Tyrone Vs Dublin

Replying To joeteor:  "The average age doesnt drop year on year if it's a golden generation."
The average age of the squad or the average age of the starting 15? The average age of the starting 15 for the Rossies game was 27.7 years old. Does that sound like a young team to you? That's actually a pretty old team I would say. In 2017 the starting 15 averaged 27 years old. What is the average age of the Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone starting 15? Like I keep saying, there is a crop of comparatively old players holding this Dublin team together and if you were to sub in ROC for Byrne for example or Dermo for Howard that age creeps up even higher.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/07/2019 17:43:39    2218363

I feel sorry for Tyrone here.
Take Dublin on and play a kicking game, then they are likely to be beaten out the gate.

If they play their normal game they will still lose, but can avoid a double digit beating.
Maybe the should just throw it and keep their cards close to their chest for the final

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 29/07/2019 18:50:46    2218385

Replying To BeJasus:  "I feel sorry for Tyrone here.
Take Dublin on and play a kicking game, then they are likely to be beaten out the gate.

If they play their normal game they will still lose, but can avoid a double digit beating.
Maybe the should just throw it and keep their cards close to their chest for the final"
I really don't understand this assessment. The one and only time we played a kicking game against Dublin we beat them (in this years league).

In last years championship we played a semi open, slightly more attacking game than in previous years and got between by 3 points in the super 8 game and and 6 points in the All Ireland.

In the 2017 semi final we played our "traditional" negative style and got hammered by 12 points.

In my eyes there is no justification whatsoever for trying to pack our defense against Dublin and hoping for some kind of damage limitation. It just will not work and is so counter productive.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 29/07/2019 20:31:30    2218452

Replying To Joxer:  "The average age of the squad or the average age of the starting 15? The average age of the starting 15 for the Rossies game was 27.7 years old. Does that sound like a young team to you? That's actually a pretty old team I would say. In 2017 the starting 15 averaged 27 years old. What is the average age of the Donegal, Kerry, Tyrone starting 15? Like I keep saying, there is a crop of comparatively old players holding this Dublin team together and if you were to sub in ROC for Byrne for example or Dermo for Howard that age creeps up even higher."
The average age of the team that started the final last year was 25. Impressive considering it was 7 years after the golden generation won their first final.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 29/07/2019 20:53:41    2218469

Replying To joeteor:  "The average age of the team that started the final last year was 25. Impressive considering it was 7 years after the golden generation won their first final."
Average age of the current starting 15 is 27.7 years. Do you consider that to be a young team? What's the average age of the starting 15 for the 3 other teams in the top 4?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/07/2019 22:40:46    2218527

Replying To joeteor:  "The average age of the team that started the final last year was 25. Impressive considering it was 7 years after the golden generation won their first final."
Do you think that there is something wrong with gradually bringing in young players to the team?

It seems to me that this is now the proven model for success, not the old style of sticking with the same players for a decade or more until they are on their knees.
Mayo had little or no turnover for a long time and this year have brought in a bunch of new players at the same time. This is bound to be more disruptive than a continuous gradual change.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 30/07/2019 10:52:35    2218642

Replying To Joxer:  "If it was my call I'd swap in...

ROC for Cooper
Lowndes for Jack
Gavin for Fento
Paddy Small for Howard
Berno for Mannion

I expect a tough physical game and we need to avoid injuries but I can't see Tyrone going full strength either. Will Donnelly, Harte or Cavanagh start? The next game is more important but I still think our preference would be to remain unbeaten and to top the group. Should be another great day up in Omagh."
All good shouts

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/07/2019 11:29:33    2218674

Replying To jimbodub:  "All good shouts"
Thoughts on Connolly playing a part?? I would be inclined to give him a good 20-25 min run out. I think given the fact that it is just a week out from a semi final that he wouldn't receive the close attention he usually gets for fear of lads not wanting to risk a suspension so he should be able to focus on playing football and hopefully remind us all of his ability.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 30/07/2019 11:47:17    2218679

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Thoughts on Connolly playing a part?? I would be inclined to give him a good 20-25 min run out. I think given the fact that it is just a week out from a semi final that he wouldn't receive the close attention he usually gets for fear of lads not wanting to risk a suspension so he should be able to focus on playing football and hopefully remind us all of his ability."
I'd love to see him get a half. I'm sure there's many like me, neutrals included.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 30/07/2019 12:22:51    2218695

Dubs to win here, can't see Tyrone causing them too much trouble and it doesn't matter to Dublin who they meet in the semi, final could be a repeat of this match with the Dubs at home.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 30/07/2019 12:33:59    2218703

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Thoughts on Connolly playing a part?? I would be inclined to give him a good 20-25 min run out. I think given the fact that it is just a week out from a semi final that he wouldn't receive the close attention he usually gets for fear of lads not wanting to risk a suspension so he should be able to focus on playing football and hopefully remind us all of his ability."
As much as I'd love to see DC getting game time I just don't think it's Gavin's style to bring a player in this late who has been in a self-imposed exile effectively. Would it be fair on Bernard, Paddy Andrews, Costello, Paddy Small, Kevin Mc....having been busting their liathroidi all year to get a start only for DC to breeze in after a couple of weeks back at the grindstone? It's a win win for Gavin though. A great weapon to have from the bench at this stage but other lads may feel disgruntled if DC gets in before them. I'd still love to see him back in blue though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/07/2019 17:09:04    2218808

Would love to see it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/07/2019 17:39:09    2218820

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Dubs to win here, can't see Tyrone causing them too much trouble and it doesn't matter to Dublin who they meet in the semi, final could be a repeat of this match with the Dubs at home."
You really think this will be the final pairing again?
Sure ye could have your neighbours in the semi final who you handled with ease in Ulster this year. I'd find it hard to take it at face value if any donegal or kerry men were playing down their chances v Tyrone if it came to pass in the ai Semi final. You're the better team and youve proved it-accept the favourites tag if the match happens.

No win game for Tyrone here. Fair play to Tyrone for hammering their way to another AI semifinal through sheer determination but I believe they are a long way off the three big teams in group 1 and wouldn't get near them. I dont think they'd match the intensity of kerry/mayo and we know already how they faired against donegal.

i think the dubs will make 5/6 changes and go hammer and tongs up in omagh with lads playing for places. I personally think DC will see game time v Tyrone in omagh. There literally couldn't be a better game to play him in with not that much on the line and which will probably be a step below full championship intensity. Make no sense to bring him on cold in an ai semi or final.

What will tyrones tactics be here? A raft of changes or the first team to take a confidence sucking bateing?

tulachmhór (Offaly) - Posts: 145 - 30/07/2019 21:14:50    2218885

Replying To tulachmhór:  "You really think this will be the final pairing again?
Sure ye could have your neighbours in the semi final who you handled with ease in Ulster this year. I'd find it hard to take it at face value if any donegal or kerry men were playing down their chances v Tyrone if it came to pass in the ai Semi final. You're the better team and youve proved it-accept the favourites tag if the match happens.

No win game for Tyrone here. Fair play to Tyrone for hammering their way to another AI semifinal through sheer determination but I believe they are a long way off the three big teams in group 1 and wouldn't get near them. I dont think they'd match the intensity of kerry/mayo and we know already how they faired against donegal.

i think the dubs will make 5/6 changes and go hammer and tongs up in omagh with lads playing for places. I personally think DC will see game time v Tyrone in omagh. There literally couldn't be a better game to play him in with not that much on the line and which will probably be a step below full championship intensity. Make no sense to bring him on cold in an ai semi or final.

What will tyrones tactics be here? A raft of changes or the first team to take a confidence sucking bateing?"
You will forgive me for not putting my house on your predictions. Your not exactly mystic meg.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 30/07/2019 22:29:00    2218930

Replying To tulachmhór:  "You really think this will be the final pairing again?

What will tyrones tactics be here? A raft of changes or the first team to take a confidence sucking bateing?"
First of all we have to beat Mayo or at least draw and that won't be easy done,massive home support and Mayo have vast experience of tight matches, we have some great young players but we have a lot of key men injured or nursing injuries,getting a favourable result in Castlebar is going to be tough,
likely going to be a Kerry v Tyrone semi final, Tyrone have improved since we beat them and it would be a close enough match with Kerry, suppose Kerry would be favs though,
ourselves or Mayo will likely face the Dubs in the semi and I can't really see either of us beating them, maybe if both teams had full squads and a few weeks to get ready but going in there nursing injuries a week out from a battle in Castlebar I think the Dubs will have way to much firepower, and they have such a good bench they will be very hard to beat, so I don't think you could put the favs tag on Donegal in any of these scenarios, this weekend is a 50/50 game, I'd make Mayo slight favs with home advantage and we don't know what players will be available yet for either side.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 30/07/2019 22:54:31    2218940

Replying To lambofgod:  "You will forgive me for not putting my house on your predictions. Your not exactly mystic meg."
He's got a strange obsession with Tyrone and hoping they get beat. Every game he predicts they will get beat and he's ended up with eating humble pie.

I would say when Tyrone do get beat he will be the first on here saying he predicted it, even though he's been wrong all other times.

Anyway, I think Tyrone will make 4-5 changes to the team from the last game. However the players who will be starting would be considered first team players eg McCann, Hampsey, McAliskey all of who are coming back from injury. So it will be a strong enough team. Harte wont start, neither will Mattie Donnelly or maybe even Cavanagh. all too important to Tyrone and they will need the rest.

Should be a high scoring game without the championship intensity. Still looking forward to it

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 31/07/2019 13:59:31    2219100

This game is almost impossible to predict as we have no idea what teams will line out. I am guessing that both teams will rest their star players as it would be stupid not to. If this is the scenario then I would fancy the Dublin reserve team would be stronger, in fact they would be stronger than most other inter county sides.

Maybe Tyrone will go strong and try to win, would be some shot in the arm to beat Dublin. However I dont think it matters much coming first or second as playing Kerry or Mayo/Donegal is not much difference. Tyrone are going to be in with a good shot at an All-Ireland final place, it would be a 50/50 game against Kerry, Mayo or Donegal.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 01/08/2019 13:56:33    2219438

Reckon 8 or 9 of dublins "first team" will start.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/08/2019 14:20:30    2219446

I think Tyrone will rest 5 or 6 players. I'd expect most of the top guys to feature at some stage. Overall, I'd expect the Dubs to win by 4 or 5. It's a shame the game could be so drab as the atmosphere in town will be great.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 02/08/2019 09:55:35    2219661

This is Dublin's first championship test in 2019. Neither team will be full strength so it'll be hard to really gauge either team but should be a good game. Hopefully Diarmuid Connolly will get a run out. Even if not full strength Tyrone won't give up anything soft in Healy Park. Dublin by 3.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 02/08/2019 10:22:49    2219672