the huge respect both held for each other.

In analysis i have seen plenty of obituaries written about Mayo (as usual) since. I actually think Mayo have been very unlucky this year, injuries have been horrible, as has the relentless run in the back door. With different circumstances i think they could have gone down to Killarney and won, that was a kicker really, As was the game Vs Roscommon. It just goes to show you, you are better off not playing hard and loose with the championship, just win when you can and should on a game by game basis. That might sound rich i admit given Dublin and Kerry have advantages in their provinces. If mayo beat Roscommon though their path way is far more different. Some good young players, D O Connor, Ruanne, Carr, Durkan etc. They are building, there. Will be one or two that go but not the mass exodus people are talking about. I wouldn't be surprised to be in exactly the same position playing them next year. In fact with no injuries they will fancy their chances next year. All in, a national title in the bag its a good year from Mayo in Horans first season.

As for us, things are getting real now. The only people who seem not to see what the fuss is about is the Dublin team itself. Absolute great white shark stuff, circle the opposition, let them expend their energy and then boom, full tilt, end the game and sit back and pick them off.

On the players themselves, Fenton, Kilkenny, Con and Mannion in that 12 in 12 spell were brilliant. Each one getting better and better. They got much of the headlines and deservedly so, they are majestic.

But i want to highlight two players i thought were terrific and very close to my man of the match, Davy Byrne put in a terrific shift, both defending and providing a platform for progressive play driving into space.

Secondly Brian Howard, he is absolutely superb, he is absolutely key for Dublin, fielding, workrate physical presence, he has the best feet in Ireland and can turn defense into attack in one side step or change of direction, vision, skills, creativity, work rate - what a player. He really is the most underrated and unacknowledged player in Ireland. Kind of like James MC Carthy up to a couple of years ago. Im glad hes our wouldn't swap him for the world.

Else wise many good performances, the defense kept us in it first half so big shout out to Cooper and Fitzey, Cluxton just breaks the opposition hearts watching him play, when everything is going mental he just plays like he doesnt know what the fuss is about. What a leader.

Thought MDM, had a poor first half, but came on in the second, Scully equally a tale of two halfs. Jack was held brilliantly by Durcan - who should be nailed on for an All Star, while Small gave us what Small does ultimate commitment and hard as bails approach.

All in you have to be delighted with that second half performance, its as good as Dublin played this year and maybe in a long lg time. I dont know how you stop them because it has nothing to do with the opposition. Dublin clocking up 8 points before the opposition can get their hands on the ball.

So a big step made toward the goal of winning another this year, Mayo will be a big miss from the biggest day, but Kerry parachute in there, so not so bad. Am very pleased Tyrone are out, they are the team i was most weary off left in it.

70 mins away, to keeping Sam for another year, which is the goal, next up we welcome Kerry to the home of those raised on songs and stories, cant wait.

;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/08/2019 11:13:17    2224537

Replying To jimbodub:  "I said it before and I'll say it again

Ye Donegal lads are a cut above most

Nice words and very appreciated"
Ooohhh Football Friends

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 12/08/2019 11:13:18    2224538