Tyrone And Dublin's Different Routes To An All Ireland

Well as we already know Tyrone and Dublin have reached the semi-finals. I want to make a small point about the number of games at home both have played in. I acknowledge that this will be skewed by the fact that we went into the qualifiers but it highlights how ridiculous some elements of our Championship are.

After semi-final, Tyrone will have played 2 games out of 10 in Omagh. 20%. (8 different venues)
After semi-final, Dublin will have played 5 games out of 7 in Dublin. 71%

If either reach final it looks even worse:

Dublin 6 out of 8 at home. Tyrone 2 out of 11 at home.

Try explaining it to someone who is not a GAA fan.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 23/07/2019 09:49:55    2215102

Croke Park isn't Dublin's home ground is what the zombie's will say sure.

Even though it is.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 23/07/2019 10:18:11    2215117

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Well as we already know Tyrone and Dublin have reached the semi-finals. I want to make a small point about the number of games at home both have played in. I acknowledge that this will be skewed by the fact that we went into the qualifiers but it highlights how ridiculous some elements of our Championship are.

After semi-final, Tyrone will have played 2 games out of 10 in Omagh. 20%. (8 different venues)

Try explaining it to someone who is not a GAA fan."
It's ludicrous but it continues to happen.

How many All-Irelands would Kerry have if they played all their games in Killarney??

Really puts the "greatest team ever" argument into perspective.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5013 - 23/07/2019 10:27:11    2215124

Croke Park has to be somewhere lads.

Dubs will play where the 31 counties tell them to play.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 23/07/2019 10:43:21    2215132

It really is fascinating to see how many different angles people come up with to make a thread on the same thing (amount of Dublin games played at croke park) time and time and time again. Even more fascinating that these threads continue to be put up.

There is nothing to debate. We play tio many games in Dublin and it's certainly not necessary to open croke park for games that are attracting 30k. I personally would love more aways, the players love playing games away from croke park, but alas, we play and we go where we are told.

Complaining on here wont change anything.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/07/2019 10:59:00    2215141

Replying To cavanman47:  "It's ludicrous but it continues to happen.

How many All-Irelands would Kerry have if they played all their games in Killarney??

Really puts the "greatest team ever" argument into perspective."
We will never know thankfully. They are insufferable enough as a collective as it is.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/07/2019 11:02:40    2215146

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Croke Park isn't Dublin's home ground is what the zombie's will say sure.

Even though it is."
It has to be somebody's home ground though surely. Similar problem with Thurles in Munster for Tipp. Dublin needs a separate stadium. It may not make financial sense to have two large stadia in the capital, with Croker becoming a concert arena essentially, but it might stop the incessant whinging.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/07/2019 11:15:46    2215161

As a poster said Croke Park has to be somewhere. If Meath or Kildare were to win Leinster and get to an all ireland they also would have more games in Croke Park than Tyrone as it is Leinsters main stadium. In terms of a Super 8s argument is it unfair for them to have 2 games in their home venue, yes but I think people arguing over that miss the point that Croke Park didn't suddenly give the Dubs an advantage because of the super 8s it is ten years playing home league games there that has done that but in reality the quality of this Dublin team is so good it wouldn't matter where their games are played.

1798man (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 23/07/2019 11:17:45    2215162

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Croke Park isn't Dublin's home ground is what the zombie's will say sure.

Even though it is."
Such a charmer.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/07/2019 11:19:38    2215164

Dont play the semi or the All Ireland final in our home ground - simples. ;)

You see very few of those shouts.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/07/2019 11:27:13    2215170

Replying To OGarmaile:  "Well as we already know Tyrone and Dublin have reached the semi-finals. I want to make a small point about the number of games at home both have played in. I acknowledge that this will be skewed by the fact that we went into the qualifiers but it highlights how ridiculous some elements of our Championship are.

Try explaining it to someone who is not a GAA fan."
The less games we have in Omagh the better I think.

Would you not rather get a chance to go to the greatest stadium in the world to follow your county, than play in some kip around the midlands? I love the chance to get to Croke Park and never would I miss a Tyrone match there.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 23/07/2019 11:46:16    2215179

Replying To 1798man:  "As a poster said Croke Park has to be somewhere. If Meath or Kildare were to win Leinster and get to an all ireland they also would have more games in Croke Park than Tyrone as it is Leinsters main stadium. In terms of a Super 8s argument is it unfair for them to have 2 games in their home venue, yes but I think people arguing over that miss the point that Croke Park didn't suddenly give the Dubs an advantage because of the super 8s it is ten years playing home league games there that has done that but in reality the quality of this Dublin team is so good it wouldn't matter where their games are played."
That's true.

However give the Dubs a 50/50 shot of a home tie in Leinster quarter final. Neutral venue outside the capital for the Leinster semi-final. Leinster final in Croke Park as per tradition.

Qualifiers would be same as everyone else if you ever ended up in them, unlikely. Home advantage as usual to D3 and D4 team.

Supers 8s like everyone else. Home, away and neutral (not in Dublin).

I accept All Ireland semi finals and Final should be in Croke Park. Obviously Dublin will play more games there but that's fine. It was always the way. We need to establish some integrity to the competition.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 23/07/2019 11:46:56    2215181

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "The less games we have in Omagh the better I think.

Would you not rather get a chance to go to the greatest stadium in the world to follow your county, than play in some kip around the midlands? I love the chance to get to Croke Park and never would I miss a Tyrone match there."
It wasn't great craic in there last Saturday, let's be honest. It's cold, quiet and devoid of atmophere unless it's at least 60% full.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 23/07/2019 12:08:20    2215191

Definitely play to many games in Croke Park

The Super 8's thing is daft, all credit to Donegal shame no one backed it.

I think we should bring the league games back to Parnell Park. Stop renting Croke Park. Feck the massive revenue generated by the numerous and lucrative TV right deals for live Saturday night primetime tv coverage for the GAA and it's numerous sponsorship partners. No more Spring series.

But please let's put some perspective here..

Dublin played more games there than most across the 00's but were regularly beaten by better teams. At times with ease.

No advantage when teams were simply better.

No talk of advantages when Dublin were losing across a record equalling low ever seen in Dub GAA history.

Despite all the natural advantages that Dublin enjoyed by playing in Croke Park more regularly, it counted for nothing when other teams were simply better.

I can see Dublin playing at least 2-3 games less in HQ.

Say no early Leinster games, possibly semifinal, say the "neutral" super 8

Do you honestly think that would make any difference? I don't but hey.. give her a lash

The major games will all still be at HQ and it's those games where everything is won. Leinster final/ Semi-finals/ finals.. also Dubs home Super 8.. if we were in the other group against Donegal/Mayo/Kerry that home Super 8 against anyone of those teams would have had 50-60k at it. It would be in Croke Park.

I would love to see scores of millions of GAA money, tax money being pumped into a new state of the art Dublin home ground, Dublin GAA stick an independently financed Dublin themed family restaurant, Gym and museum in there.. €€€€

With the value of land in Dublin compared to rest of country for such a prized piece of real estate close to transport links.. of course the GAA and tax money would be required. Completely unfair for Dublin GAA to be expected to pick up the complete tab. Ludicrous in fact.
So that'll be many millions required to build us a beautiful new stadium with navy and sky blue seating, Dub flags flying.. The Heffernan Terrace.

Mouth watering...

Pump all that additional revenue that Dublin could independently generate from marketing opportunities straight into GDF for school kids

I'm all for less games in HQ with Dublin having its own stadium largely built for us.

More fun for us fans, a cool new stadium to point at with pride and all the marketing opportunities there to finance further GDF programs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2019 13:09:49    2215234

Replying To cavanman47:  "It's ludicrous but it continues to happen.

Really puts the "greatest team ever" argument into perspective."
The great Kerry teams would have played in Croke Park more than their rivals after having such an easy route every year in a hurling province. They would have been far more adapt and practiced to playing in Croke Park with one foot in the place before a ball was kicked in Munster. Did this huge natural geographical advantage give Kerry easy access to playing in Croke Park over many rivals.. of course it did.

Advantage? Greatness questioned?

It's funny how some advantages are highlighted and many others ignored

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2019 13:19:52    2215240

Replying To jimbodub:  "The great Kerry teams would have played in Croke Park more than their rivals after having such an easy route every year in a hurling province. They would have been far more adapt and practiced to playing in Croke Park with one foot in the place before a ball was kicked in Munster. Did this huge natural geographical advantage give Kerry easy access to playing in Croke Park over many rivals.. of course it did.

Advantage? Greatness questioned?

It's funny how some advantages are highlighted and many others ignored"
They'd have played less games there than their main rival through those years - Dublin.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5013 - 23/07/2019 14:20:02    2215271

And to clarify - Donegal worded/compiled their motion incorrectly. That's why it wasn't backed.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5013 - 23/07/2019 14:22:12    2215276

Replying To cavanman47:  "They'd have played less games there than their main rival through those years - Dublin."
There's a lot more counties that were at a distinct disadvantage

But thank you for reinforcing my above post

No talk of Croke Park advantages when Dublin were beaten.

Strange that, Dubs didn't have to travel far, got to sleep in their own beds, were very familiar with pitch dimensions, packed Hill, larger support

Just like in the 00's..

Although unfortunately when teams are better than Dublin, beating them in Croke Park comes naturally and with relative ease.

When a team is better than Dublin they'll win despite all the quickly forgotten Croke Park advantages we hear about if/when Dublin win.

Convenient that.

If you're good enough you'll win.

I 100% agree though Dublin should be playing 2-3 games less in there across champ and it's time to head back to Parnell Park for league games until GAA and tax payers invest scores of millions in addition to Dublin GAA's contribution building a suitably sized stadium in the most expensive part of the country to acquire and develop land which also has easy links to public transport. The land alone to build such a stadium would be far more excessive compared to any other project but sure..

It'll cost a fortune to build but this is what is required but it'll be great for Dublin GAA and the huge investment from central coffers and the tax payer will be greatly appreciated.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/07/2019 14:57:31    2215300

Replying To cavanman47:  "And to clarify - Donegal worded/compiled their motion incorrectly. That's why it wasn't backed."
Explain that please.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 23/07/2019 15:53:54    2215319

Replying To steve097:  "Explain that please."
Donegal's motion was an attempt to prevent any team from naming Croke Park as their home venue.

It wasn't aimed at changing the "Croke Park" round of games to ensure Dublin played at a neutral venue outside of their own county.

So it was never going to pass. It made no sense to make Dublin play a potentially huge game in Parnell Park. It would've made much more sense to make the 4 neutral games neutral, not Croke Park games.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5013 - 23/07/2019 16:02:55    2215321