All Ireland Football Semi Finals

Last 4 Kerry v tyrone.
Donegal v Dublin.

Could be mayo v Dublin but I am calling it for my own county rather than being cute.
We have played well all through the championship and even did yesterday despite ending up without our 2 mid fielders along with Niall ODonnell, Neil McGee, Eoin Ban and McGrath.

Mayo have been down to a skeleton crew but both teams hopefully will be back to relatively good strength for the game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/07/2019 22:07:57    2215009

Replying To westkerry:  "No its called human error..."
No its called jumping at every opportunity to have a go at Dublin !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/07/2019 08:53:40    2215076

It will be Kerry v Tyrone and the 2nd semi will be Dublin v Mayo or Donegal and I'm putting my prediction down for the All Ireland title, whoever wins in Castlebar will win Sam

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 24/07/2019 08:26:09    2215588

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "
Replying To shaggykev:  "So the most likely pairings are

Kerry v Tyrone
Dublin v Donegal or Mayo

That's in the basis Dublin favourites to beat or draw Tyrone and Kerry in first place now and have easiest match.

First off think the fact this game is the following week from quarterfinals 3rd game is totally unfair. Not fair on playing squads but mostly on fans that need to fork out €55 per ticket so soon after three big quarter final games. It's just as big a factor if not bigger for the dip in attendance at Croke Park these last two seasons.

Also one team must face a 6 day turnaround.

I'd like to make the case it better be Dublin

They have every advantage going already, they have the squad depth to cope, a dead rubber the week before and sure the president says they love Saturday evenings.

When are GAA announcing which teams play which day?"
As far as I'm aware the Saturday semi final will be the winner of group 1 and Ru of 2 which will prob be Kerry v Tyrone and that only gives Tyrone 6 days and the Sunday will prob be Dublin v mayo/Donegal"

How do you know this out of curiosity?

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 24/07/2019 14:40:31    2215780

The week break to the semis is a disgrace.

Shame on those who organised this.

How are people supposed to get accommodation at that notice or babysitters etc. Its very unfair imo

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 24/07/2019 14:49:51    2215784

Kerry v Tyrone
Dublin v Donegal or Mayo

That's in the basis Dublin favourites to beat or draw Tyrone and Kerry in first place now and have easiest match.

First off think the fact this game is the following week from quarterfinals 3rd game is totally unfair. Not fair on playing squads but mostly on fans that need to fork out €55 per ticket so soon after three big quarter final games. It's just as big a factor if not bigger for the dip in attendance at Croke Park these last two seasons.

They have every advantage going already, they have the squad depth to cope, a dead rubber the week before and sure the president says they love Saturday evenings.

Last year winner group 1 and runner up group 2 played on the Sunday?

It was Monaghan v Tyrone

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 24/07/2019 14:52:31    2215785

Kerry v Tyrone
Dublin v Donegal or Mayo

Did our dear president say a couple of weeks ago that that 7pm Saturday slot belonged to Dublin? I'd expect it to be Dublin v Mayo /Donegal on the saturday night, which is very hard on the people travelling

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 24/07/2019 15:29:31    2215809

Replying To himachechy:  "
Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "[quote=shaggykev:  "So the most likely pairings are

Kerry v Tyrone
Dublin v Donegal or Mayo

Did our dear president say a couple of weeks ago that that 7pm Saturday slot belonged to Dublin? I'd expect it to be Dublin v Mayo /Donegal on the saturday night, which is very hard on the people travelling"]i really hope its on the sat at 7

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 24/07/2019 15:54:33    2215819

Replying To fortyfive:  "Glad to be in the AI semi finals ,after being written off against Donegal still not getting the credit for reaching the last 4 even though highest scorers in the championship , Both Dublin and Tyrone will have the luxury of knowing who they'll face or who they would like to face , Kerry should have to much for Meath Mayo v Donegal going to be very interesting Mayo never know when to lie down like Rocky Balboa they always get back off the canvas one more time, but are Donegal the Apollo Creed ???"
...still not getting the credit for reaching the last 4 even though highest scorers in the championship...

Tyrone have also played more than any other team in the championship so its hardly surprising that they're the top scorers.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2019 17:03:22    2215859

Did the GAA president actually say that the 7pm slot belongs on Dublin?

I didn't hear it but surely he didnt actually say that. Fair play if he did as at least he is owning up to the complete favouritism of dubs.

I mean sure 7pm would be wonderful for the children of Mayo, Kerry and Donegal.

Anyway I dont believe those words were uttered.

All I know is Monaghan played Tyrone last year on the Sunday.

Monaghan were group 1 winners while Tyrone were runners up in group 2

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 24/07/2019 17:54:02    2215885

Replying To IamDonegal:  "Did the GAA president actually say that the 7pm slot belongs on Dublin?

I didn't hear it but surely he didnt actually say that. Fair play if he did as at least he is owning up to the complete favouritism of dubs.

I mean sure 7pm would be wonderful for the children of Mayo, Kerry and Donegal.

Anyway I dont believe those words were uttered.

All I know is Monaghan played Tyrone last year on the Sunday.

Monaghan were group 1 winners while Tyrone were runners up in group 2"
He has more to say about Dublin (as President of the Association) than CEO John Costello has, that says it all really.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 25/07/2019 08:46:12    2216128

Dates and times announced. Most likely match-ups:

Saturday, 10th August, 5pm

Dublin v Donegal

Sunday, 11th August, 3:30pm

Kerry v Tyrone

---

At least they have gone with a 5pm throw-in on the Saturday which is much more manageable for people travelling, whether it's Donegal or Mayo that make it through. Still not ideal but that's how it is.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 25/07/2019 16:16:16    2216388

confirmed this afternoon that Group 2 winners (most likely Dublin) play group 2 runners-up at 5pm om Saturday 11th

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 25/07/2019 16:21:29    2216390

Replying To westkerry:  "Apologies i misread it stated dublin gaa seating plan.. my mistake i withdraw the above comment your honour."
You auld divil you!!!!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/07/2019 16:52:08    2216405

Replying To downredhand:  "confirmed this afternoon that Group 2 winners (most likely Dublin) play group 2 runners-up at 5pm om Saturday 11th"
John Horan said Saturday night are for Dublin games, but there is no favoritism shown towards Dublin.

I hope Tyrone beat and scuff the GAAs plans.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/07/2019 16:52:39    2216406

A quote from President Horan from the Irish independent on July 10

"There will always be an appetite to have a game on a Saturday night and a Dublin game is generally on a Saturday night.

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 25/07/2019 18:11:48    2216449

Ah! lads, Horan wouldn't show any favouritism towards Dublin. The GAA President can't do such things - can he?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/07/2019 19:43:42    2216477

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "A quote from President Horan from the Irish independent on July 10

"There will always be an appetite to have a game on a Saturday night and a Dublin game is generally on a Saturday night."
Two statements of fact . What's your prob?

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 25/07/2019 20:44:54    2216506

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "John Horan said Saturday night are for Dublin games, but there is no favoritism shown towards Dublin.

I hope Tyrone beat and scuff the GAAs plans."
Not from what I read. You are putting words in his mouth. Quote EXACTLY what he said or don't "quote" him.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 25/07/2019 20:50:50    2216510

I probably will go to whatever one Dublin plays in as I've never seen Dublin play this decade, I think it will be versus Donegal. I find Dublin an eery place as the founding father of my surname was killed in Dublin by the Norse.
The final this year will be Dublin v Kerry, a treat for everyone.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 223 - 27/07/2019 19:03:35    2217172